We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the top ten”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
Ranked #1 of 10 Redcar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I came across the "Armada" at the Redcar tourist office.The house is two houses turned into one building,and is very well decorated and furnished.
Gill,the joint owner greeted us on arrival,and is a very friendly and welcoming person.
Our room was on suite and very comfortable and very clean.Breakfast was wonderful,very nicely cooked and a lot of it, John,Gills husband assisted with the breakfast.
Parking on the road requires a permit which is available from Gill.
I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your extremely kind remarks. It was a pleasure having you both here. We hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

A brilliant stylish with a tasteful moden decor guesthouse. Gill was a very welcoming and helpful hostess. comfortable clean and neat., with a filling well prepared breakfast. You car'nt go wrong choosing armada guest house. Top marks from Philip,,,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thanks for taking the time and trouble to send a review. It's much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This guesthouse was such a lucky find. Gill was very welcoming and immediately made us feel at home. She had prepared iced water and fresh milk for our arrival, which was very thoughtful. The room was small, but we knew that when we booked. The decor was very fresh and the room was spotlessly clean. There were bathrobes and slippers in the room should we have needed them. She gave us some very helpful advice about where to get an evening meal. The breakfast portions were substantial and everything was freshly prepared and cooked. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

i came to the UK to visit someone dear to me, and even if i had only booked a room for the day at the Armada, Gill's service was so friendly and accommodating..i explained to her that i had to leave early the next day and she offered to pack me a lunch, well it was a feast..i trully enjoyed my stay in the UK, and i highly reccomend the Armada Guesthouse..thank you, maelee

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marske25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for your very kind remarks. Glad you had a safe journey home and hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Armarda guesthouse is possibly the best I have ever stayed in. The hosts Gill and John are a genuine friendly couple who take pleasure in all they do. Immaculate throughout, lovely rooms and beautiful breakfast, all cooked with quality ingredients. There is a ground floor accessible room. I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. It's always a pleasure to see you and Brian. Hope to see you both again soon. take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Lovely single room, very clean and I think the hotel inspector would approve of the decor, very calm and tasteful.
Got a lovely welcome, lots of helpful information and advice on local amenities (where to get great Guiness and live music)
Very hot weather so a fan in my little room would have been appreciated and could have done without being disturbed by noisy neighbours.
Happy to recommend this for single travellers and families.
very near to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your very kind remarks. Hope you pop in for coffee should you re locate to Redcar.
Good luck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Went there for a long weekend to visit family and was very happy with both the accommodation and the owners.

Gill & John run a very clean and welcoming guest house which is kept spotlessly clean and well equipped with comfortable rooms and comfortable beds.

Breakfast was superb and definitely not to be missed however my only criticism if you could call it that would be to maybe have a longer breakfast time for us sleepy heads. Other than that we would certainly return there without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for your very kind remarks. The pleasure was ours. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redcar hotels
0.6 mi away
Claxton Hotel
Claxton Hotel
#2 of 10 in Redcar
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 10 in Redcar
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edwardian house Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abbey Guest House
Abbey Guest House
#1 of 3 in Redcar
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Guest House
Alpine Guest House
#8 of 10 in Redcar
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
A.2.Z. Guest House
#1 of 2 in Redcar
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Guesthouse, Redcar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Guesthouse, Redcar

Address: 28-30 Henry Street, Redcar TS10 1BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range: £49 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Armada Guesthouse House is the ideal destination for visiting family or friends, walking the Cleveland Way, admiring our wonderful North East coast line or venturing over the stunning heather landscape of the North York Moors National Park. Situated only one hundred yards from Redcar’s beach, many rooms have a seaview. Whatever you choose to do, on your return you will be able to freshen up and walk into the town, where you will find lovely restaurants and many bars within a two minute walk. You might like to stroll along the promenade on your way back to get some sea air. In 2006, the new owners, John and Gill began an extensive program of renovation to this splendid Victorian town house, and have currently completed thirteen of fifteen rooms, each with a warm and inviting atmosphere. A full range of rooms ranging from economy singles to luxury family en-suites is available, with prices to suit all pockets and tastes. We are also well equipped for the discerning business traveller as we offer free wireless internet access, digital LCD television, welcome tray and legendary breakfast, voted by our residents, the best in the North East. Huntsman, Ensus, Sembcorp, Invista, Uniqema, Dow, Advansa, Artenius at Wilton International are all within a 6 or 7 minute drive, as are Corus and Teesport. Within five minutes walk is Cleveland Golf Club. Established in 1887, the course is the only true links course in Yorkshire and is also one of the oldest courses in the county. The course offers easy walking and is a fair challenge to players of all abilities. The club has hosted many county and professional events and is the home to the amateur scratch competitions the Cleveland Salver and the Mid Amateur International. All major credit cards, including American Express, and debit cards are accepted. Please note that charges apply: 50p for debit cards and 3% for credit cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Armada Guesthouse, Redcar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing