We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of The Poppy House

The Poppy House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishops Castle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Poppy House
Ranked #5 of 12 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I stayed her for a few days with our dog to walk in the Shropshire Hills. Lovely B&B in beautiful old house with great food and very hospitable people. Nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely return and recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed one night in the Poppy House. Full of character! We had a lovely room with a bath.. Lovely decor and a great breakfast. We relaxed in the courtyard after checkout and the owners who were lovely brought us a pot of tea . The poppy house is also a well known Tea Room in the town serving lovely cakes!

Well worth a visit to this hurst house in a fantastic small Shropshire town!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank martininllyswen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Excellent 3-night stay, mainly chosen as a base for walking parts of the Shropshire Way. The Poppy House is a small family-run b&b which has a lot of character and historic features associated with a listed building. People with restricted mobility may have problems and would be advised to contact the owners prior to booking. Light sleepers may be affected by the nearby Town Hall clock chimes, but ear plugs are available.

The position near the top end of the town centre is handy for pubs, shops and other facilities; car parking in the adjacent courtyard is limited, but if the b&b is full parking would be available either on street or in a town car park

The family 'team' are very friendly and helpful.Breakfasts were excellent, particularly the cooked breakfasts. Very good value for money – we stayed on a mid-week 3 nights for 2 deal.

Bishop’s Castle has a good choice of pubs with good food and beer. We ate well at the Boar’s Head, the Three Tuns and the Castle Hotel. The town itself is an interesting place to linger and stroll.The surrounding countryside in this part of South Shropshire is very attractive with a good choice of local or longer walks.

We would return to the Poppy House and recommend to friends.






.

Room Tip: Light sleepers may want to request a room at the rear of the property for less noise from Town Hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I enjoy this week in hotel. I afraid fromsterile and impersonal modern semi plastic cabins, but here was nothing of it. This is beautiful, clean, private and silent hotel with touch of times gone long ago. Service was excellent and not abusive. Surroundings natural and silent. If You are tired from modern world and just want small place of peace - this is for You.
P.S. Breakfast was great - in amount and taste.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uldis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Day 5 of our Lands End to John O Groats cycle and three of us arrived after a tough ride into a northerly wind. It was worth the end of day uphill ride to a superbly located, lovely looking property. First of all our bikes were securely locked away and after a bit of fun booking us in (we got to see all the rooms and they all look superb) my wife and I settled into a very clean, comfortable double room; with our fellow cyclist in an equally clean, comfortable room.

All the family made us very welcome and from arrival to departure made us very welcome, without being 'over' attentive. Breakfast was excellent and again the dining room was clean and the 'Poppy' theme gives the decor and crockery an attractive theme.

Over 16 nights we got to stay in 16 different hotels / guest houses and looking back The Poppy House was up there as one of the very best. And you do not need to be a cyclist to enjoy a great b&b and great location.

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this historic building, the Proprietor is helpful and friendly, the food is excellent, the room very comfortable and spacious.

BC is a fantastic place to visit with a good range of pubs and restaurants including the wonderful Vaults (not your average local) and the excellent food and beer at the Three Tuns. The Shropshire Hills are all around and Wales is just down the road.

Room Tip: This is a very old building and can be a bit creaky! There is some sound from the Town Hall bell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sadie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Poppy House is situated in the quiet town of Bishops Castle. A great place for a weekend away with good walking in the surrounding areas, and also a good stop-over for Ludlow and other Shropshire environs.
We stayed in the Poppy House in March, having also stayed there a couple of years ago.
Poppy House is an old house, parts dating back to the 11th century, managed by Lynn and family in the town centre with easy access to the many excellent local pubs, including two which brew their own beers.
We were warmly welcomed and shown to room 4 which was en suite, spacious and very clean. Although the main attraction of room 4 is a quaint sloping floor with olde creaky floorboards and oak beams. The room also offered a couple of beers and a bottle of wine in a fridge should guests chose to purchase.
Breakfast was a full one with cereals, juice, plenty of extra toast and nicely cooked local sausages and bacon included in the full breakfast plus a choice of eggs. All excellent quality and very well cooked.
We paid £55 per night for a 2 night stay, excellent value for a lovely room in a great position with very friendly owners and I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone wishing to stay in Bishops Castle.

Room Tip: Chose room four as it's lovely and quirky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemeHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishops Castle hotels
0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
841 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boar's Head Hotel
The Boar's Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Middle Woodbatch Farm
Middle Woodbatch Farm
#6 of 12 in Bishops Castle
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bank House Bed & Breakfast
Bank House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Bishops Castle
86 reviews
0 mi away
The Green Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poppy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poppy House

Address: 20 Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Poppy House Bishops Castle, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing