We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay! ”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb stay! ”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

So so so pleased we booked to stay in the Castle Hotel.

Not only were the staff both welcoming and attentive, the food was excellent, the rooms were beautiful and when our taxi couldn't get us to the wedding as planned Rebecca came to our rescue!

Fantastic hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about The Castle Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff welcoming and attentive.
I have passed on your excellent comments about the food to our team of chefs who are just as pleased as I am to hear that you enjoyed yourselves.
Here at The Castle Hotel we take pride in going the extra mile for our guests and its comments like yours that make it all worth while. I'm so glad that Rebecca was able to help in your hour of need.
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    156
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
86
466
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had pre-booked our night at The Castle to break our journey to the Chester area. The route there was very pleasant as was the town of Bishops Castle. The hotel looks a little daunting at first glance and the steps up to the reception may be found difficult for some.
Once inside the atmosphere and staff were excellent and made us very welcome. After unpacking in our large room, we walked the town looking for somewhere to eat, but settled on eating at the hotel. The food was good (same menu in the bar as in the restaurant) as was the beer - with two breweries in town it certainly SHOULD be OK! There is a lot to explore in and around the town and we would have liked to have stayed longer - I guess we will just have to go back!!

Room Tip: Hotel is in a quiet, elevated location. Some rooms may have better views than others ours was at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Castle Hotel.
I'm delighted to hear that staff made you feel very welcome and you liked your large room.
We agree that the front steps to the hotel can be a little daunting for some but we do provide a rear entrance from the car park which enables guests to enter the hotel without the need to climb the front steps.
We are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us as well as some of the local Ales we have on offer and cant wait for you to come back and try some more.
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My daughter lives in Argoed,Clun. It was her 49th Birthday!! So the family descended on the Castle Hotel to celebrate. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious, and the service excellent. Different people turned up to serve the different courses, which was fine, except we then forgot to leave a tip for such good service, as we were not to sure, who to leave it for.
We will have to remember when we return from North Wales for her 50th!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogleddcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at The Castle Hotel.
I'm so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your celebration meal, many happy returns from us all!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and I can assure you all staff tips get divided fairly each month.
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gruyere
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location cannot be beaten Bishops Castle is a beautiful country town in the English - Welsh border country. My wife and I agree the hotel is the best we have ever stayed in - and we have stayed in many hotels around the world. The location is perfect you walk out the front of the hotel into a beautiful market town whilst the back leads onto a large delightful garden. The views over the town are wonderful, from our room and the beer garden. Breakfast and evening meal were great - especially nice was the fresh condiments instead of the small packages that are so often used. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The service included a daily printout of the weather, helpful guides, leaflets and maps. So many nice touches that I cannot remember them all. The hotel itself is a lovely quirky old building but the room furnishings and bed are good quality and comfortable. Very importantly the en-suite looked new and the shower was great. Free Wi Fi. Lastly, but certainly not least - it is the most walker and dog friendly accommodation we have ever stayed in. Dogs actively welcomed (and not just tolerated as in so many hotels). Finally as far as I know there is no swimming pool but the rating form will not let me leave it blank !!!

Room Tip: We were in room 7 and our friend in 12 they were both great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Castle Hotel.
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your entire stay with us and are delighted that you think we are 'the best hotel you have ever stayed in', what a compliment, I can assure you it has put a smile on a lot of the teams faces.
I'm glad you enjoyed all of our little touches such as the freshly made condiments and suggested places to visit.
We do hope to welcome you back in the near future, in the meantime please keep an eye on our website for the latest special offers and best available rates.

Kind regards

The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were delighted by the genuine welcome we all got at The Castle, having often been disappointed by the grudging tolerance at some so-called pet-friendly hotels. Things got even better when we were shown to our room, which was large, clean and appeared to have been very recently and tastefully refurbished. There was a nice, modern bathroom with shower, supplemented by a large, free-standing bath in the bedroom - which made for an interesting evening (beats TV!). We were also located with easy access to the large, private residents' garden (well-provided with dog bowls). The food was very good, served in the cosy bar where our dog was once again welcome. Bishops Castle is a small, quirky place and The Castle is nicely located at the top of the High St, with easy access to the shops, the Shropshire Hills and the Welsh borders. We had a very nice, relaxing stay and would certainly book The Castle again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M&ERW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at The Castle Hotel.
I'm delighted to hear that you all felt 'genuinely welcome' here at the hotel, we pride ourselves in being dog friendly and its always a pleasure to hear customers feedback.
I have passed your fantastic comments about our food onto our team of chefs.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed for two nights as a Group of 10. The staff were so helpful, the dog had a super time and the rooms were really comfortable. Our friends all said what a lovely Hotel it was. the garden is beautiful and the bar was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was generally great (although sausages v poor) and they coped well with all 10 of us arriving at once, plus other gustes too. The only disappointment was our evening meal, much of which was delicious but the burgers were under seasoned and the meat had a very soft, rather unpleasant texture. All in all, a really great place to stay, possibly needs to consider getting a new butcher.

Room Tip: We had a large double and it was recently decorated and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamish0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write a review about The Castle Hotel.
We are so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We were sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our burgers. As they are handmade on the premises we do like to vary the flavours and were sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy this particular combination of beef, bacon and sun blushed tomatoes. We always value constructive criticism and have passed your comments on to the chef.
I'm delighted to hear that you found the staff friendly and you got to enjoy our beautiful garden - the nice weather certainly makes a difference.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.

Kind regards

The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed with our two dogs and all four of us absolutely loved our stay. Our room was gorgeous Thoroughly recommend this hotel if you want to enjoy long walks in the stunning countryside, good food and service and pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Castle Hotel.
We are delighted all four of you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly agree that Bishops Castle and the surrounding area provides some wonderful walks that make the most of the beautiful scenery.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
14.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
866 reviews
18.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
617 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
14.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
427 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing