We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn on the Green
Nearby Hotels
The Castle Hotel(Bishops Castle)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middle Woodbatch Farm(Bishops Castle)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boar's Head Hotel(Bishops Castle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
The crown inn(Bishops Castle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
59
12
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
12
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carveryvisited this pubcaravan parkspecials boardbeyond reproachreal ales on tapexcellent homemadeate herehoisin saucelovely pubfamily mealcamping holidaycountry pubgenerous portionssirloin steakexcellent value for moneyfood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have visited this pub a number of times and every time the service has been first rate. We stayed for our second new year's night this week and the spread put on was just excellent. The rooms are basic but very clean and well stocked with tea etc; the TV is the smallest ever seen, though.

Not the easiest place to find but worth it. The nearby pub up the hill is good too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley-Cranham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We chose one of our local pubs The Inn On The Green as the venue for our Daughters 21st Birthday Party. As we have always had excellent meals here and relatives have stayed in the accomodation previously we decided it was the right choice.
I cannot find anything negative about the service from starting the booking to organising bands disco food and accomodation. On the night they still excelled the services by presenting outstanding beef and pork baps with a selection of sauces, mustards etc and later in the evening huge platters of cheese and biscuits.
On going to meet my relatives the next morning who had stayed there i couldnt beleive how the staff had worked from early morning to clean up all the debris from over 200 guests the night before to make the next days carvery for a fully booked sunday lunchtime nothing short of perfect.
Well done Adrian, Kate and your wonderful team of staff



  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mistybecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just got back from a two night stay here. Found all the staff polite and pleasant. Kate greeted us and showed us to our room. We stayed in room 4. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy. My only criticism would be the room looked very dated and the flat panel TV was about the size of a postage stamp.. But hey it's a room above a pub! We ate in the restaurant for two evenings and the food was very very good. I have to congratulate the chef for cooking a perfect "blue" Sirloin steak. Breakfast was also very good. Help yourself to cereals then a cooked breakfast after. Three real ales on, all from local breweries, Three Tuns and Wye Valley. Plenty to see and do around the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLACK_COUNTRY_LAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our second visit here in two weeks having had a great meal the first time. But were a bit disappointed this time, my son had gammon although the price was good the size of the gammon was very small the look on his face when it arrived said it all. I had steak it was ok but I've had better for the money. My husband had no complaints about his fish and chips and also the portion of garlic bread was very generous. This would not put me off returning but I will be careful what is ordered. Once again barman was excellent but waiting on staff a bit half soaked.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SAH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Group of six, ages from three to the far side of pensioner; we turned up without a booking and were immediately offered a huge table. The menu is not vast, but you're not left short of choices. Everything in our mixed choice was beyond reproach, well cooked, well presented and tasted at least as good as you had been hoping.
The bill was very reasonable and we left thinking that we'd made a good choice for venue, menu and service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews