We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional hospitality and comfort”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our stay was both comfortable and very enjoyable. The staff were welcoming and ever-helpful. This inn is very comfortably and generously appointed and very well located for exploring the area.
I would just like to suggest some provision for travellers who don't arrive at normal lunch/dinner times. There is very little provision in the town and so if the hotel were able to offer a simple sandwich or pie, say any time from 2pm - 6pm, I think this would be a most welcome addition.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ag00dthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Castle Hotel with the trip advisor community.
I'm pleased that you found all our staff welcoming and helpful and you enjoyed the town of Bishops Castle.
I would like to thank you for your suggestion about providing guests the option of something light to eat outside of our meal times. We have certainly taken this on board and have discussed this matter previously but at this moment in time we do not feel that it would be cost effective.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We use the Castle hotel garden daily when on holiday, for morning coffee, afternoon tea or a sneaky jug of Pimms before dinner. The view form the garden is unique and breathtaking.
The staff are all helpful, smart and friendly.
The prices are average, the atmosphere relaxed and they offer an extensive menu updated daily with fresh local produce.
A real gem!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyJaneMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experiences of The Castle Hotel.
I'm delighted that when on holiday you choose to use our garden daily to relax and enjoy the beautiful views Bishops Castle has to offer.
Thank you for your comments about our staff being 'helpful, smart and friendly'.
We hope to see you again soon for a cheeky Pimms!
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a bargain last minute room for £59 and as we've stayed here before, couldn't believe our luck. We had a lovely stay. All staff are professional, friendly and helpful.We sat in the beautiful gardens and had morning coffee overlooking the lovely Shropshire countryside. Our room was excellent and the choice of breakfast the next morning equally so. Traditional full English, muffins with smoked salmon and scrambled egg or with poached egg and hollandaise sauce, with or without bacon. Kippers and pancakes with maple syrup. All the usuals, cereals, fresh fruit platter, yoghurts and toast. Lovely home made preserves and marmalades.
Great bar with good choice of local ales including Clun Ale. What's not to like?! A great choice in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at The Castle Hotel.
It’s such a compliment when our guests decide to return to us again and again, so thank you for your continued support. Were so pleased you were able to take full advantage of our late availability offers!
I'm delighted that you found all of our staff 'professional, friendly and helpful'. The positive comments we receive act as a constant source of motivation to us all.
I'm so pleased you enjoyed our extensive breakfast selection and have passed your wonderful comments onto our team of chefs.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have just returned from a one night stay at the Castle Hotel ....we had one of the Master rooms with roll top bath , a beautiful room with fab views ( although church bells did keep me awake) the staff were helpful and friendly and the food was good ( not the best I've had ) but home cooked and a good variety ,fresh and hot , we will defiantly return maybe next time with our dog ( a very dog friendly hotel )

Room Tip: We had room 3 excellent views lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Castle Hotel.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed one of our master rooms, the roll top baths certainly are a great feature.
We look forward to welcoming you back with your dog next time, be sure to keep an eye out on our website as we have some great offers available.
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've stayed here before and we'll definitely return. The hotel is comfortable, full of original features and perfectly positioned on the hill with stunning views of the rolling Shropshire hills. The staff are always welcoming and the breakfasts are delicious.

Room Tip: The town clock chimes loudly so ask for a room at the back if this bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JBRV_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of The Castle Hotel with the Trip Advisor community. It’s such a compliment when our guests decide to return to us again and again, so thank you for your continued support.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found all the staff to be welcoming and our breakfasts delicious!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Me and my family stayed at this hotel on 30/07/2014. Having spent the day walking up Carding Mill Valley, me and my family drove to Bishops Castle and arrived at the Castle Hotel. The hotel looked amazing on the outside but it was even better on the inside.
Me and my brother shared a room with two beds (one single and one double) and an en-suite shower room. My parents slept in another room just down the hall. The view of Bishops Castle from the bedroom window was lovely. And best of all, there was Wi-Fi available.
We had tea in the downstairs restaurant. I had the fish platter, with a side of chips and a Coke to drink. The fish platter had all my favourite types of fish on it, and the chips were also delicious.
Breakfast was good, too. There was plenty of cereal and juices, and the selection of food on the menu was good, too. I had scrambled eggs and pancakes. Both were delicious.
I really enjoyed my stay at the Castle Hotel and me and my family would be delighted to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HJGB246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at The Castle Hotel.
I'm delighted that you and your family all enjoyed your stay with us, the positive comments we receive act as a constant source of motivation to us all. Thank you for sharing your picture of the Fish Platter with Trip Advisor, we take pride in all of the food we serve so its such a compliment when guests are so impressed they take a picture of the chefs hard work!
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future, be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special offers.
Kind regards
The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and i stayed at this hotel Friday night and were delighted with the service we received. The bedroom and shower rooms were lovely with views out of the window to the hills. We did not venture too far but did have a meal at The Boars Head, lovely meal but far too much on the plate. most of the little shops had closed by thee time we arrived so can not comment on them. The room was very hot all night, there was a fan in the room however this did not really do much, nice to have the hot weather though. The breakfast in the morning was the best we have ever had, Henry even served us breakfast needed too check out by 8 am. Thank you for making our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCastleHotel, Manager at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of The Castle Hotel with the Trip Advisor community.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your bedroom with the views of Bishops Castle and the surrounding hills. I have passed on your comments to Henry about the early breakfast service you received. your comments saying it was the best breakfast you have ever had certainly put a smile on our faces!
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Castle Hotel in the near future so that you can spend a little more time discovering the wonderful shops Bishops Castle has to offer!
Kind regards

The Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
14.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
951 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
489 reviews
15.1 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montgomery
299 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range: £67 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing