We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dragon Hotel(Montgomery)
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knighton Hotel(Knighton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rowton Castle(Halfway House)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
655
186
21
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
655
186
21
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog friendly hoteloak panelled dining roomweather forecastshropshire hillslovely gardenlovely hotelroll top bathreal alecream teabreakfast and evening mealbeer gardenshort breaklovely roomkippersmini breakmarket squarewonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
632 - 637 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked the castle through the internet so weren't that sure what we would get especially as we drove through the town and nobody was to be seen, but boy was I wrong. Wasn't sure on the hotel when we first saw it,but as soon as we went inside I was very surprised. The rooms were decorated to a high standard, we had room six which was lovely. The food in the hotel was Excellant . breakfast as well. The staff were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble and everyone seemed very happy in their job. We definitely will be returning to the castle.

Room Tip: We had room 6 but I think all rooms are to a high standard
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Castle Hotel with the Trip Advisor community
I'm delighted that you found our staff 'exceptional' and that nothing was too much trouble.Your comments act as a constant source of motivation to all the team here.
Your comments about the food during your stay have been passed onto our kitchen team and they are equally as pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

So so so pleased we booked to stay in the Castle Hotel.

Not only were the staff both welcoming and attentive, the food was excellent, the rooms were beautiful and when our taxi couldn't get us to the wedding as planned Rebecca came to our rescue!

Fantastic hotel!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about The Castle Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff welcoming and attentive.
I have passed on your excellent comments about the food to our team of chefs who are just as pleased as I am to hear that you enjoyed yourselves.
Here at The Castle Hotel we take pride in going the extra mile for our guests and its comments like yours that make it all worth while. I'm so glad that Rebecca was able to help in your hour of need.
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had pre-booked our night at The Castle to break our journey to the Chester area. The route there was very pleasant as was the town of Bishops Castle. The hotel looks a little daunting at first glance and the steps up to the reception may be found difficult for some.
Once inside the atmosphere and staff were excellent and made us very welcome. After unpacking in our large room, we walked the town looking for somewhere to eat, but settled on eating at the hotel. The food was good (same menu in the bar as in the restaurant) as was the beer - with two breweries in town it certainly SHOULD be OK! There is a lot to explore in and around the town and we would have liked to have stayed longer - I guess we will just have to go back!!

Room Tip: Hotel is in a quiet, elevated location. Some rooms may have better views than others ours was at the front with dual aspects.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Castle Hotel.
I'm delighted to hear that staff made you feel very welcome and you liked your large room.
We agree that the front steps to the hotel can be a little daunting for some but we do provide a rear entrance from the car park which enables guests to enter the hotel without the need to climb the front steps.
We are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us as well as some of the local Ales we have on offer and cant wait for you to come back and try some more.
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My daughter lives in Argoed,Clun. It was her 49th Birthday!! So the family descended on the Castle Hotel to celebrate. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious, and the service excellent. Different people turned up to serve the different courses, which was fine, except we then forgot to leave a tip for such good service, as we were not to sure, who to leave it for.
We will have to remember when we return from North Wales for her 50th!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gogleddcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at The Castle Hotel.
I'm so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your celebration meal, many happy returns from us all!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and I can assure you all staff tips get divided fairly each month.
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location cannot be beaten Bishops Castle is a beautiful country town in the English - Welsh border country. My wife and I agree the hotel is the best we have ever stayed in - and we have stayed in many hotels around the world. The location is perfect you walk out the front of the hotel into a beautiful market town whilst the back leads onto a large delightful garden. The views over the town are wonderful, from our room and the beer garden. Breakfast and evening meal were great - especially nice was the fresh condiments instead of the small packages that are so often used. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The service included a daily printout of the weather, helpful guides, leaflets and maps. So many nice touches that I cannot remember them all. The hotel itself is a lovely quirky old building but the room furnishings and bed are good quality and comfortable. Very importantly the en-suite looked new and the shower was great. Free Wi Fi. Lastly, but certainly not least - it is the most walker and dog friendly accommodation we have ever stayed in. Dogs actively welcomed (and not just tolerated as in so many hotels). Finally as far as I know there is no swimming pool but the rating form will not let me leave it blank !!!

Room Tip: We were in room 7 and our friend in 12 they were both great
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Castle Hotel.
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your entire stay with us and are delighted that you think we are 'the best hotel you have ever stayed in', what a compliment, I can assure you it has put a smile on a lot of the teams faces.
I'm glad you enjoyed all of our little touches such as the freshly made condiments and suggested places to visit.
We do hope to welcome you back in the near future, in the meantime please keep an eye on our website for the latest special offers and best available rates.

Kind regards

The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews