We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasurable wooded retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bishops Castle, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

scantrill...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasurable wooded retreat”
Reviewed 12 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here in autumn,it was really beautiful, quiet and the barn is spotlessly clean,
We found fresh cakes on arrival and Caroline was very welcoming and helpful.
It really is off the beaten track, so star gazing at night time was a real treat.. the first time I’ve ever been able to see the Milky Way..lots of wildlife too including small deers and owls.
Would definitely stay again 5

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review and I very much hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venture68...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unusual but very comfortable Barn with wonderful views.”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

While the Barn at Lower Beach is off the beaten track it's well worth the 2.5 mile single track lane when you arrive. The Barn is well equipped and comfortable with everything one needs for a relaxing holiday including a very comfortable bed and working wi-fi. The surrounding views are stunning with walks from the Barn's location and several NT properties within easy reach. Caroline, the owner, is very friendly and helpful and obviously goes out of her way to make the holiday worthwhile. A very enjoyable weeks holiday

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 May 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review and hope to see you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timhW1595...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secluded, peaceful, rural location and cosy clean apartment”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week exploring the Shropshire Hills with The Barn at Lower Beach as our base.

The location is charming, very rural, peaceful with the only sounds that of the livestock in the fields, the birds and the breeze in the trees. Caroline was welcoming and we had fresh cakes waiting for us when we arrived. The wood burning stove was easy to light and control and kept the apartment toasty warm in the evenings.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the wood burner
Liked least: Small bathroom and in-bath shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review. I hope you will come and stay again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winstonwe...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace and solitude”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a lovely week at Lower beach during the festive period. The natural beauty and peaceful surroundings made this the ideal 'get away from it all' break, which despite the remote location was easy to find thanks to Caroline's brilliant directions!

The cosy accommodation was well presented, tidy and complete with a well equipped kitchen and large comfortable bed. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome, and all our needs were ably catered for during our stay. We were even greeted with some lovely homemade mince pies!

Overall a wonderful country getaway for anyone wanting to unwind and recharge their batteries! Highly recommended!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and solitude of the surrounding area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda_S...
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage in a Stunning Location”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to stay at The Barn at Lower Beach for 4 nights this June to celebrate our Anniversary & WOW it was beautiful. The cottage itself has everything a couple could ever ask for; tastefully decorated & spotlessly clean as well as a full inventory that one would expect to find.

The cottage has a cosy lounge area with a comfy sofa, wood burning fire, TV, DVD & coffee tables which leads on to a dining area with a table for 2 which leads into the kitchen area with a full sized oven & hob, a fridge with freezer compartment, a microwave & even a dishwasher! The kitchen is fully equipped with a full inventory of pot, pans & utensils.

From the kitchen area 2 doors lead off; one to a bathroom with a full sized bath, basin & loo & the other door leads to the bedroom which has a mega-comfy full king-sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers, bedside cabinets & a chair. The bedroom has twin-aspect views; one window looks onto countryside whilst the other is onto woodland.

As you can see from the owners pictures, the cottage itself is along a narrow lane which means that you hardly hear any traffic at all & as it's set-back from the roadside it has a completely secluded location. The views are absolutely stunning unspoilt countryside & all you can hear is the birds singing or the sheep.

Without hesitation I would recommend this property & if we visit this area again I will certainly look to see if The Barn at Lower Beach is available. Thank you so much for a perfect break.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to leave :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your very kind review. I hope to see you both again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lou66Shro...
shropshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here last June for a long weekend. The Barn has everything you need for your stay Caroline has thought of everything,...even leaving us yummy cakes for our arrival a lovely welcoming touch.The free WIFI works well which was good as Orange mobile signal was hit and miss when we went, but we did choose The Barn to "get away from it all" in a beautiful rural setting which is exactly what we got so this was to be expected.There are lots of walks to go on very close by and Quaint villages just a short drive away with nice Pubs and Restaurants to dine in. This is the perfect place to go to relax and unwind, you can do as much or as little as you want to. I recommended it to my 21 year old Daughter and she has just returned from a long weekend there with her Boyfriend and they are already looking to go back soon.So no matter what age you are book a break here you will not regret it.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for your review and look forward to seeing you both again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.