We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and lovely old hotel”
Review of Porch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishops Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porch House
Ranked #7 of 12 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 June 2012

An absolutely stunning old and original property - full of character and atmosphere. Large bedroom with anti room and huge bathroom. Off road and secure parking. We were made extremely welcome. Lovely breakfast and I really enjoyed the eggs Benedict. Wish we had had more time to explore Bishops Castle but on our way to John O'Groats so couldn't stop. Would go back if we are ever in the area.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Della and Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

The only thing average about this place is the price. Everything else exceeded our expectations. The building is very old and has been beautifully restored. We felt priviledged to be able to stay in such an old building. However if you don't like floors that slope and creak, steps in all sorts of places and low doors the Porch House may not be for you.
We were made very welcome by John and Gill and had the choice of the two guest rooms. We chose the red room on the front of the building which was fine. There have been reviews saying that it is noisy, and there was some noise from the Vaults opposite one afternoon about 5pm. I think we only heard it becasue all of their (and our) windows were wide open. We didn't hear anything at night, but then the second night we were in their until chucking out time ourselves listening to the band. You may hear the town hall clock which strikes the quarter hour all day and night, but it isn't loud and you soon learn to ignore it.
Breakfast was excellent and Gill and John source local products as far as possible. We liked the sausages so much we went to the butchers down the street and bought some.
All in all a lovely break. We would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrekinhavoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed one night in the Red Room and yes it is quirky but quirky still requires cleanliness. It was okay but needs a good clean and updating. Curtains and rugs grubby. Bath towels need to be white, as does grouting in the bathroom. Wardrobe propped up on odd bits of wood to level it, why not on properly cut blocks? Window onto landing needs a blackout blind as landing light, which is on all night, is quite intrusive. Breakfast - communal table - okay - but indivdual milk, preserves etc please so you don't have to "borrow" the milk jug. Tired, but could easily be sorted.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We loved. The Porch House It dates from1568 and has many original features but provides a modern standard of facilities. Owners John and Gill Lucas gave us a very warm welcome and were friendly and very helpful (Gill lent me her gloves when the weather turned unseasonably cold) without being intrusive. There is one big breakfast table shared by all guests which encouraged some interesting conversations while enjoying the excellent breakfast. John will give a guided tour of the property on request and we strongly recommend taking advantage of this

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here Easter weekend 2012 in The Ludlow Room.
The place was friendly, warm and the bed extremely comfortable.
We chose to opt for breakfast which was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0dgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

A last minute booking for the Ludlow Appartment for the first half term weekend was extremely fortunate. Despite arriving much later than promised we were greeted by Gill on the doorstep and directed to the private parking.

The traditional quirkiness referred to in other reviews suited us very well as did the facilities both in the appartment and in Bishops Castle.
The appartment's modern kitchen with its view of the main street was more than adequate with clean microwave, fridge, electric oven and hob.
The bathroom had been painstakingly restored showing some of the original wattle and dorb on the wall. There was piping hot water and fluffy towels.

My teenage son enjoyed the Wifi and the tv in his room.

We all enjoyed the pubs in BC, the surrounding countryside walking and the free voucher for the Sol Deli situated next door.

I would definitely recommend the Porch House. I look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The only person with the same opinion as me reviewed the Clun appartment last June. We have just spent a week there. Lets start on a positive note , free wifi , clean sheets , powerful shower . As for the rest !! No door on the bathroom (the loo faces the bed -(there is a flimsy curtain) , grey, rough towels , stained bath mat, the toilet flush doesn't always work (when I mentioned it to Gill the reply was 'I know' ) and the shower head is almost impossible to stand under, nowhere to dry towels . The bedroom floor is so sloping the cover keeps sliding off the bed (yes I know its an old house - ever heard of chocks?) The kitchen is poorly equipped ( we were paynig for a self catering appartment) It had one steamer pan ,one milk pan ,one frying pan and a rusty roasting tin. The toaster was filthy. The pub across the road is very noisy , yes it closes at 11pm but the noise of its customers continues much longer -1.30 am one night . The bedroom is above the lower flat's kitchen , so if you are unlucky (as we were) you can be kept awake at night or woken early mornings .
The town itself is great with some really good pubs and restaurants , try lunch in The Castle's beer garden , also the Boar's Head -great reasonably priced food with a lovely landlord.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rambler614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishops Castle hotels
0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
817 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boar's Head Hotel
The Boar's Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bank House Bed & Breakfast
Bank House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Bishops Castle
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Middle Woodbatch Farm
Middle Woodbatch Farm
#6 of 12 in Bishops Castle
32 reviews
0 mi away
The Green Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porch House

Address: 33-35 High Street, Bishops Castle SY9 5BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Price Range: £70 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Porch House Bishops Castle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing