We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The jewel in Redcar”

Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
Ranked #1 of 11 Redcar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The jewel in Redcar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Had a one night stay here and loved it,very clean and spacious room nothing was too much trouble for Gill,the breakfast was 1st class and plenty of choice,this topped our week off thankyou.Will deffinatly recommend the Armada and will call again next time Scunthorpe are riding at Redcar

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paulamoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. Love to see you again. Hope your team wins next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    29
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
62
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

As a contracting welder I have stayed in plenty of B and B all over the country, but I have to say, this is by far the best I have stayed in. Gill was ever so friendly and even made a lovely packing up every day for me as I was on night shift. From free wi fi, free parking permit, the soft bathrobe and slipper sets, hair dryer , bottled water, and the nice choice of tea and coffee, I could not fault the extra touches that made my stay so enjoyable . My room was spotlessly clean and fresh. Gill even invited us to her private birthday party bash downstairs for drinks, but unfortunately we were on nightshift and could not make it. Absolutely brilliant B and B and would highly recommend for business or pleasure stay in Redcar . Thanks Gill for looking after us :-))) x
John from Hull.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Smilerjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you very much indeed for the brilliant review. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic B and B , the best I have stayed in. My room was spotless and very comfortable . Loved the little extras,the fluffy bathrobe and slippers, the hair dryer , and the very tasty biscuits . Gill was very accommodating and seeing as I was on nightshift, even made me a lovely packing up everyday to take to work. 10 out of 10 to an excellent stay in Redcar.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Smilerjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Super comments - thanks a million:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We arrived two hours early but his wasn't a problem as our room was all ready! Gill gave us some real milk to go with the real coffee in the room, which was very much appreciated! We stayed with our two little sprites in the family room and I have to say, it was fantastic! Everything was lovely, clean and fresh! Blue towels for the kids, white for the adults! Decor and atmosphere were spot on! TV with lots of channels, nice big shower. I cannot rate it enough. Gill and her hubby (sorry I forget his name!) could not do enough for us and the breakfast was beautiful! Every tiny detail was thought through! We will definately go back! Loved it :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you all again in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here with a colleague for business. Previously had a bad experience at another B and B near by. Armada was excellent very friendly and helpful. Throughout was top class decor - I have stayed in 3 star hotels that are not as good. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed for one night. Lovely guesthouse, spotlessly clean and the owner was very helpful and friendly. Great nights sleep, no noise whatsoever. We just felt the breakfast time was a little early at 7am-8am...we were on a leisure trip and thought that a more reasonable breakfast time would have been 7am-9am.

Room Tip: Standard double is on the small side...choose a superior double
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. Sorry you found breakfast time too early. We run it later at weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for one night, it was extremely well presented and spotlessly clean. The choice of breakfast was very good, we had the full english, it was great, beautifully cooked and the staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keldrew2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaRedcar, Owner at Armada Guesthouse, Redcar, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you here. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcar
4.8 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
7.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Guesthouse, Redcar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Guesthouse, Redcar

Property: Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
Address: 28-30 Henry Street, Redcar TS10 1BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Armada Guesthouse, Redcar 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Armada Guesthouse House is the ideal destination for visiting family or friends, walking the Cleveland Way, admiring our wonderful North East coast line or venturing over the stunning heather landscape of the North York Moors National Park. Situated only one hundred yards from Redcar’s beach, many rooms have a seaview. Whatever you choose to do, on your return you will be able to freshen up and walk into the town, where you will find lovely restaurants and many bars within a two minute walk. You might like to stroll along the promenade on your way back to get some sea air. In 2006, the new owners, John and Gill began an extensive program of renovation to this splendid Victorian town house, and have currently completed thirteen of fifteen rooms, each with a warm and inviting atmosphere. A full range of rooms ranging from economy singles to luxury family en-suites is available, with prices to suit all pockets and tastes. We are also well equipped for the discerning business traveller as we offer free wireless internet access, digital LCD television, welcome tray and legendary breakfast, voted by our residents, the best in the North East. Huntsman, Ensus, Sembcorp, Invista, Uniqema, Dow, Advansa, Artenius at Wilton International are all within a 6 or 7 minute drive, as are Corus and Teesport. Within five minutes walk is Cleveland Golf Club. Established in 1887, the course is the only true links course in Yorkshire and is also one of the oldest courses in the county. The course offers easy walking and is a fair challenge to players of all abilities. The club has hosted many county and professional events and is the home to the amateur scratch competitions the Cleveland Salver and the Mid Amateur International. All major credit cards, including American Express, and debit cards are accepted. Please note that charges apply: 50p for debit cards and 3% for credit cards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing