We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place to eat, drink and Stay”

The Inn on the Green
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishops Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn on the Green
Ranked #3 of 12 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just got back from a two night stay here. Found all the staff polite and pleasant. Kate greeted us and showed us to our room. We stayed in room 4. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy. My only criticism would be the room looked very dated and the flat panel TV was about the size of a postage stamp.. But hey it's a room above a pub! We ate in the restaurant for two evenings and the food was very very good. I have to congratulate the chef for cooking a perfect "blue" Sirloin steak. Breakfast was also very good. Help yourself to cereals then a cooked breakfast after. Three real ales on, all from local breweries, Three Tuns and Wye Valley. Plenty to see and do around the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLACK_COUNTRY_LAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our second visit here in two weeks having had a great meal the first time. But were a bit disappointed this time, my son had gammon although the price was good the size of the gammon was very small the look on his face when it arrived said it all. I had steak it was ok but I've had better for the money. My husband had no complaints about his fish and chips and also the portion of garlic bread was very generous. This would not put me off returning but I will be careful what is ordered. Once again barman was excellent but waiting on staff a bit half soaked.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SAH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Group of six, ages from three to the far side of pensioner; we turned up without a booking and were immediately offered a huge table. The menu is not vast, but you're not left short of choices. Everything in our mixed choice was beyond reproach, well cooked, well presented and tasted at least as good as you had been hoping.
The bill was very reasonable and we left thinking that we'd made a good choice for venue, menu and service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

visited Friday on a caravan weekend booked table all meals were good a little mistake with our orders ie we did not want puree with lamb chops they sorted very quickly. good beer food an good customer service job well done

Room Tip: did not sleep there prob with computer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Ten of us recently stayed here as part of a walking trip. In advance they sent me though some details on local walks. Once there the staff couldn't do enough for us, particularly Kate.
There's a good selection of beers, the menu has enough variety on it and the food is good pub style.
We were given packed lunches; a brilliant breakfast with lots of choice; and service with a smile.
We did eat very late one night due to how busy the restaurant was, that was the only snag really.
There's plenty of places to walk to from here so you can leave the car and head off to surrounding villages on your walking route.
We'd highly recommend the Inn on the Green.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank white-hat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at the Inn on the Green after walking in the area and for a birthday treat for my husband.
On arrival we were greeted with great warmth and shown to our large and beautifully furnished room.
Nothing was too much trouble.

The choice of home cooked evening meal in the bar/restaurant was massive and the steaks we chose were cooked to perfection.

The bar/restaurant boasts a
Big log burner and lovely large solid oak tables and chairs and there is a nice outdoor patio garden area.

There was a lovely warm buzzing atmosphere in the bar in the evening and comfy leather sofas to retire to when we had finished our meal.

Following a very peaceful nights sleep we enjoyed a full English breakfast which was plentiful, tasty and hot. We had been looking forward to it and were not let down!

All in all a wonderful place to stay with fabulous hosts who can't do enough to ensure your stay is perfect - great hospitality in a super location.

We will certainly find an excuse to return!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plssmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding at Walcott Hall nearby. It is a fab little pub. Great food, hospitality and welcome.

The landlord kindly took us to the wedding venue so that we didn't have to leave a car and even picked us up at 12.30.

Our room was great, breakfast enormous and tasty.

All in all a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishops Castle hotels
4.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
817 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Boar's Head Hotel
The Boar's Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
269 reviews
4.8 mi away
Middle Woodbatch Farm
Middle Woodbatch Farm
#6 of 12 in Bishops Castle
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Green Caravan and Camping Park
4.5 mi away
Bank House Bed & Breakfast
Bank House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Bishops Castle
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Green

Address: Wentnor, Bishops Castle SY9 5EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Green Bishops Castle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing