We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stylish clean rooms”

Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
Ranked #1 of 11 Redcar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“stylish clean rooms”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Lovely single room, very clean and I think the hotel inspector would approve of the decor, very calm and tasteful.
Got a lovely welcome, lots of helpful information and advice on local amenities (where to get great Guiness and live music)
Very hot weather so a fan in my little room would have been appreciated and could have done without being disturbed by noisy neighbours.
Happy to recommend this for single travellers and families.
very near to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your very kind remarks. Hope you pop in for coffee should you re locate to Redcar.
Good luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    29
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
62
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Went there for a long weekend to visit family and was very happy with both the accommodation and the owners.

Gill & John run a very clean and welcoming guest house which is kept spotlessly clean and well equipped with comfortable rooms and comfortable beds.

Breakfast was superb and definitely not to be missed however my only criticism if you could call it that would be to maybe have a longer breakfast time for us sleepy heads. Other than that we would certainly return there without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your very kind remarks. The pleasure was ours. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingbirchworth
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The people who own the guest house are friendly but it is very much a business. The rooms are very tired and the bathrooms smell of sewers because of the type of system it is, but some air fresheners would help with that and not be so off putting. The worst thing was the colour of the bedding which seems such a small thing really, but dark brown sheets and tired, very old duvet covers made me itch to look at them. Nothing indicated that the rooms were unclean but they did not feel that clean because they looked dark and "brown". If the owners invested in some new crisp white bedding and some cheerful quality, coloured throws, it would work wonders. The carpets were very utility which doesnt feel great on bare feet, so take slippers. Some air fresheners would also improve everything too. The breakfast was excellent. The down stairs is very nicely re-furbished and the owners obviously take a huge amount of pride in their guest house.

Room Tip: Take your own pillows, bedding and some air freshner, go in hungry for breakfast. Take some slipper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoyaIngbirchworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your comments about the great breakfasts. It was such a shock to discover that there was a foul smell emanating from your en suite and you didn't tell us about it !! We would have cured it in a jiffy!! It is nothing to do with the type of system. Likewise, your bedding colour could have been changed had you asked. Some of our duvet covers have faded, which is why we bought 50 new ones two weeks ago, however, to say they made you itch to look at them is ridiculous, as they were, and are always clean and freshly laundered. By the way, we also bought new pillows before your review. Had you requested a replacement pillow, you could have gladly had one.

Sorry to hear that your feet are sensitive, however, you could have used the slippers and indeed the dressing gown provided in your room. Please get your facts straight before misrepresenting our business.
Lastly, but by no means least, I would say that you are the first reviewer (out of 90) not to give us five points for cleanliness- very odd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Had a fabulous time at this five star abode. Went for Redcar races, and the great welcome set the tone. Gill was so friendly and welcoming to both of us and our dog, Lucy. Our room was beautifully finished, the bed was comfy and it was lovely and warm. Andy said the complimentary cookies were wonderful (unfortunately, I didn't get a chance to sample them). Breakfast was superb and the service was excellent. Will definitely go back and can recommend a stay there. Well done Gill you're a star. The beach was really handy and Lucy loved her runs. Nice and handy for a really old fashioned pub, The Pig and Whistle

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thanks for that. It was a pleasure having you here. Good luck with the horse racing, looking forward to seeing you all sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcourt, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Attending a friends' wedding is one of the many good reasons one can have for visiting England. Both the night before and the night after did I stay at the Armada Guesthouse, and it could not have been a better experience. I had read all those rave reviews, so expectations ran high, but everything fit the bill just perfectly. I've hardly ever seen a cleaner place to stay (nor hardly ever seen a larger cat). Full English breakfasts are another good reason for loving the UK. Gill's version kept me going all day. Many thanks. Five stars. At least.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for kind comments.So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a pleasant journey home. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have been workinging in the area. Gill the owner could not do enough. Very polite, the rooms are very clean and the decor is nice. The breakfast is second to none. We will defiantly stay if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winfieldhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

It's hard to find a good guesthouse that takes dogs and has a room for a small family of three. If this is what you are looking for then the Armada offers this and with the much appreciated bonus of a great breakfast. The dining room, kitchen and bedrooms were very clean, immaculate and to a very good standard. Maybe the only thing letting it down was the dated bedding as the rest of the room was modern and clean. The pillows were a bit thin and hard and we could have done with better air conditioning as we were fortunate enough to have good weather. Overall Redcar is a great base for the Yorkshire coast and the North Yorkshire moors so we are likely to be back as this guesthouse provided very good value and the hosts were really lovely.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Smurray66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It is a pity you didn't mention the pillows whilst you were here as we would have changed them for you. We endeavour to meet the needs of all our guests. We do consider the bedding to be quite contemporary - it was purchased only a few years ago, however beauty is in the eye of the beholder as they say! We are a little confused regarding the "better air conditioning" observation as we have none installed. There is, however, and opening window and a thermostatic control valve on the radiator in all rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcar
4.8 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
159 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
475 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
413 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
0.2 mi away
Edwardian house Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Guesthouse, Redcar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Guesthouse, Redcar

Property: Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
Address: 28-30 Henry Street, Redcar TS10 1BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Armada Guesthouse, Redcar 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Armada Guesthouse House is the ideal destination for visiting family or friends, walking the Cleveland Way, admiring our wonderful North East coast line or venturing over the stunning heather landscape of the North York Moors National Park. Situated only one hundred yards from Redcar’s beach, many rooms have a seaview. Whatever you choose to do, on your return you will be able to freshen up and walk into the town, where you will find lovely restaurants and many bars within a two minute walk. You might like to stroll along the promenade on your way back to get some sea air. In 2006, the new owners, John and Gill began an extensive program of renovation to this splendid Victorian town house, and have currently completed thirteen of fifteen rooms, each with a warm and inviting atmosphere. A full range of rooms ranging from economy singles to luxury family en-suites is available, with prices to suit all pockets and tastes. We are also well equipped for the discerning business traveller as we offer free wireless internet access, digital LCD television, welcome tray and legendary breakfast, voted by our residents, the best in the North East. Huntsman, Ensus, Sembcorp, Invista, Uniqema, Dow, Advansa, Artenius at Wilton International are all within a 6 or 7 minute drive, as are Corus and Teesport. Within five minutes walk is Cleveland Golf Club. Established in 1887, the course is the only true links course in Yorkshire and is also one of the oldest courses in the county. The course offers easy walking and is a fair challenge to players of all abilities. The club has hosted many county and professional events and is the home to the amateur scratch competitions the Cleveland Salver and the Mid Amateur International. All major credit cards, including American Express, and debit cards are accepted. Please note that charges apply: 50p for debit cards and 3% for credit cards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing