We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Brick Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 12 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very pleasant experience”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A really nice clean, warm room, with TV, tea making facilites and an en-suite shower room. The owners had gone to a lot of trouble to create a pleasant yet professional atmosphere. Good location in the town center, with close proximity to a host of pubs and restaurants and local shopping facilities.

A beautiful, appetizing breakfast finished the visit. Leaving the recollection of a very pleasant stay. All the trappings of a professional hotel with the charm of a family based home. Well worth a visit if you can get a booking. Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    22
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
49
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Our second long weekend (five Nights) at The Old Brick House.Your friendly hosts Rosie and Norm provide Comfortable rooms and a great breakfast.We love this Guest House in a great location and will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beezersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen TX USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Came over from the USA for a wedding, and stayed here four nights - son, daughter-in-law, one year old grandson and I had the family "suite" - two connecting bedrooms with a shared bathroom. Hosts Rosie and Norm could not have been more friendly and accommodating - great breakfasts, anything special we needed for the one year old they sorted out for us. For a small town, Bishop's Castle has more pubs/restaurants than I would have expected. Warning though - some of the pub/restaurants fill up fast so you need a reservation. Also, EAT EARLY; most of the pubs stop serving food by around 8.30!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just home from a lovely stay at the Old Brick Guest House. We have two very small children and they loved sharing their own room, right next to ours. The veggie breakfasts were lovely, something that's hard to find! And the beds were really comfy. Our hosts were very accomodating and friendly. The small town has lots of cafes, a great Indian Restaurant, and pubs with good beer and food. Definately recommend!

Room Tip: Choose the Family Suite which has two adjoining room with a bathroom in between. The pareents room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank museummummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed two nights here - the room (called Oak) was lovely - very spacious and comfortable. Our window faced onto the street, but it was very quiet. This B&B comes highly recommended and was much nicer than several more expensive B&Bs we've stayed in.

Room Tip: We were in 'Oak' which was lovely (double/twin, spacious, en suite shower room which was fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AG_Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We arrived in Bishops Castle in the pouring rain and pulled off the road into a garage so we could phone one of the B & B's I had listed from the Internet before leaving home. We decided that because of the weather we should opt for something central so called the OLD BRICK GUESTHOUSE. They said that they could accommodate us but sounded a little surpirsed when we said we were around the corner. We waited downstairs in the charming lounge while they hurridly made up our room (we opted for the family one) and before long we were setttling into our lovely old beamed room. We went over the road to the Boars Head for dinner that evening and thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere of a real English pub as well as our well cooked meals. We then went for a stroll around the town before the rain chased us back to our Guesthouse. Our delicious breakfast the next morning was at the big dining room table and was well cooked and very pleasantly served by our hosts. We enjoyed our short stay at the Old Brick Guesthouse and would definitely go back one day for a longer stay and a better look around the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUZZ1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We were given a warm welcome when checking in on our arrival at the B&B following a walk, the room we had was a good size with huge bed. Breakfast was so good (great coffee Norm) we could only manage a quick snack at lunch time when out walking. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, they provided valuable information re the area, we liked it so much we are going back there next year !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
0.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
770 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
276 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Brandy House Farm
Brandy House Farm
#1 of 1 in Felindre
131 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 1 in Norbury
141 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Brick Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Brick Guesthouse

Property: Old Brick Guesthouse
Address: 7 Church Street, Bishops Castle SY9 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Brick Guesthouse is a Grade 2 listed building that is over 300 years old. It has been a guest house for more than 70 years and has undergone recent refurbishment throughout. We welcome all comers, especially walkers and cyclists and real ale enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old Brick Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Brick Guesthouse Bishops Castle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing