We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for glorious South Shropshire”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful 2 night stay. Hotel very comfortable and staff very helpful and friendly. Stayed in room 2 which has great views over the town. Excellent breakfast with loads of choice. Same applied to dinner in the evening. Morning newsletter on table was a nice touch, giving weather forecast, ideas for places to visit and a walk of the day.
Free fast wi-fi another bonus, even worked well outside on residents terrace.
So much to do in the area, fantastic walking, although do expect some climbing, two breweries in the Town and a host of other local attractions.
All in all a great base to explore this lovely area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MenorcaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Spent two days at this hotel with a group of friends. We had room 2 which we found to be spacious and well equipped with beautiful views over the hills. The rest of our party were also very happy with their rooms.

We found the staff very helpful and accommodating to our group. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and enjoyed some of the local beers in the bar.

We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 532ChrisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We needed a base for a few days walking on Offas Dyke and the position was perfect. We didn't expect much - the usual small hotel. What a surprise. The food was really good, the staff were top notch and we really enjoyed our stay. Our little dog was made very welcome and allowed to be with us for dinner and breakfast, but if you wanted to eat in really smart surroundings in a panelled dining room, the dog can stay in the room
Afternoon tea in the garden was delightful. We really recommend this hotel

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EMALULA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A wonderful old, rambling hotel, modernised superbly to a very high standard. The staff were all faultless, always looking for ways to help, and the food was excellent! We had a lovely couple of days in very pleasant surroundings, and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

On the last evening of a 4 night DBB break here.
We have found the hotel staff charming ,friendly , approachable and very keen to assist.
Food is high quality traditional cooking with good quality ingredients and in generous portions.
Room is comfortable and hotel very dog friendly.
Couldn't wish for more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oenophile_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I had such a nice stay with my choc lab. All the staff are so friendly and attentive without being intrusive. I had my wine served to me on the terrace as I couldn't cope with wine and the dog at the same time! The food is tasty and there is a good selection of wines. The room was bright and comfortable with a lovely view across the town to the hills beyond. The local sites and walks are good too. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break or longer. Thank you all for a lovely holiday.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank PeteandLizSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in room 5 which had just been refurbished and had the lovely new carpet smell. The room and bathroom were attractively decorated with plenty of storage space and two easy chairs. The only slight drawback was the position over the front door which banged as people left the building. We mentioned this on departure so hopefully this will be rectified.
Breakfasts were good and served in a beautiful oak panelled room. Staff were friendly.
We ate one evening meal here and the food was good quality pub fare. There is a lovely terraced garden area with views.
The small town of Bishops Castle is most attractive with 5 other pubs so plenty of choice for eating and drinking. It is also a great location for walking with the Stiperstones and Long Mynd virtually on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerkshireTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
21.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
14.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
914 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
467 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
23.4 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range: £69 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing