We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“possitivly good April 12 - 15 2011”
Review of The Central

The Central
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Central
Ranked #10 of 10 Redcar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We have just spent a few days at the Central and pleasant it was too. The staff was friendly and helpful, the food was on time hot and cooked. The shower was hot with clean towels each day as well as the bed made and the bins emptied. We saw ten other guest’s there whilst we were there. So if you listen to the negative reviews on this site it makes you wonder if they stayed at this hotel! We cannot praise it enough. Thank toy to all the staff for making a few days rest even better thank you. DB

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radio_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2011

We stayed here for 1 week. The service was fantastic.
No matter what we requested David and his staff were only too happy to help us.
I will stay there next time I am in the area

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wombat469r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I can only repeat what most other reviewers have said – stay away! This is worst hotel I have EVER stayed in. A large brown stain marked the bottom wincyette sheet, the shower was filthy with no soap. Virtually nowhere to hang clothes in the musty-smelling room which did have a TV – which could only be watched by lying down on the bed. The general lack of cleanliness made me reluctant to eat the breakfast offered. If there was a way of giving a zero marking, I would have gven it. I’ve told my boss I’ll resign if he ever books such terrible accommodation again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazyjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

What you see is not what you get!!!!!!!!!‎ - ‎ - 2010-09-25
On our arrival we were informed that there wasn,t an ensuite room available that we had booked.We were shown the only available room they said they had got, which we had no choice in taking as we had gone for the races and only had an hour to get changed, so did not have time to look else where,the room had damp on the ceiling, the tiles were coming off the wall above the sink and the shower had black mould growing on it, the only other shower and toilet was across the corridor, also everywhere smelt of stale tobbacco even though it was a non smoking hotel. We asked for compensation but was told the owner was away on holiday and the lady looking after the hotel said the owner was reasonable and thought he would compensate us.
We waited 3 weeks for him to get back and telephoned him about our compensation, but he was mad that we had given the hotel a bad review on Trip Advisor, he said he would think about the compensation if we retracted our review but we have photos of our room. He openly admitted the room should not have been in use, but we still have not recieved any compensation.PLEASE STAY AWAY,

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank regadea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Is there any way to rescind the stars that the Tourist Board left for these folks? I swear, they must have stolen the placard off of another hotel, because this place was THE WORST HOTEL/B&B IN REDCAR!
This dump smells like 30 years of smoke, the stained bedding had not been washed and also smelled like smoke, there was mold in the shower, stained crusty rugs everywhere, peeling wallpaper, the sink dripped, tiny TV that barely worked, no internet, and noisy street outside. The windows had not been washed since the (100 Years) war (or that may just be the gray miasma of Redcar).
Plus it had the nastiest, smelliest owner/manager to boot! (When asked if there was a non-smoking room the nasty troll first pretended to be deaf and then said: "all rooms are non-smoking,. Just don't smoke in it." )
The only thing that it lacked was hot and cold-running hookers.
STAY AWAY! (Redcar is a dump, too)
You are better off sleeping in your car and it would be less noisy, too. Plus it was expensive, too.
Can I say anything good about it?
We only had to stay in Redcar for one night
And, to be truthful, I did get a laugh: You know how most places will have their awards framed and on the wall to show the visitors? In the dingy ("smoke-free" but you had to go through the smoke cloud left by the manager smoking in the hall) breakfast room there was a framed award: Dated 2006 from the Redcar Health Inspection Service and with 2 stars out of 5 for Cleanliness. Wow. Are we proud of that or what?

Needless to say we considered having just cereal, but decided that it was too risky and just left.

My skin still crawls!

So I give you:
10 reasons not to stay at the Central Hotel of Redcar
1) Rudest owner/manager I have ever met
2) Smoking everywhere in the hotel
3) Torn, stained, burned rugs
4) Stained and smelly linens
5) Moldy showers
6) Peeling paint
7) Misleading Tourist Board placard and sign (self-proclaiming that they are the 'best small hotel in Redcar- if so they are the ONLY small hotel in Redcar)
8) Stiff, worn towels that smelled like the rest of the hotel
9) As expensive as a good hotel (15 minutes away are fine B&Bs in Saltburn)
10) It's in Redcar

Seriously, the Tourist Board and health Department should visit this place and close it down , it is a dump (actually, it gives dumps a bad name).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pyromomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The sign outside states "Probably the Best Small Hotel in The Area" it also proudly displays the 3 English Tour board Rosettes!
Walking through the door the first thing to hit you is that the Hotel smells like an ashtray we had a no-smoking room (it is the law?) but were supplied with an ashtray. After a long day we needed a nice hot cuppa but although there was no water in the kettle there was plenty of furry mould inside!
Breakfast was stone cold and we could only have our eggs scrambled if "I wasn't too busy".
The TV - Sound card not working!. The relatively new shower tray was installed incorrectly and made me feel like I would either be seasick from the motion or fall right through it!
We were actually here on business and on our return on Saturday night our room had not been made over, no doubt too busy scrambling eggs;-)
Seriously how this gets the only 3* rating in Redcar beats me and the other hotels must be little more than doss houses.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Model_Tree_Shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Stayed for two nights B & B the Hotel seems to be run by one man who does'nt seem to be up to the job. On arrival we were given our key and directed to our room which was just about adequate, We enquired about the time for breakfast and were told any time we liked (which was good as we wanted to be off early). During our first night at about 4.30 am the fire alarm started ringing so we went down to the reception and found some other guests there but no hotel member, we loudly knocked on his door and got no answer. One of the other guests rang the police who notified the fire brigade,as the noise was intense we waited outside the hotel, after about 15 minutes the hotel manager appeared saying he was a bit deaf and didn't hear the alarm!
The breakfast next morning was an english breakfast where the bacon was half cooked,
So for our next morning we said we would like boiled eggs instead, we came down to the dinning room at 7.30. as arranged to find it deserted ,so we made some tea ourselves and started our cereals, after about 15 minutes the manager arrived saying he had over slept .The boiled eggs eventually turned up on a plate without egg cups.
We chose this hotel because it look good and was a very good price but afterward wished we had payed a bit more. All of what I have writen is fact without any exaggeration.l

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucian52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redcar hotels
0.1 mi away
Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
0.2 mi away
Edwardian house Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 10 in Redcar
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Claxton Hotel
Claxton Hotel
#2 of 10 in Redcar
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbey Guest House
Abbey Guest House
#1 of 2 in Redcar
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Alpine Guest House
#8 of 10 in Redcar
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central

Address: 44 Queen Street, Redcar TS10 1BD, England (Formerly Central Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing