We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stayed a few days and loved every min” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clarendon Hotel

The Clarendon Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Redcar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Redcar
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stayed a few days and loved every min”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

stayed a few days and loved every min, owners and staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. it's also gay friendly too ;-) very clean rooms and bed was comfortable too, great place for bikers to stay ;-) will be back for our next stay very soon ...x

Room Tip: we had a room at front of hotel which we enjoyed watching what was happening outside pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    9
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
14
5
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Having had Sunday lunch here before and always been satisifed we decided to pay another visit.
The place wasn't particularly busy, few regulars and some people eating so we went to find a table and ordered.
When the food eventally arrived (almost 45 minutes after we ordered, and we weren't the only ones moaning about the long wait). The Roast Beef was lovely and so was the Yorkshire pud, sadly thats where the loveliness ended - The Mashed potato was so lumpy I doubt if it had ever seen a masher it was also cold, as was the cabbage. I noticed too that they have started to charge for a 'Gravy Boat' - surely you should put enough Gravy on your customers dinners that they dont need extra gravy, one customer nearby asked and paid for a gravy boat and it took that long to arrive not only was her dinner cold but her hubby had long finished his. The family at the next table were moaning too about the service and the food and left a lot of food on their plates - when they left I heard the lady say to her hubby 'well that was ****' - another disappointed customer ! Well Clarry, you've also got more disappointed customers here because we won't be coming back either !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoggylad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClarry, Owner at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am only disappointed that you couldn't contact us at The Clarendon by letter or email or phone to air your views and give us a chance to investigate what had clearly gone wrong on that occasion you visited us. As you point out you had visited us before and always been satisfied which suggests you have visited more than once so may have concluded that this was not normal service. After investigation we have reprimanded staff and had to dismiss another and wish we had the opportunity to rectify the situation to yourself but as you will not be visiting again I can only apologise and make sure it doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here last year and loved it, Russ and the family did everything to make our stay the best break we ever had- so we came back!

Fantastic breakfasts, and when our eldest showed an interest in our sausages Russ whipped a couple up for her as well to go with her toast- and had the same ready each morning afterwards :-)

The room was great, very spacious, and the lady on housekeeping was so friendly, which you hardly ever see nowadays- she even popped a few extra hot chocolate sachets in for my wife! The bathroom was dated, however that was actually one of the reasons we came back- it reminded me of my Grandad's bathroom, making it seem more homely. And for what it lacked in decor, it makes up for in space, including on the sink which had ample room for toiletries.

Although I never got a chance to eat dinner here this time, if it's anything like last year then you will be in for a treat if you visit- do not miss out!

I may have "forgotten" that there was karaoke on the nights when I booked- never mind! The noise doesn't travel far from the main bar, so the kids can still sleep soundly. It was just a great place to be, and we are looking forward to visiting again next year if not sooner!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjsmoggy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stopped by for the night whilst attending a family party in town! It was the friendliest service i could have asked for and the room was tidy and clean. You could not have asked for better home made food n a great atmosphere! Brilliant traditional pub! The Sunday dinner was perfect and cured my hangover well, the staff couldn't have been more accommodating!

Room Tip: Room 5 was perfect although was not a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah198223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Very clean and tidy hotel, Russ and Sarah and there staff could not do enough for us and went out there way to help all in our party who attended. Food fantastic and great value
Will be there again next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms our party were good. Rooms 1, 4 good family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank digger0373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

When visited the Clarendon to have sunday lunch, we were greeted by the friendly staff, who took our order. The service was prompt and the food was of excellent standards. It is the next best thing from home-cooked food. They serve good sized portions as well as piping hot homemade yorkshire puddings! Seasonal vegatables that they included were fresh and well cooked.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hove, england
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Nice home-cooked meals. Nothing fancy but just what you need on a cold winter's day. There is even a fire to cheer you up. Dishes include pies, roasts, liver and onions, and fish and chips. On the subject of chips, they are hand-cut and DELICIOUS! ! The best chips I've had in a while. Prices are very reasonable and weekday deals include 2 meals for £7 from a specials menu. All the dishes I have mentioned are included.
The staff are super nice too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makeminealargeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcar
5.7 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
4.6 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
6.2 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
7.6 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Property: The Clarendon Hotel
Address: 2 High Street, Redcar TS10 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Redcar
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing