We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and welcoming”
Review of The Central

The Central
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Central
Ranked #10 of 10 Redcar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Just stopped for the weekend, rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast was Full English with a plenty of options. The usual cereals and unlimited toast and coffee. Maxine served with a smile and chatted happily and entertaining. Situated just off the High Street and a short distance from the beach. We will be returning late July.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_PingpongDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

The bad reviews for this place are a complete opposite to our experience!
The warm welcome we received from the staff, not to mention how helpful they were in regards to things to see and do! The room was clean, the towels fresh and the bed linen was perfectly fine!

The staff were very flexible in regards to our breakfast time and the food itself was delicious and perfectly cooked. I was never disappointed.

Okay, this is not a Hilton, but it does not pretend to be either. It is reasonably priced for what it is and is above average when it comes to hotels of a similar calibre.

I will use this hotel again when I visit beautiful North Yorkshire!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibDan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

very nice hotel . very comfy and very clean nothing was to much trouble for the owner dave he was very friendly and helpfull . the room we had was very spacious and lovley decorated could not fault it in any way the breakfast was great . and of good quality . would stay there again and will recomend this hotel to any one who needs a few days away from home . thank you for a welcome stay .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bacardi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We have just spent a few days at the Central and pleasant it was too. The staff was friendly and helpful, the food was on time hot and cooked. The shower was hot with clean towels each day as well as the bed made and the bins emptied. We saw ten other guest’s there whilst we were there. So if you listen to the negative reviews on this site it makes you wonder if they stayed at this hotel! We cannot praise it enough. Thank toy to all the staff for making a few days rest even better thank you. DB

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radio_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We stayed here for 1 week. The service was fantastic.
No matter what we requested David and his staff were only too happy to help us.
I will stay there next time I am in the area

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wombat469r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I can only repeat what most other reviewers have said – stay away! This is worst hotel I have EVER stayed in. A large brown stain marked the bottom wincyette sheet, the shower was filthy with no soap. Virtually nowhere to hang clothes in the musty-smelling room which did have a TV – which could only be watched by lying down on the bed. The general lack of cleanliness made me reluctant to eat the breakfast offered. If there was a way of giving a zero marking, I would have gven it. I’ve told my boss I’ll resign if he ever books such terrible accommodation again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazyjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

What you see is not what you get!!!!!!!!!‎ - ‎ - 2010-09-25
On our arrival we were informed that there wasn,t an ensuite room available that we had booked.We were shown the only available room they said they had got, which we had no choice in taking as we had gone for the races and only had an hour to get changed, so did not have time to look else where,the room had damp on the ceiling, the tiles were coming off the wall above the sink and the shower had black mould growing on it, the only other shower and toilet was across the corridor, also everywhere smelt of stale tobbacco even though it was a non smoking hotel. We asked for compensation but was told the owner was away on holiday and the lady looking after the hotel said the owner was reasonable and thought he would compensate us.
We waited 3 weeks for him to get back and telephoned him about our compensation, but he was mad that we had given the hotel a bad review on Trip Advisor, he said he would think about the compensation if we retracted our review but we have photos of our room. He openly admitted the room should not have been in use, but we still have not recieved any compensation.PLEASE STAY AWAY,

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank regadea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redcar hotels
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 10 in Redcar
181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Claxton Hotel
Claxton Hotel
#2 of 10 in Redcar
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edwardian house Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Guest House
Alpine Guest House
#8 of 10 in Redcar
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
0.1 mi away
Abbey Guest House
Abbey Guest House
#1 of 3 in Redcar
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central

Address: 44 Queen Street, Redcar TS10 1BD, England (Formerly Central Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing