We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“doesnt get worse”
Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Redcar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We went to the Park Hotel in May 2013, to have a family get together for our cousins who were over from Australia.The banquet room was very nice,and very welcoming. As we went to get our carvery style meals we were met for a very angry and aggressive non speaking chef who was slicing the meats. There was one small shriveled up piece of beef on the plate so i asked if i could have a fresh slice from the meat which was on its way from the kitchen .He had no idea what i was talking about and just said "you want meat or no meat" even though the new joint had arrived and the old one taken away. I settlet for ham in the end. Some of our party asked for a small portion of each but were just told the same "meat or no meat" One of the party was given beef when she wanted ham but felt that she had to take what she was given. Then the veg.. oh dear. all the food was only just warm ,soggy veg,yorkshire puddings which were well over done and flat as saucers, potatoes which were full of grease and cold , stuffing which when you went to get some with a spoon the whole lot came out in one big cold lump, top this off with just warm gravy and i think you are getting the picture. When our Auntie complained she was told that last orders were 8 o clock as we were eating at 7 o.clock no more fresh food was being bought out . I would have thought that if you book a meal for 5 o clock you should expect the same quality of meal at 7 o clock the quality should should stay the same and not depend on the time you eat .. We shouldnt have to go out and suffer rude staff,shriveled up, and cold food .Needless to say alot of the food went back uneaten. We had to assure our visitors from Australia that this was not a true reflection of English cuisine. The whole experience was an embarrassment . I am not by nature a negative person and always try to find the positives in life, hiowever i cant think of any positives to say about the park hotel .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank simon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

We have been coming to Redcar for ages but never been to the park hotel before but we now will always be coming hear! The staff we polite and helpful and overall just lovely. We stayed in the Wilton suit and It was huge and gorgeous sea view there were little extras every where you look and it just made it more of a pleasant stay. The food was also incredible and breakfast was just what we wanted as I'm a fussy eater you could chose what you wanted and there was lots of choice. We have enjoyed our stay and have already booked back again for next month. I defenetly recommend the hotel!! Thank you for the pleasant stay :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amylouxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Had the misfortune to eat here recently. The place its self is ok although the toilets have seen better days. We ate in what they call the restuarant, I would say it resembles a canteen with slighly better chairs. The place has no atmosphere and the food at best was poor. We had the carvery which consisted of three types of meat. I choose the beef which was tough and had a slighly odd taste, of the 4 roast potatoes I had picked three were like bullets. The yorkshire pudding was a crisp and the vegetables were so water logged i could have drowned in them. I have awarded 2 stars simply because the staff were pleasant whhc is the best i can say for this place. I will not be going again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raspberryduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We ate here today for Mothers Day. The food is basic but very nice! We had a 3 course carvery for £15 per head, which is very reasonable. The starters were mushrooms, soup, prawn cocktail or melon. The carvery consisted of 3 meats (turkey, gammon and beef today) all perfectly cooked. A good choice of vegetables to suit all the family. There was a good selection of cake type desserts or ice cream for the children. We fed 5 adults and 2 children with drinks for just over £100. I did feel as if we were being rushed slightly but I suppose it was Mothers Day. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mike_Cleasby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I used to go to Redcar for my holidays as a child and my eldesst son decided I needed to see it again for my 60th. We had the triple room - room 9. A good size for three people with a huge bathroom. Very warm room for January without using the radiator so no complaints there. Great friendly staff. Comfortable beds (nice and firm). Breakfast buffet style but all freshly cooked and excellent. Redcar? Well somethings are still there from the 60s and if you half close your eyes you might imagine things have not changed. Miss the stumpy remains of the pier and horrified at the emerging and looming wind farm not that far off shore - why not build it further out to sea? Don't go there to see the 'vertical pier' - what were they thinking? Could have done better with some scaffolding and fibre glass!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EachPeachPearPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Had a meal in the carvery today with a group of friends and very sad to say I was REALLY disappointed. The beef was dried up, the roasts were hard and luke warm, the mushy peas were watery. Not the usual standard. To add insult to injury people couldn't walk between tables because the chairs were crammed together. I think too many groups were crammed into the dining room. I hope the management aren't getting greedy AGAIN. I stopped going once before & I am thinking of giving it a miss again. Shame really I was looking forward to the Christmas season. Never mind I can always eat in Marske.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Grew up in Redcar so know it very well! Stayed for one night at the Park Hotel very recently. The staff are very warm and friendly and the Durham suit was very clean and had a great view of the sea. On the evening we had a meal and a few beers in the bar which was very pleasant and quite busy. If you are wanting to explore the region; Redcar is a good choice, not far from the Moors and the other coastal towns of Whitby etc. Enjoyable stay at the Park and will definitely do it again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcar
5.5 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,526 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
0.0 mi away
Claxton Hotel
Claxton Hotel
#2 of 10 in Redcar
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#2 of 5 in Guisborough
93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpine Guest House
Alpine Guest House
#8 of 10 in Redcar
10 reviews
0.9 mi away
Edwardian house Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Address: Granville Terrace, Redcar TS10 3AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range: £54 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing