We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 300 year old purpose built hotel”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A 300 year old purpose built hotel”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The Castle Hotel in Bishop's Castle was built as a hotel in the early 18th century using stone from the castle that had been demolished. It's fascinating to see what people 300 year ago expected when staying in a hotel; indeed what the characters from a Jane Austen novel would have experienced. Now there's plumbing and heating our ancestors wouldn't have known but there's still the panelled dining room and creaking staircase.
The decor looks rather tired but the bed was comfy and the showerroom newly done up.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easychair35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    163
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
89
486
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed here in mid August 2012 for 2 nights, my husband and myself. Our room was lovely and comfortable and because of the age of the hotel, the floors were a bit uneven which was quite funny after a few glasses of wine.
The breakfast was fantastic and varied, I had salmon and scrambled eggs one morning which was delicious. We also had our evening meals there on both evenings. My husband was disappointed that the dish which had been on the sample menu in our room wasn't on the menu in the restaurant but the dishes we had were lovely. We ate in the tiny restaurant which had about 6 tables in it but we could have chosen to eat in the bar area if we had wanted to. The hotel was at the top of a 'hill' which was a bit of a lung buster when we ventured down into the town then had to walk back up. Our room was right at the top of the hotel and we had to strain a bit to look out of the window but the view was worth it.
The hotel also was pet friendly and allowed people to bring their dogs as long as they were well behaved. We did hear a dog bark in a nearby room but only the once so it wasn't a problem.
We would definitely come here again.

Room Tip: There isn't a lift in the hotel so if you have mobility issues then a room on a lower floor woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feeblefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Comfy hotel in great shropshire town. Beer and Breakfast excellent.
We stayed while walking Offas' dyke and its a bit far from the path if you are covering some distance - and there is only 1 taxi in Bishops Castle so getting a lift too or from the path needs to be planned in advance

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tubbymctubbington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

This was the second time at the Castle, and it was better than before. Great hospitality from everybody, good beer/food, dog friendly, very relaxing. We had originally booked 3 nights but stayed on for one more night. Hopefully shall return next year.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband and I had booked an overnight stay after travelling around at other local places of interest. When we arrived we were greeted by a very polite young lady and quickly shown to our room(No 8), what a beautiful room, with stunning views. We went to bring our bags in from the car to be asked if we needed a hand with our luggage, again a very attentive member of staff. We reserved a table for later in the evening and proceeded to walk around the village and take in the views. We quickly realised that a two night stay would have been better as the hotel is stunning but unfortunately they were fully booked for the following evening. We returned later for our evening meal. Menu was wonderful, great choice of fresh fish for my husband as he is a fish lover and plenty of other choice for those who are not. The food was fantastic aswell as the service. Breakfast was just as wonderful and again brilliant staff. All in all, we will definately visit again and stay longer than one night.!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

What a gem!

Excellent location, nice food, friendly staff and good value. If you like real ales the hotel and the two mico breweries in the village will ensure your stay is a memorable one, or not as the case maybe. Cheers!

Room Tip: room 9 is small and directly over looked by room 8 but has a good view of the gardens and surroundin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brewerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, uk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Unfortunately, we only had one night at this little gem of a hotel. Everyone was exceedingly friendly and helpful, and the good atmosphere was noticable right from the start. The hotel is a perfect mix of 18th Century old world charm (thick walls, oak panelled dining room, sloping stairs and floors) with tasteful modern colour scheme, comfortable beds, clean new bathrooms etc. View from room 12 is stunning, with the rolling hills over the village rooftops - like a David Hockney painting. Food was great, and beer fresh from the 2 microbreweries in town. What's not to like? We will be back,!

Room Tip: View from room 12 is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billeharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
14.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
887 reviews
21.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
14.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
633 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
15.1 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing