We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Alresford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I had a lovely 2days at the hotel. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. The food showed that they cared about it and the homemade jams and marmelade were delicious.
A very nice stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pictured on the hotel web site. Rooms on the south east side are likely to have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at The Castle Hotel.
I'm delighted to hear that you had a lovely two days with us and we hope to see you soon, if only for you to stock up on our homemade jams and marmalades we sell in reception.
Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    147
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
83
441
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Lovely little hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful, food was good as was the beer. Welcome was good but not intrusive. We were in room 9 which is one of their smaller rooms (and a very sloping ceiling) but had fabulous views over the gardens and surrounding countryside. Room 9 is slightly overlooked by room 8 so you might want to careful about when you put the light on!
Its dog friendly and (based on my experience) LGBT friendly and just friendly friendly!

Room Tip: Higher up gets, I suspect, better views but smaller rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wolvoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights early may
Rooms lovely well laid out with kettle and water in room. Daily room service. Breakfast was a good choice cereal then a variety of cooked food.
All staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely stop again and recommend to everyone

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparky454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent hotel for a short walking holiday in the Shropshire Hills. Our room was small ( we got a very good rate through the internet) but very well equipped and decorated - lovely modern shower room and toilet - tea and coffee, flat screen tv, hairdrier - all the things you would expect. Its a dog friendly hotel - we dont have a dog, so anyone who doesnt like dogs might not like it. The breakfast was great - lots of fresh fruit and cereals, then a full english with locally sourced sausage , bacon and free range eggs. (the second morning I had the toasted muffin with scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - brilliant). We ate one night in the restaurant - we both had fish - again very good. There is an outside residents patio and a good selection of local real ales.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neilthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were recommended this hotel by friends and were not disappointed. The hotel, the atmosphere, the friendly staff - where do I start! We stayed for 4 days and met the previous reviewers. We were all in agreement about our experience of the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and one was made to feel very much 'at home'. Good to see so many locals and walkers using the gardens, food and bar too. All in all a wonderful weekend. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We only stayed the one night as we were in transit from Devon to Wirral, but what a find. On arrival all the staff were friendly and took time to have a welcoming chat. Even though the building itself is very old and quite quirky all the rooms have been furnished and the bathrooms equipped to modern day standards. The hotel is located in the town centre but there is no passing traffic so you are assured of a quiet stay. I am not a beer drinker of which there is plenty of choice but they do make an excellent gin and tonic before dinner which was excellent. I look forward to returning again for a longer visit to explore the local area.

Room Tip: There is no lift, but rooms on the 2nd floor floor have excellent views across the town to the field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyChappyWirral_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at the Castle whilst walking the Wild Edric's Way. I think if Edric had stayed here he might have been re-named, rather laid back Edric. It would be hard to find fault so I won't even try. The room was lovely (number 4), other friends stayed in rooms 1 and 11, all were lovely. We had a resident's patio, brilliant to unwind with a glass. The beer is great, 3 Tuns' and the food was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Breakfast was again excellent, we even had packed lunches sorted with no effort. A real little gem in a great place. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 11 might be tricky if you are tall - watch out for the beams. Room 4 had a great view down Bish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at The Castle Hotel while walking the Wild Edrics Way. We are really pleased to hear that your stay was so relaxing as we strive to create a laid back atmosphere. The residents patio is definitely a great area to unwind after a long days walking and enjoy the views Bishops Castle has to offer. Your comments about the food during your stay have been passed onto our kitchen team and they are equally as pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
14.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
18.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
15.1 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
4.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing