We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Claxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Claxton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Redcar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay. We are always made to feel very welcome and the staff are great. see you again soon :-) Food was good. Hotel nice and clean. price was very reasonable for the room we had.

Room Tip: Lovely views for the sea and hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    54
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
39
76
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My cousin held her wedding receptions here and we all booked rooms to stay. The hotel is very dated decoration wise, but other than that we had no complaints at all. Our double room was on the small side, but that and the en-suite were very clean. All you need really after a night of dancing in the function room! The food both at the sit down reception and the evening one was lovely....the staff just kept filling up the buffet for us. The DJ was brilliant...he got everybody up and kept the atmosphere going till the end of the night. He even led a large group of us (including the bride and groom) in a long conga right through the kitchens at one point...the staff took it all in their stride and laughed with us. The full english the next morning was perfect and one of the largest Ive ever seen. The staff were once again very efficient and friendly and kept us well supplied with coffee and juice etc. Full marks to the Claxton for making a special event even better!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

visited redcar on business tuesday the 7th may for one night had a single room which was a good size and clean , shower and ensuite were good tea and coffee making facilities also provided . bed very comfartable and flat screen tv , staff and breakfast were brilliant and price was very reasonable

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petertwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

breakfast starts at 06.00 so u get to work on time.reasonable price and friendly staff.showers in room great if working in a dirty environment.plenty eating places in redcar.plenty to eat at breakfast.the hotel also do evening meals at very reasonableprices.unfortunately we missed out because we work long hours.

Room Tip: en suite has great showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We had booked a family suite, family room and standard double for three nights and booked dinner for 17 on the Friday evening for a 90th celebration party. We were put in the small dining room at no extra charge, so the little ones did not disturb other diners and could move about freely. The food was excellent. The service was outstanding. The family room and standard double were clean, great sea views and the double was very roomy. The staff and owner were always willing to help. Only negative - the door hinges could do with oiling because when anyone went in or out early in the morning, it woke you up. Good breakfast. The evening meal
was good quality and definitely value for money. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath, so ask if you definitely need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

i stayed here with my husband as we were visiting family in the area, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpfull, our room was clean and fresh, we would definatly stay here again in the future

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah_s_12101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Claxton Hotel in Redcar.
I have stopped in a number of Hotels over the years both for Business & Leisure & on this occassion it was a family break with my wife & I together with my father in law who is elderly & disabled. Whilst I have never felt the need in the past to make comment about the standard of a Hotel I do feel that this Hotel should get the recognition it certainly deserves. The quality of the accommodation & food was good particularly given the modest price for room & breakfast. What struck me most of all was the Team of staff working at the Hotel who could not seem to be able to do enough for you. They were all friendly & helpful. The accommodation for my father-in-law was particularly excellent with what appeared to be a newly refitted room with facilities for the disabled with a wide shower access & a special chair for the shower which was provided on request. There were also low level light switches & wide door access

I cannot sing the praises of this Hotel enough. Human nature being what it is means that we are often too quick to be critical if the standard of a product is not good but equally we should be quick to recognise & make comment when the product is of a good to excellent standard.

For me this ticked all the boxes for value for money, facilities & a friendly group of people.
I will certainly be going back & I wish them the best for the future, Mark P West Midlands

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pick3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcar
4.2 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
200 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
510 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
5.5 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,464 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claxton Hotel

Property: Claxton Hotel
Address: 196 High Street, Redcar TS10 3AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Claxton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Claxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing