We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks with a view”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Timperley
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Drinks with a view”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We use the Castle hotel garden daily when on holiday, for morning coffee, afternoon tea or a sneaky jug of Pimms before dinner. The view form the garden is unique and breathtaking.
The staff are all helpful, smart and friendly.
The prices are average, the atmosphere relaxed and they offer an extensive menu updated daily with fresh local produce.
A real gem!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyJaneMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experiences of The Castle Hotel.
I'm delighted that when on holiday you choose to use our garden daily to relax and enjoy the beautiful views Bishops Castle has to offer.
Thank you for your comments about our staff being 'helpful, smart and friendly'.
We hope to see you again soon for a cheeky Pimms!
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    159
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
88
480
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Codsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a bargain last minute room for £59 and as we've stayed here before, couldn't believe our luck. We had a lovely stay. All staff are professional, friendly and helpful.We sat in the beautiful gardens and had morning coffee overlooking the lovely Shropshire countryside. Our room was excellent and the choice of breakfast the next morning equally so. Traditional full English, muffins with smoked salmon and scrambled egg or with poached egg and hollandaise sauce, with or without bacon. Kippers and pancakes with maple syrup. All the usuals, cereals, fresh fruit platter, yoghurts and toast. Lovely home made preserves and marmalades.
Great bar with good choice of local ales including Clun Ale. What's not to like?! A great choice in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at The Castle Hotel.
It’s such a compliment when our guests decide to return to us again and again, so thank you for your continued support. Were so pleased you were able to take full advantage of our late availability offers!
I'm delighted that you found all of our staff 'professional, friendly and helpful'. The positive comments we receive act as a constant source of motivation to us all.
I'm so pleased you enjoyed our extensive breakfast selection and have passed your wonderful comments onto our team of chefs.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have just returned from a one night stay at the Castle Hotel ....we had one of the Master rooms with roll top bath , a beautiful room with fab views ( although church bells did keep me awake) the staff were helpful and friendly and the food was good ( not the best I've had ) but home cooked and a good variety ,fresh and hot , we will defiantly return maybe next time with our dog ( a very dog friendly hotel )

Room Tip: We had room 3 excellent views lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Castle Hotel.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed one of our master rooms, the roll top baths certainly are a great feature.
We look forward to welcoming you back with your dog next time, be sure to keep an eye out on our website as we have some great offers available.
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've stayed here before and we'll definitely return. The hotel is comfortable, full of original features and perfectly positioned on the hill with stunning views of the rolling Shropshire hills. The staff are always welcoming and the breakfasts are delicious.

Room Tip: The town clock chimes loudly so ask for a room at the back if this bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBRV_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of The Castle Hotel with the Trip Advisor community. It’s such a compliment when our guests decide to return to us again and again, so thank you for your continued support.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found all the staff to be welcoming and our breakfasts delicious!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Me and my family stayed at this hotel on 30/07/2014. Having spent the day walking up Carding Mill Valley, me and my family drove to Bishops Castle and arrived at the Castle Hotel. The hotel looked amazing on the outside but it was even better on the inside.
Me and my brother shared a room with two beds (one single and one double) and an en-suite shower room. My parents slept in another room just down the hall. The view of Bishops Castle from the bedroom window was lovely. And best of all, there was Wi-Fi available.
We had tea in the downstairs restaurant. I had the fish platter, with a side of chips and a Coke to drink. The fish platter had all my favourite types of fish on it, and the chips were also delicious.
Breakfast was good, too. There was plenty of cereal and juices, and the selection of food on the menu was good, too. I had scrambled eggs and pancakes. Both were delicious.
I really enjoyed my stay at the Castle Hotel and me and my family would be delighted to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJGB246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at The Castle Hotel.
I'm delighted that you and your family all enjoyed your stay with us, the positive comments we receive act as a constant source of motivation to us all. Thank you for sharing your picture of the Fish Platter with Trip Advisor, we take pride in all of the food we serve so its such a compliment when guests are so impressed they take a picture of the chefs hard work!
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and i stayed at this hotel Friday night and were delighted with the service we received. The bedroom and shower rooms were lovely with views out of the window to the hills. We did not venture too far but did have a meal at The Boars Head, lovely meal but far too much on the plate. most of the little shops had closed by thee time we arrived so can not comment on them. The room was very hot all night, there was a fan in the room however this did not really do much, nice to have the hot weather though. The breakfast in the morning was the best we have ever had, Henry even served us breakfast needed too check out by 8 am. Thank you for making our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of The Castle Hotel with the Trip Advisor community.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your bedroom with the views of Bishops Castle and the surrounding hills. I have passed on your comments to Henry about the early breakfast service you received. your comments saying it was the best breakfast you have ever had certainly put a smile on our faces!
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future so that you can spend a little more time discovering the wonderful shops Bishops Castle has to offer!
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Castle Hotel is a little gem in a wonderful laid back & friendly town. Bishops Castle has some lovely little shops,plenty of pubs & a very gentle old world atmosphere. The hotel was all we expected boutique style in a wonderful old building. The master doubles are lovely with great views & lovely decor. We loved the free standing bath in the bedroom & the huge shower in the ensuite. The residents terrace was a lovely bonus & eating a fish platter lunch there was like being on the continent with the addition of ale from the local brewery The Three Tuns over the road. The hotel terrace was equally lovely & very busy. Breakfast was good & the staff were lovely.
We attended the first Gumbo music festival which was great fun so roll on next year.

Room Tip: Room 3 master double huge bed & great bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, the whole team are delighted that your experience was so enjoyable in Bishops Castle. The positive comments we receive act as a constant source of motivation to us all.
We’re so pleased that the sun decided to shine when you came to stay and you were able to see The Castle Hotel and its beautiful terrace and gardens in all its glory.
We are pleased that you found the décor to your tastes and enjoyed our fabulous free standing bath in the bedroom.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
14.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
878 reviews
21.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
18.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
435 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
23.4 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing