We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing short of perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on the Green

The Inn on the Green
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishops Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn on the Green
Ranked #4 of 12 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
shrewsbury
2 reviews
“Nothing short of perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at the Inn on the Green after walking in the area and for a birthday treat for my husband.
On arrival we were greeted with great warmth and shown to our large and beautifully furnished room.
Nothing was too much trouble.

The choice of home cooked evening meal in the bar/restaurant was massive and the steaks we chose were cooked to perfection.

The bar/restaurant boasts a
Big log burner and lovely large solid oak tables and chairs and there is a nice outdoor patio garden area.

There was a lovely warm buzzing atmosphere in the bar in the evening and comfy leather sofas to retire to when we had finished our meal.

Following a very peaceful nights sleep we enjoyed a full English breakfast which was plentiful, tasty and hot. We had been looking forward to it and were not let down!

All in all a wonderful place to stay with fabulous hosts who can't do enough to ensure your stay is perfect - great hospitality in a super location.

We will certainly find an excuse to return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plssmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding at Walcott Hall nearby. It is a fab little pub. Great food, hospitality and welcome.

The landlord kindly took us to the wedding venue so that we didn't have to leave a car and even picked us up at 12.30.

Our room was great, breakfast enormous and tasty.

All in all a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

My sister and I were looking for somewhere near Bishop's Castle and thought this would suit us best. How glad are we that we did - warm welcome from Adrian who showed us up to a huge room with very comfortable beds and lovely white cotton sheets. Large bathroom with toiletries and heated towel rail! We went down to the 'pub' part and sat in front of a roaring log fire on very comfy leather sofas and enjoyed a most welcome coffee and caught up with emails with the free wi-fi. Good nights sleep with no noise from the pub, only the occasional hoot of an owl - woke to the lovely sound of the sheep bleating in the morning. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful served by the lovely Kate. Can't recommend this B&B enough and will most certainly stay again if in the area. Thank you both.

Room Tip: Very large family connecting room with one double and 4 single beds - ideal for families and groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blancsanglier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We'd been told about this pub by our B&B and booked it for the end of a walk. A good job we'd finished the walk, because we couldn't have gone very far afterwards! Very welcoming hosts and staff in a warm and cosy pub. The food was excellent - more vegetables than you could put on your plate and all freshly cooked. Lovely meat (local) and huge Yorkshire puds! Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Just visited the Inn on the Green at Wentnor, for the umteenth time and every time we visit we are astounded at the brilliant food and kindness of Kate and Adrian. The food is without doubt the best in the area and great value for money. Lovely garden outside and good selection of beers.If you like a country pub in a lovely spot with great atmosphere, you just have to visit.You will not be disapointed.Just ask the locals.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbelShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albox
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and the complimentary drinks, biscuits and water were a lovely touch. The en suite bathroom was again very clean and Kate had thoughtfully provided toiletries and a hair dryer. We ate in the restaurant and the food was freshly cooked and our meals were delicious and excellent value for money. Breakfast was a generous helping of local eggs, bacon, sausage and black pudding, with plenty of choice on the menu for those who prefer a lighter start to the day. Kate and Adrian are great hosts and bent over backwards to make our stay as stress free as possible. The surrounding area is beautiful and very quiet, we had a very good nights sleep with little disturbance from the pub below, just the distant bleating of sheep every now and then.
We will certainly be returning here to enjoy more Wentnor hospitality very soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piccolo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

Stopped off here for lunch before pitching our tent at the campsite next door. Despite being a very busy Sunday lunchtime, the service was calm and attentive . We bought two very reasonably priced baguettes which were substantial and very tasty.
We returned the following day for evening drinks and hot nuts etc and service was just as attentive. Would not hesitate to return when next in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishops Castle hotels
0.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Brick Guesthouse
Old Brick Guesthouse
#3 of 12 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Middle Woodbatch Farm
Middle Woodbatch Farm
#7 of 12 in Bishops Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Green

Property: The Inn on the Green
Address: Wentnor, Bishops Castle SY9 5EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Green Bishops Castle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing