We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fell well-short of the required standard”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishops Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Time Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 12 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Fell well-short of the required standard”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Despite pleasant and (sort-of) welcoming hosts (husband seemed on another planet), this place needs much attention to deserve any paying guests. I can see why those who have been coming for years have rather got used to it but it's in need severely of a refurbishment and rethink. The room was terribly cramped with awful beds - nearly on the floor like at army camp - and a TV from the 80s. The carpet was simply dreadful, well the ghastly design anyway. Breakfast was agreed at 0830hrs but nothing was ready and it took another 45 mins to get any food. I had to ask for a drink. I'm sorry to be critical of clearly nice hosts but I have to report what I found.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vega77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Old Time is a 15th Century listed building in the centre of Bishops Castle. The landlady was helpful and welcoming, and cooked me a lovely breakfast in the morning, while I watched the chickens in her garden. She even arranged baggage transfer while I walked on to my next accommodation. They handily post their availability on their web site.

Room Tip: The Blue and Pink Rooms are on the street and the Cruck Room is further back. I stayed in the Blue R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynxwhisker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have stayed at Old Time many times and have found each one highly enjoyable. Jane is always very friendly , the rooms are very clean and the breakfasts are amazing. If you want a laid back friendly place to stay and enjoy the delights of Bishops Castle and the surrounding area then I can't think of anywhere better than Old Time B&B.

Room Tip: Look at Old Times website as there are detailed descriptions of the bedrooms to help you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The Old Time B&B is a very much like it's name (in a good way). We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed it. Especially breakfasts! Lovely fry up with fresh eggs from their own hens. Very peaceful little town, good location, beautiful views (it's a shame that weather wasn't that great during our stay).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamariafresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
373 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at the Old Time for 2 nights and Jane was a very warm and welcoming host. We stopped in the Cruck room which is a small double ensuite shower room which we were aware of when booking and suited us. Also probably a quieter room as at the side of the building. If you want a room with more space then book the Pink Room. Although the furniture/decor was a bit dated the room was very clean and Jane offered us tea/coffee on arrival. The b&b is in a quirky and very unique building and is very centrally located. Breakfast is taken in the kitchen around a large table with other guests which makes breakfast a very sociable affair. Jane cooks and chats and the atmosphere is nice and informal. One of the best cooked breakfasts we have eaten and fab homemade bread. The b& b is excellent value for money and the location is great for a variety of walks and with 6 pubs on the doorstep you're spoilt for choice. Six Tuns v good for food. Six Bells v friendly locals to chat with.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Spent a long weekend at the Old Time B&B while in the area sampling the local breweries and the Shropshire hills. Jane was a lovely, welcoming host who's knowledge and enthusiasm for the area was much appreciated and ensured a comfortable stay in this quirky B&B. She cooks a mean breakfast too!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hi0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at Old Time. It is a wonderful B&B and Jane is one of the most friendly hosts we've come across (she runs the Tourist Information so is a mine of useful and interesting information).
We stopped in the pink room which is a nice size with an en suite comprising both a bath and a shower. Everywhere is very clean but wonderfully informal at the same time.
Breakfasts are served in the kitchen and the table is shared with whoever else is staying. Not for those who like to stay aloof but very sociable with Jane chatting as she cooks a delicious breakfast.
Bishops Castle itself is a wonderful place with great pubs, great food and friendly people. Old Time is perfectly situated in the middle of the high street,
A highly enjoyable stay - we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishops Castle hotels
0.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
712 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Brick Guesthouse
Old Brick Guesthouse
#3 of 12 in Bishops Castle
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Middle Woodbatch Farm
Middle Woodbatch Farm
#7 of 12 in Bishops Castle
25 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Old Time Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Time Bed & Breakfast

Property: Old Time Bed & Breakfast
Address: 29 High Street, Bishops Castle SY9 5BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Time is a 15th century house in the centre of old Bishops Castle fronted by a local craft gallery. Comfortable en-suite bedrooms and tasty breakfasts with home made bread, free range eggs and local produce. The shared breakfast table is next to the French windows into the garden and is in the 17th century extension! Bishops Castle is an excellent centre for walkers and cyclists and those exploring this unspoilt border country. The town has two breweries and many pubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Time Bed & Breakfast Bishops Castle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing