We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic chippy!”

Oliver's Fish & Chips
Ranked #3 of 94 Restaurants in Redcar
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Oliver's Fish & Chips is a long standing business which has operated in the Redcar area for over 30 years, formerly known as Russell's Fish & Chips. The current owners, Michael & Helen Roberts, purchased in the business in 2011 and decided to rename the business Oliver's after their only son.Oliver's Fish & Chips has both Takeaway & Restaurant areas and operates Monday through to Sunday, during the hours of 10am-8pm.
Reviewed 26 March 2019

Stopped by for chips on a day trip to Redcar. This place is obviously good because the queue to sit in and eat was quite big for a cold March Sunday. We did takeaway over the road. This was equally busy but the staff are excellent at getting orders out quickly so the wait wasn't too long. The chips were to die for. Will definitely come back here next time we're in Redcar. They have vegetable oil frying days too.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Owner at Oliver's Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Hi Melanie,
Thank you for such wonderful feedback for the crew in our Takeaway, both sides can be very busy and the crew are more than experienced to handle these days.. we are so pleased you enjoyed your chips ... please dont die for them lol however do come back we would love to see you again.
Kindest regards,
Helen Roberts - Owner/ Oliver's Mammy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2019

On a recent walking day with friends we came across this cafe and decided to have lunch. Although the place was very busy we managed to get a table in an upstairs room.
There were eight of us all seated at the same table. Six of us had the special cod and chips which came with tea & bread & butter, the other two had haddock.
Everything was really nice and we will certainly use this place again.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 186380KennethB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Owner at Oliver's Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Dear Kenneth,
Thank you for your time in writing such a lovely review, we are so pleased you were happy with the service and the fact that we can accommodate a large party such as yourselves. We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon and if you wish to book a table in advance please ring the crew on 01642 477520.
Many thanks!
Helen Roberts - Owner/ Oliver's Mammy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2019 via mobile

As a family we often go to Saltburn when we want to sit down in a fish&chip restaurant. We have been disappointed a few times and so decided to try somewhere new. After reading many positive reviews, we decided to try Oliver’s and we are so glad we did! Thoroughly impressed with the quality, speed and service. Will definitely return!

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank eloisel473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Owner at Oliver's Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Dear Eloise,
Thank you for your review and feedback, yeah we are so pleased we have you as a new customer and a regular one for the future.. thank you so much for your review and your time writing this wonderful feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon and if you wish to book a table on the day of your visit do ring us on 01642 477520 at 10am and we would be more than happy to assist.
Many thanks!
Helen Roberts - Owner/ Oliver's Mammy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2019 via mobile

Really good fish and chips Great restaurant too the staff are friendly and helpful and there is a good atmosphere we always go here when we come to redcar

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank kirstyw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Owner at Oliver's Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Hi Kirsty,
Wow what a lovely review for our restaurant crew, such wonderful feedback and we are so pleased we are your 'go to' spot in Redcar.. see you again on your next visit!
Kindest regards,
Helen Roberts - Owner/ Oliver's Mammy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2019 via mobile

Excellent friendly staff, excellent high quality fish and chips, great value for money, highly recommended!!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Owner at Oliver's Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

Thank you Geoffrey your time in writing such a lovely review and we are so pleased we have ticked all 5 stars for you, see you again soon from all the crew at Oliver's!
Kindest regards,
Helen Roberts - Owner/ Oliver's Mammy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oliver's Fish & Chips also viewed

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Redcar, North Yorkshire
 
Redcar, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Oliver's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.