We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read this - amazing hotel”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This place is a dream, where do I begin! Staff where so friendly and every member had the time of day for you! Even the little sausage dog that I assume rules the roost

Room was small in size (but I was told this would be the case as I booked the last room) but massive in character, clean and comfy with a amazing shower that beat the knots out of my back, add this to a great night sleep and boom,,, perfect night!!!

Breakfast was a delight, it made a change having a choice of over 6 things rather than a fry up/veggie option dumped in front of you! So pancakes for the lady and a 3 egg omelette for me, strong coffee and juice and right for the day

Lunch after the business I needed to compleat and this also a treat sat outside on the terrace with not a care in the world

Will be back soon (and I don't often do this) just so I can get that all important good nights kip!

Thanks

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TravelPanda79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at The Castle Hotel.
I am delighted to hear that you had a perfect night’s stay with us. You’re certainly right about Milly (our resident Daschound) she definitely rules the roost!
I have passed your fantastic comments about our breakfast to our team of chefs who pride themselves in offering an extensive menu with a variety of choice.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future so that you can once again enjoy a good nights kip, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Bar Meal , Saturday 10 th May , excellent food and very helpful staff. Busy and fully booked for evening meals but the staff went out of their way to fit us in. Great choice of real ale, and loads of character.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank niallduxbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We wondered why this hotel got such good reviews and now that we have stayed there, we are not surprised! Lovely hotel, our room (4) was large, spotless, comfortable and with outstanding views of the town and surrounding countryside. The hotel is excellently run with charming, efficient staff, and the food - we had both evening meal and breakfast is delicious. Another plus point is that dogs are allowed, and ours had a great time exploring the beautiful gardens.
We would recommend this hotel 100%

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our booking was a very late one as it was a last minute decision, Sunday lunch for 9 people on a bank holiday weekend, but no problem to them and a table had been set aside by the time we arrived. We all enjoyed our meals although the three who chose plaice were a little disappointed but hey ho, we were all out to enjoy ourselves, there was nothing wrong with them, they were just rather ordinary but with hind sight plaice isn't the most remarkable fish to start with. The beef was excellent, as were the children's choices. The puddings were excellent too, a little more expensive than at some places but all enjoyed. Recommend this venue and we will definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LucindaLucile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful 2 night stay. Hotel very comfortable and staff very helpful and friendly. Stayed in room 2 which has great views over the town. Excellent breakfast with loads of choice. Same applied to dinner in the evening. Morning newsletter on table was a nice touch, giving weather forecast, ideas for places to visit and a walk of the day.
Free fast wi-fi another bonus, even worked well outside on residents terrace.
So much to do in the area, fantastic walking, although do expect some climbing, two breweries in the Town and a host of other local attractions.
All in all a great base to explore this lovely area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MenorcaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Spent two days at this hotel with a group of friends. We had room 2 which we found to be spacious and well equipped with beautiful views over the hills. The rest of our party were also very happy with their rooms.

We found the staff very helpful and accommodating to our group. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and enjoyed some of the local beers in the bar.

We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 532ChrisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We needed a base for a few days walking on Offas Dyke and the position was perfect. We didn't expect much - the usual small hotel. What a surprise. The food was really good, the staff were top notch and we really enjoyed our stay. Our little dog was made very welcome and allowed to be with us for dinner and breakfast, but if you wanted to eat in really smart surroundings in a panelled dining room, the dog can stay in the room
Afternoon tea in the garden was delightful. We really recommend this hotel

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EMALULA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
21.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
14.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
913 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
466 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
23.4 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range: £69 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing