We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A successful family event” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Claxton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Redcar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chertsey
1 review
“A successful family event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

We had booked a family suite, family room and standard double for three nights and booked dinner for 17 on the Friday evening for a 90th celebration party. We were put in the small dining room at no extra charge, so the little ones did not disturb other diners and could move about freely. The food was excellent. The service was outstanding. The family room and standard double were clean, great sea views and the double was very roomy. The staff and owner were always willing to help. Only negative - the door hinges could do with oiling because when anyone went in or out early in the morning, it woke you up. Good breakfast. The evening meal
was good quality and definitely value for money. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath, so ask if you definitely need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    42
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
34
63
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

i stayed here with my husband as we were visiting family in the area, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpfull, our room was clean and fresh, we would definatly stay here again in the future

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah_s_12101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Claxton Hotel in Redcar.
I have stopped in a number of Hotels over the years both for Business & Leisure & on this occassion it was a family break with my wife & I together with my father in law who is elderly & disabled. Whilst I have never felt the need in the past to make comment about the standard of a Hotel I do feel that this Hotel should get the recognition it certainly deserves. The quality of the accommodation & food was good particularly given the modest price for room & breakfast. What struck me most of all was the Team of staff working at the Hotel who could not seem to be able to do enough for you. They were all friendly & helpful. The accommodation for my father-in-law was particularly excellent with what appeared to be a newly refitted room with facilities for the disabled with a wide shower access & a special chair for the shower which was provided on request. There were also low level light switches & wide door access

I cannot sing the praises of this Hotel enough. Human nature being what it is means that we are often too quick to be critical if the standard of a product is not good but equally we should be quick to recognise & make comment when the product is of a good to excellent standard.

For me this ticked all the boxes for value for money, facilities & a friendly group of people.
I will certainly be going back & I wish them the best for the future, Mark P West Midlands

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pick3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in the Claxton for a 3 night weekend in July, and thoroughly enjoyed it :)

The decor in our room was dated although spotless with everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable with white crisp good quality linen, very spacious room.

We had 2 evening meals here, and both was lovely, nice home made food. Breakfast each day was wonderful, with no faults.

The Claxton is made excellent by the friendly, helpful owners & staff plus the quality & choice of delicious food.

With the fast, friendly & reliable service and the ideal situation I would recommend the Claxton to anyone, my only regret is our stay was too short!!! We'll be back.

Room Tip: Our double room was lovely, spascious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I only stayed 2 nights at The Claxton and wish my stay was longer. The stay was really nice and so are the staff, in the end I was almost sorry to leave. Upon arriving the staff were very friendly and full of smiles
Entering the room, it was clean and quiet. The bathroom was also very clean.
The bed was one thing that if I could take him home, I would have done , it was very comfortable....
Very tasty breakfast, I love scrambled eggs on a full traditional english and I found it better than what the local weatherspoons had to offer.
Evenings were a pleasure here, they have a choice of 2 bars. 1 huge room and a smaller cosey room - both are perfect for relaxing after a busy day at the seaside. Evening meals were cooked lovely and again all the staff were pleasent.
Pleanty of FREE car parking so my car wasnt just abandond on the local high street.
Would recomend to friends and family to stay here .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyT804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I love staying at the Claxton, The staff are always very helpful and friendly, The bedroom had new carpets, bedding and curtains,with a great view of the beach.Everywhere was clean and fresh. The evening meal was great value for money and the breakfast was more than i could eat.I will continue to visit the Claxton for years to come. Great value for money and a great venue for any function you may need all at affordable prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1SRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Our 3 night stay was 3 nights too many! Two single beds were pushed together to make our double, only two very thin pillows, no lights on the headboard worked (one was hanging off), overhead light was dim and dingy. En-suite was so tiny you had to breathe in to get past the basin to the toilet on one side and shower on the other. No window in there so 'extractor' operated as soon as light put on (it was deafening). Large holes in the carpet in bedroom & en-suite which smelt strongly of urine. Curtains decomposing in places and bedding very suspect!! Furniture falling to bits. Due to very short notice this was the only 'Hotel' that could accommodate us for three nights, I wish we had shopped around a lot more!! Poached eggs for breakfast were microwaved - Yes, true, the waitress told me and the proof was in the eating - small, round, tough, solid discs! Never again will we stay there that is for sure. I advise you not to as well!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms to our knowledge! The Hotel Inspector would have a field-day!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcar
4.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
5.5 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
6.1 mi away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claxton Hotel

Property: Claxton Hotel
Address: 196 High Street, Redcar TS10 3AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Claxton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Claxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing