We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fab stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armada Guesthouse, Redcar

Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
Ranked #1 of 11 Redcar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yarm, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fab stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

My partner and I decided to stay at the Armada, as we were off to a wedding and wanted to stay somewhere close to Saltubrn. All I can say is what a lovely place. Gill was there to greet us with a lovely smile. The room, even though was small as Gill stated on the phone - as I booked it at the last minute, was lovely and comfortable will all the amenities. Breakfast was ace too! A wonderful selection to choose from and cooked to perfection. I would stay here again, even though I kind of live not too far away. Its a home from home place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank em201143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    29
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
62
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

Stayed at the Armada for one night in a single room and the cost was £30. The room whilst small was very well furnished, with thought and attention given to the decor. Although some refurbishment was taking place in part of the building when I stayed, the room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. I thought the place was very comfortable and I had a good night's sleep with very little noise being heard throughout the building or outside in the street.
Hosts Gill and John were very friendly and they were quick to offer suggestions for local restaurants if I wanted to eat out the night I arrived. In the morning John cooked a lovely breakfast and the coffee was superb. There was a little bar downstairs which although I didn't use, looked like a nice place to enjoy a nightcap.
This is a really good option for the business traveller, I just hope everyone else doesn't cotton on so that there's a room available when I need it in the future!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernMinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

Was working in the Redcar area for over 4 months. Gill and John are so friendly and made me feel like part of there family. Was sad to leave them Breakfast is awesome. There are B&B's near bye, which are substandard. But if you want comfort and clenliness plus good food. The Armada is for you.

Many thanks again Gill and John Luv Steve xxx

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lloydychesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

The Armada is a 15 bedroomed guest house some 150 yards from the beach. We tried to book with the Armada earlier in the year but it was full - we couldn't understand why - now we know! Our ensuite room had been completely refurbished as had virtually all rooms and provided excellent accomodation. It provided all that was needed, was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was plentiful, well cooked and presented. Gill and John are very welcoming proprietors and work extremely hard to provide an excellent service for their guests. I thoroughly recommend this guest house if you are in the area

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clockmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Stayed in the Armada guesthouse with my 9 month old daughter. Although there had been some confusion with my booking (by laterooms not the hotel) they were very welcoming and accommodating to me and my young daughter.
The room was clean and modern and had everything I needed. very comfortable bed, shame I had to share it with the little one!
A great place to stay and I would reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucybobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

Gill and John were excellent hosts made us feel very welcome during our stay. We would recomend this guest house as a great place to stay whether for business or pleasure.
Thanks you
The three lads from Traffic Systems.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186364Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Very friendly welcome even at 10pm, clean and tastefully decorated room. Breakfast was excellent quality butchers sausages and bacon (thick) all perfectly cooked. B& B close to the sea which we could hear raging on arrival. The B & B is being systematically redecorated/ updated and did not impact on our visit at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hornet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcar
4.8 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
7.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
0.2 mi away
Edwardian house Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Guesthouse, Redcar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Guesthouse, Redcar

Property: Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
Address: 28-30 Henry Street, Redcar TS10 1BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Armada Guesthouse, Redcar 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Armada Guesthouse House is the ideal destination for visiting family or friends, walking the Cleveland Way, admiring our wonderful North East coast line or venturing over the stunning heather landscape of the North York Moors National Park. Situated only one hundred yards from Redcar’s beach, many rooms have a seaview. Whatever you choose to do, on your return you will be able to freshen up and walk into the town, where you will find lovely restaurants and many bars within a two minute walk. You might like to stroll along the promenade on your way back to get some sea air. In 2006, the new owners, John and Gill began an extensive program of renovation to this splendid Victorian town house, and have currently completed thirteen of fifteen rooms, each with a warm and inviting atmosphere. A full range of rooms ranging from economy singles to luxury family en-suites is available, with prices to suit all pockets and tastes. We are also well equipped for the discerning business traveller as we offer free wireless internet access, digital LCD television, welcome tray and legendary breakfast, voted by our residents, the best in the North East. Huntsman, Ensus, Sembcorp, Invista, Uniqema, Dow, Advansa, Artenius at Wilton International are all within a 6 or 7 minute drive, as are Corus and Teesport. Within five minutes walk is Cleveland Golf Club. Established in 1887, the course is the only true links course in Yorkshire and is also one of the oldest courses in the county. The course offers easy walking and is a fair challenge to players of all abilities. The club has hosted many county and professional events and is the home to the amateur scratch competitions the Cleveland Salver and the Mid Amateur International. All major credit cards, including American Express, and debit cards are accepted. Please note that charges apply: 50p for debit cards and 3% for credit cards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing