We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food matched by service... excellent!”

The Inn on the Green
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishops Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn on the Green
Ranked #4 of 11 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food matched by service... excellent!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Group of six, ages from three to the far side of pensioner; we turned up without a booking and were immediately offered a huge table. The menu is not vast, but you're not left short of choices. Everything in our mixed choice was beyond reproach, well cooked, well presented and tasted at least as good as you had been hoping.
The bill was very reasonable and we left thinking that we'd made a good choice for venue, menu and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

visited Friday on a caravan weekend booked table all meals were good a little mistake with our orders ie we did not want puree with lamb chops they sorted very quickly. good beer food an good customer service job well done

Room Tip: did not sleep there prob with computer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Ten of us recently stayed here as part of a walking trip. In advance they sent me though some details on local walks. Once there the staff couldn't do enough for us, particularly Kate.
There's a good selection of beers, the menu has enough variety on it and the food is good pub style.
We were given packed lunches; a brilliant breakfast with lots of choice; and service with a smile.
We did eat very late one night due to how busy the restaurant was, that was the only snag really.
There's plenty of places to walk to from here so you can leave the car and head off to surrounding villages on your walking route.
We'd highly recommend the Inn on the Green.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank white-hat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at the Inn on the Green after walking in the area and for a birthday treat for my husband.
On arrival we were greeted with great warmth and shown to our large and beautifully furnished room.
Nothing was too much trouble.

The choice of home cooked evening meal in the bar/restaurant was massive and the steaks we chose were cooked to perfection.

The bar/restaurant boasts a
Big log burner and lovely large solid oak tables and chairs and there is a nice outdoor patio garden area.

There was a lovely warm buzzing atmosphere in the bar in the evening and comfy leather sofas to retire to when we had finished our meal.

Following a very peaceful nights sleep we enjoyed a full English breakfast which was plentiful, tasty and hot. We had been looking forward to it and were not let down!

All in all a wonderful place to stay with fabulous hosts who can't do enough to ensure your stay is perfect - great hospitality in a super location.

We will certainly find an excuse to return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plssmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding at Walcott Hall nearby. It is a fab little pub. Great food, hospitality and welcome.

The landlord kindly took us to the wedding venue so that we didn't have to leave a car and even picked us up at 12.30.

Our room was great, breakfast enormous and tasty.

All in all a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My sister and I were looking for somewhere near Bishop's Castle and thought this would suit us best. How glad are we that we did - warm welcome from Adrian who showed us up to a huge room with very comfortable beds and lovely white cotton sheets. Large bathroom with toiletries and heated towel rail! We went down to the 'pub' part and sat in front of a roaring log fire on very comfy leather sofas and enjoyed a most welcome coffee and caught up with emails with the free wi-fi. Good nights sleep with no noise from the pub, only the occasional hoot of an owl - woke to the lovely sound of the sheep bleating in the morning. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful served by the lovely Kate. Can't recommend this B&B enough and will most certainly stay again if in the area. Thank you both.

Room Tip: Very large family connecting room with one double and 4 single beds - ideal for families and groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blancsanglier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We'd been told about this pub by our B&B and booked it for the end of a walk. A good job we'd finished the walk, because we couldn't have gone very far afterwards! Very welcoming hosts and staff in a warm and cosy pub. The food was excellent - more vegetables than you could put on your plate and all freshly cooked. Lovely meat (local) and huge Yorkshire puds! Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishops Castle hotels
0.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Middle Woodbatch Farm
Middle Woodbatch Farm
#7 of 11 in Bishops Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old Brick Guesthouse
Old Brick Guesthouse
#3 of 11 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Green

Property: The Inn on the Green
Address: Wentnor, Bishops Castle SY9 5EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Green Bishops Castle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing