We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful location for a family get-together”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bishops Castle, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Essgeebee
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A beautiful location for a family get-together”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We rented the cottage for four days for a family get together, travelling from Scotland, Devon and Northamptonshire. It is located in a beautiful setting and although the weather was not as kind as we'd have liked we enjoyed our stay very much. The house has spacious rooms, a well-equipped kitchen and lovely items that make the place feel homely. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water.
The owners were very hospitable and eager to help when advice was needed. Nearby pubs and small shop came in handy though, with so much space, ten could eat comfortably at the large farmhouse table and we ate in several times.
Our only slight niggle would be one or two chairs in the lounge were less than completely comfortable. Otherwise, we had a great time and would recommend this cottage highly.

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We have a suggestions book in the Farmhouse and where possible take note of all the ideas which are made. We know the chairs you refer to and they were added at the request of some of our previous guests. We will look at upgrading them too in due course. The Farmhouse sleeps 8 and therefore accommodates 8. The kitchen has a large table which will accommodate more people, but then the sitting room next door gets very cosy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles R
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great country retreat”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

A wonderful farmhouse which was exactly as described. Accommodation was required for an extended family of 6 adults, 2 children and a dog, this fitted the bill precisely. The bonus was the wonderful countryside.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonmum...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
Reviewed 11 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We loved the house, it's in the most perfect setting, beautifully quiet and stunning countryside. Loads to do nearby. The house itself is ideal. It's done up very nicely with lovely things without feeling too 'precious' around small children. It's very well equipped and warm. The beds were comfortable, the linen good quality, nice thick curtains and carpets and all very clean. We could not have asked for more. The owners were charming and very helpful but not at all overpowering despite their house being next door. It's the perfect spot for a holiday.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean, well equipped, warm, well laid out, spacious
Liked least: doesn't have a huge garden but surrounded by fields so it doesn't matter
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2013
It was a pleasure to see you all, and to see the young enjoying the snow; which has now, at last, vanished so we look forward to some warm Spring days. The garden furniture wil be put out shortly. Thank you for your kind comments about the Farmhouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.