We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, clean, great views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Redcar B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, great views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had a great stay in The Park, staff great, good food tasty and good value, clean and spacious rooms with great views. Breakfast was really nice had served until 9.30. Saltburn is only 10 min drive and is a great place to visit. Spot on!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedsHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    44
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
35
46
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent two nights in the Park Hotel and enjoyed every minute. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The food is excellent and the meal deals phenomenally good value. We had two, 3 course meals for £13.95. The food was excellent. We had a room only deal but full English breakfast at £6.50 each seemed a good deal and proved to be so. The hotel stands on the front with a great view of the sea. and adequate parking.

We had a suite - more than enough room to hold a dance. We did find things that could be improved upon. The wash basin for example needs looking at as the taps are in a difficult place to reach and water splashs all over the cheap - sorry but it is - wash stand. But the room was clean, the bedding crisp and such a comfortable bed.

Maybe our room wasn't the cheapest we've ever had on our travels - £75 per night, room only - but I still think we had good value.

We were impressed by the town itself which seems to be trying to combat the recession. I hope it succeeds because the people we met, hotel staff, supper guests and those people whom we met around town (particularly at the Zetland Life Boat Museum), deserve it.

The staff all said, "Do come back." And I think we will.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Went out with the family for a Sunday lunch we were having the carvery not my day didn't have my drink orange and passion fruit j2o so I proceeded to wait in line for my dinner on serving the person in front of me he ran out of the beef I asked for beef expecting them to have more ready but to my horror I was told it wouldn't be ready for another 30 minutes or more so out of a party of 10 I was left on the table with no dinner it made me feel angry and also awkward as I was the only one not eating I won't go back in a hurry

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiethomson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Redcar hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Staff very help full and courteous suite was lovely had a great sea view , breakfast was very nice plenty of food all good quality will go back again. Town centre was walkable it is in a ideal location.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malles531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had personnel reasons for coming to Redcar since I had been born close by and this was the first time I had been back in 50 years. They say you can never go home again and that's certainly true about Redcar what in my memory was a vibrant seaside town has turned into a depressed area that looks like it will never recover.

We had picked the Park Hotel since it looked out to the sea, of course the view is dampened by wind turbines as far as you can see and all the commercial ships on the horizon. The hotel has seen better days, as had the receptionist who never bothered to get off her stool to check us in or even give us more directions other than keep going up the stairs.

The Wi-Fi was very intermittent and very slow when it was working otherwise we have left without bothering to stay overnight. Unfortunately we couldn't get to the website of our next destination to see if they had rooms available that night.

We had dinner in the main bar, your basic bar food which was fine, breakfast the next morning was hot as was the room we ate in.

The room was like the hotel it had seen better days but the bed was at least comfortable.

we left early the next morning with the same receptionist in the same clothes literally throwing our receipt at us, not bothering to say thank you or good bye.

Off to the Caves Castle

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visitorToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just got back from Park Hotel after 3 days attending a family wedding in nearby Marske by the Sea. Rooms very dated and tired, Wallpaper missing and damp patches on the wall. Curtains hanging of the rails and not very clean. Asked for shower when making booking 3 months ago but got a bath instead. Bartroom fittings loose and nowhere to put toiletries or hang up dressing gowns. Warning bells rang when we were asked to pay the bill on arrival. Had we seen the room prior tpo payment I think we would have cancelled. Had to stay there as nowhere else suitable in the area. Very disappointed with the whole experience and will not be going back again!.

Room Tip: View the room before you part with your cash!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheelagh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Well- if you judged this place from the outside you probably wouldn't go in - a lick of varnish on the tatty front door and a few hanging baskets would go a long way...... Once inside, you will be fine if your taste runs to patterned carpets, dark wood, peeling wallpaper and lots of artex. The bathroom shower was virtually unusable, lucky to get a dribble of water out of it ! That gets the worst of the negatives out of the way - the hotel is clean, the staff are very friendly and the food is plentiful , but this is very much pub food and if that's your thing you'll be fine. I would advise being very specific about smoking / non smoking rooms when booking - the first room offered to us smelt like an overflowing ashtray, but to be fair we were moved instantly as soon as we asked. All in all , the place is a bit tired and in need of some TLC , with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff saving this from being a 2 star review.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify smoking or non- smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcar
4.1 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
5.5 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Property: The Park Hotel
Address: Granville Terrace, Redcar TS10 3AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing