We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dragon Hotel(Montgomery)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Longmynd(Church Stretton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knighton Hotel(Knighton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Hotel(Newtown)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
655
186
21
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
655
186
21
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog friendly hoteloak panelled dining roomweather forecastshropshire hillslovely gardenlovely hotelroll top bathreal alecream teabreakfast and evening mealbeer gardenshort breaklovely roomkippersmini breakmarket squarewonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
801 - 806 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Booked this hotel as it is listed as dog-friendly. Past experience has been that some hotels are actually dog tolerant. Not so with The Castle. This is a place where dogs and their owners can relax in the knowledge that they will be welcomed. The room we had (7) was beautiful with a fantastic view. The hotel has a lovely,old world charm about it but with 21st century standards of customer care. The staff could not be more friendly or helpful. A real gem of a place. Highest standards of food and service with a friendly, informal atmosphere. I cannot reccommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed at Castle Hotel for a weekend recently. Everything was excellent. From initial contact on the phone through to the stay, the food and the relaxation. Bishops castle is a lovely town in a very interesting part of our country, however the icing on the cake was certainly the Castle hotel. They got everything right, the room, the food, the drink and the ambiance.
The hotel is very old and we were in the attic in a room that was very characterful with beams, had a superb view and very modern bathroom. I would highly recommend it, we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. The owners were away on honeymoon, but Lucy made a very good job of standing in for them. She was always friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were good and we also ate evening meals in the hotel and these were of a high standard. My husband particularly enjoyed the good choice of local real ales! The room was nicely furnished and had lovely views across the village and countryside. There is a elevated garden area to the rear of the hotel with great views. We would have liked to make more use of this had the weather been kinder.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheH3M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Recent reviews of this hotel have said it all. The new owners have done a great job (and we were there on the weekend of their wedding so never got to meet them to tell them so).

What's good? Where to start?

Food, rooms, beds, hospitality, dog-friendliness, beers, storage of our bikes/bags whilst we were out, breakfast, books, views, car-parking, location....

What's bad? ...Err, can't think of anything!

Would recommend this place very strongly. I wonder if my phone charger will be there waiting for me next time we visit?

Room Tip: There's a spare iPhone charger in room 1 :-)
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diptych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This is a charming hotel in a great location for exploring Shropshire. We had a large room and this provided plenty of space to chill out. The room had loads of character with interesting furniture (unlike chain hotels) and great views of the surrounding countryside. Yes it had very uneven floors, but this is an old building and the quirks are what make it so likeable.

Staff were friendly and very helpful. Food was very good (especially desserts), and a choice of local beers was an added bonus and overall value was very good.

Thoroughly recommended if you are looking to explore Shropshire

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews