We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best fish and chips in the UK ”

Oliver's Fish & Chips
Ranked #3 of 94 Restaurants in Redcar
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Oliver's Fish & Chips is a long standing business which has operated in the Redcar area for over 30 years, formerly known as Russell's Fish & Chips. The current owners, Michael & Helen Roberts, purchased in the business in 2011 and decided to rename the business Oliver's after their only son.Oliver's Fish & Chips has both Takeaway & Restaurant areas and operates Monday through to Sunday, during the hours of 10am-8pm.
Reviewed 18 May 2019 via mobile

We travel a lot around the UK and other parts of the world and this was honestly the most crispy, delicious, non-oily fish and chips I’ve ever had. Beautiful flavor, crunchy batter, tasty mushy peas and wonderful curry sauce. 100/10 will be back again!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank mlj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Owner at Oliver's Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2019

Dear mlj87,

Wow thank you for such a wonderful review and for your time in writing this review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall visit and found every item of food to your satisfaction - see you again on your next visit!

Kindest regards,
Helen Roberts - Owner/ Oliver's Mammy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2019 via mobile

Yesterday I went to this chippy for dinner. I wanted chips & curry but they had ran out of curry, so I settled for gravy.

The chips were nice but I was 50/50 on the gravy, I then had to pay 10p for a decent fork. I would return another time and buy something else.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank ViporDeathBlade1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Owner at Oliver's Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2019

Dear ViporDeathBlade1983,

So sorry for the delay in responding to your view - however thank you so much for your time in writing your review and for giving us your feedback.

Sorry at the time of you visiting us we had just ran out of Curry, I am sure the crew would of been in the process of making fresh which can take some time. Sorry you were not 100% on the gravy but when you do visit us again we have a wide selection of items available for you to choose.

In relation to the price of our recyclable forks, they do come at a cost of £0.10p however this is to aid us in our drive forward to make 'Redcar plastic free'.

See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2019 via mobile

We visited on bank holiday Monday, we queued outside to wait for a table as it was rammed. Once we got in we did wait a while to be served our food but this is to be expected on such a busy day. The batter was light and the fish fresh and tasty. One suggestion though, there was an air freshener in the upstairs dining room (the type that sprays every few minutes) this was not pleasant when eating and messes with the taste buds.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Leopard1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Owner at Oliver's Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2019

Dear Leopard1212,
Thank you so much for your review and feedback regarding your recent visit to us on Easter Bank Holiday Monday, yes it was a busy day and a busy weekend. We are so pleased we managed to get you in and so happy you felt we were worth the wait. Your feedback regarding the batter and fish is lovely to read, so again thank you.
Also, thank you for your feedback regarding our air freshners - they are there to try and eliminate the fish and chip smell lol.... however I will review them and ensure this does not affect your visit next time.
Many thanks!
Helen Roberts - Owner/ Oliver's Mammy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2019 via mobile

I’ve tried here three times before writing the review, because it is highly rated on this site so felt I must be missing something. Well no, I was right, it is overrated. Compared to other fish & chip places in the area it cannot be said to be value for money. I’ve ordered large cod and whilst it might be long, the fish inside is so thin. Chips were very average and portions of peas are very small. They freshly fry the fish then plonk it on top of the chips so all the fat from the fish drains on to the chips, not ideal. It’s also probably the most expensive in the area. No won’t be going back again. Found a much better one that sells a good thick piece of jumbo cod, chunky chips and large peas all for more than £3 less than charged at Olivers.

Date of visit: March 2019
3  Thank Renardyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Owner at Oliver's Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2019

Dear Rimmerz,
Thank you for your review and your feedback, so sorry you have felt we are 'overrated'. In relation to other fish shops in the Redcar and Cleveland area, we are definitely NOT the most expensive - we can assure you this as we do pay attention to our competitors and ensure to be in line with them. If you do feel we are expensive in comparison, it would only be 5p and no more than that.
We do weigh and cut our fish fresh everyday and quality control is ensured, we are sorry you felt the large cod was thin and long - we will pass your feedback onto the fryers and especially the counter assistants as we do instruct them and have trained them rigorously to allow the food items to drain for 30-60 seconds a time to ensure the fat has drained as well as can be expected when frying food in fat.
So sorry you wont be visiting us again and if you can get cod £3.00 less than us, we need to know their suppliers as they must be getting Cod extremely cheap or we would question 'are they actually selling cod'?
Many thanks once again, and if you do change your mind and wish to visit us again we would happily welcome you back!
Kindest regards,
Olivers x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2019 via mobile

We called in at Olivers when we visited Redcar for the day. It was an absolutely fantastic experience. The staff are very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to help us. The atmosphere was brilliant and the food was excellent to. If you don't want to eat in they have a takeaway outside where you can enjoy the same quality of food to take away. Prices are good value for money.

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank K8100AOdavidj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R, Owner at Oliver's Fish & Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Dear K8100AOdavidj,
Thank you so much for your time writing this review... it is so pleasing to read your review and to hear that your overall experience when visiting our restaurant was second to none - I will relay your feedback to the crew and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kindest regards,
Helen Roberts - Owner/ Oliver's Mammy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oliver's Fish & Chips also viewed

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Redcar, North Yorkshire
 
Redcar, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Oliver's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.