We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If all you require is a bed to sleep in and cooked breakfast then can't go wrong here”
Review of The Central

The Central
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Central
Ranked #10 of 10 Redcar B&B and Inns
Europe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If all you require is a bed to sleep in and cooked breakfast then can't go wrong here”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Not the most upmarket accommodation but then again if you were expecting a spa then you'd expect spa prices. The room had a bed and shower and tv, this suited my purpose perfectly. Had a cooked breakfast and it was really nice. The decor wasn't great but for what I paid I didn't have 5* expectations. The parking and location were good

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    2
    2
    20
See reviews for
5
9
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

What a perfect accommodation. We were on a cycling weekend and needed three en suite rooms and a place to lock our bikes away over night. We got three basic, en suite rooms with modern bathrooms and lovely hot showers. The rooms were clean and with an up to date TV. There was also a kettle with tea and coffee. The hotelier and his wife couldn't do enough for us. The bikes were locked in their garage over night and this lovely couple also arranged parking badges and served an impressive full English. Thank you for a lovely stay. Martha King

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martha5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed at the Central last month, as I do when I am working in the area. My usual choice of a single room was not available and was given a free up-grade to one of the doubles in the hotel.
Clean,centrally heated and en-suite the room had a large flat-screen T.V. with 'free-view' A free WI-Fi connection was available - so I had no need to leave the hotel for my evenings entertainment.... The breakfast was the usual 'Full English' ( others available ) cooked and served with a smile by Dave's beautiful Thai wife Sha. Parking my car was no problem and there was a 'smoking area' for those who require one, What more do you want ????
Makes me wonder if some of the people commenting on the Central have actually stayed there.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

MY friend ralph stayed at the central and they looked after him no probs,room was very clean breakfast well all u wanted full English or fruit cereals the lot dave and family veryfriendly did some washing/ironin for me room was cleaned daily would recommend to all

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlefatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place is a dirty, smelly and a poor excuse for accommodation. We booked online and had to pay half upfront. After looking at our room we didnt even bother to stay it was dreadful under no circumstance book to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Redcar hotels

Durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We booked in this B&B in December for two double en suite rooms and paid by debit card, I had not received receipt so called again and gave e-mail address and we received confirmation of booking and payment. We turned up on the day ready to go straight to ladies day at the races after we dropped bags off only to be told by this abrupt scruffy man (when we eventually found him) that the contractors had requested an additional night so he had let our room go to them, he would not listen to reason at all and simply was not interested in our reasoning that it was booked and paid for and we were having a well earned break. He then wrote a cheque out to re-imburse our costs, when I pointed out that another B&B would not take a cheque he simply said it wasn't his problem, and pushed us out of the building, there were ashtrays full to the brim all through the building, it was unclean and in disrepair, please do not stay here, we left Redcar and returned home as all other B&B's were fully booked.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. The location is excellent for Redcar, easy for local transport and a short walk from the sea-front. The hotel is dated in its decor, but it's clean and comfortable, and the service is friendly. The room rate also includes breakfast - the full English is excellent.

If you're expecting the Ritz, you will be disappointed. But this is a nice guest house, and given the price, it's excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redcar hotels
0.6 mi away
Claxton Hotel
Claxton Hotel
#2 of 10 in Redcar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 10 in Redcar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edwardian house Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Alpine Guest House
#8 of 10 in Redcar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lakeside
The Lakeside
#4 of 10 in Redcar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central

Property: The Central
Address: 44 Queen Street, Redcar TS10 1BD, England (Formerly Central Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing