We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fossiling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Claxton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Redcar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Biddulph, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fossiling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel is a little dated so not trendy, But if you want a good old fashioned seeside hotel this is the one for you.

The place is spotless.........you'd be hard pushed to find any dust or dirt. The staff are not just friendly but helpful. They all go above and beyond the call of duty.

The breakfast is fabulous, they don't just bring you a place, they ask you exactly what you want on your plate and your preference for how you like you eggs etc.

I cannot fault the place. We had a great few days.

Room Tip: there isn't a lift, so if you have trouble with stairs ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sh8r0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    42
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
34
63
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My neice held her wedding reception here , so my husband and I booked in for 2 nights.We were lucky enough to have a sea view and as last minute decision to look after her 2 young children the night of the wedding, the staff all of who were efficient and friendly and the mananger went above and beyond the call of duty to enable us to do so with ease.The reception and buffet were lovely and we found the room and hotel spotlessly clean, breakfast of very high standard all for an extremely reasonable cost and would reccomend staying to explore Redcar and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel was well located at the junction of the high Street and the promenade. The check-in was a bit haphazard as there was no reception desk as such. Everything was done in the hallway at the bottom of the stairs. For all that the staff couldn't have been more helpful and were very friendly.
Having spoken to some of the other guests, I get the impression that the standard of the rooms vary considerably. Unfortunately we drew the short straw. The room itself was just about big enough but there was little furniture to take up the limited space. There was no wardrobe, just a hanging rail to one side of the two single beds pushed together to make a double. We had a smallish window overlooking the car park and the local car wash.
The bathroom was tiny, Just wide enough to get a small shower tray in and a quarter size sink. (No Bath). The decor was a bit dated, white painted woodchip throughout but it was spotlessly clean.
The full English breakfast was excellent. All freshly cooked to order with no skimping on the portions. Actually one of the best I've had in this class of Hotel. The cereal selection was limited and there was no fruit on offer (There was fresh orange juice)
We didn't make much use of the public areas other than to have a couple of drinks in the bar. The prices where very good. There was no evening entertainment during our stay.
There was one really nice touch. I ordered some flowers for our arrival as it was our Anniversary on the Sunday. After a bit of a false start they did arrive on the Sunday and the Hotel gave us a bottle of Champagne, delivered to the room with the flowers.
I've stayed in plenty of budget hotels of this type, and although this review may sound a bit scathing, The Claxton is pretty good, you just need to get the right room. Pay a bit extra for a family room with a Sea view and you won't go far wrong.
I doubt that we will return but that is no reflection on the hotel. We just found Redcar to be a strange resort. It would only be to attend the horse racing.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a family room with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicho54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very pleased with my stay at the Claxton. The room was clean and well appointed and the bathroom was nice. The menu looked good, although I didn't eat, and breakfast was served from 7am, even on a Sunday.

The room was quiet and I slept very well. However, I wasn't aware that they move boats from the yard behind by tractor early in the morning, which woke me up, but that wasn't the hotel's fault.

The price was incredibly reasonable and I'd happily stay there again if ever I need to be in the area.

Room Tip: If you're at the side of the hotel facing the boats, you'll need to keep the window closed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Would like to give very good but let down was the size of the room a double bed in what i would say was a single room, The on-suit bathroom was great small but a nice and very clean shower and toilet one little let down was only 2 normal size bath towels with no bath sheets or flannels, The staff ?? Bravo to them all well done team and the breakfast was fantastic cooked fresh,Good location as well, if i was to stop longer than 2 nights would want a bigger room .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groundman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

There were 5 of us, (grown up family, age 45-70's), that came up from Windsor to stay at the Claxton for the w/end, and we couldn't have wished for a better hotel. The breakfast was excellent and saw us through the day! Rooms were lovely and clean with a great sea-view. Even though hotel was full up and a wedding going on, it was amazingly quiet and heard no noise through the night! Staff were brilliant and very friendly and helpful. It made a perfect weekend for us all and will definitely stay again next time we come back to Redcar. Fantastic prices for the time of year too!! Thanks Claxton!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndel1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for two nights and found the staff could not be more helpful. The room was clean with lovely sea view. Food was excellent and the price £50 00 for two each night very resonable. Very quite, comfortable beds we would definatley go back to the Claxton hotel.

Room Tip: Sea View large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcar
4.2 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
5.5 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
6.1 mi away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claxton Hotel

Property: Claxton Hotel
Address: 196 High Street, Redcar TS10 3AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Claxton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Claxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing