We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best we've had in Redcar.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springdale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Springdale House
Ranked #2 of 11 Redcar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best we've had in Redcar.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at Springdale house on 30th August 2013. It is a lovely place, the attention to detail is second to none and the furnishings and décor are top of the range all over, everything is clean and tidy, breakfast is absolutely lush and it's in a superb position overlooking the cricket club and the cricket field. Lovely beds, lovely shower and lovely landlady, Jan. We've stayed in other Redcar guest houses, this is our number one. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Front room has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mousey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
35
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

If you're visiting Redcar, don't look elsewhere. This has it all. Large room, in my case overlooking the cricket ground. Good breakfast. Attentive host. Also a good Inn a stone's throw away, with good food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just had a 2 night stay at the Springdale which was above and beyond all expectations. Its a long time since we had break in the UK but due to illness could not go abroad so we were on a downer to start with. However once inside this beautiful house and after meeting Jan we felt right at home and all thoughts of further lands went. The double en-suite room interior was of a very high standard and spotlessly clean, breakfast was excellent and due to its location a good quiet relaxing couple of nights sleep was assured. Parking was easy, again thanks to Jan who seems to have everything organised and makes you feel very welcome in her house. We will be visiting her again and we would not hesitate to recommend Springdale House to anyone who may be considering a stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chatsworth090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Recently stayed at Spingdale House and it is the best accommodation I have stayed in for a while, it is very clean ,cosy and the hospitality was excellent I would highly recommend Springdale House.Jan is a wonderful landylady who would do anything to make your stay as comfortable and welcoming as possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Beautiful house with very nice rooms. Very comfortable bed. The shower was not very powerful but, like the rest of the house, immaculately clean. The landlady was warm and welcoming. Good breakfast. Close to the railway station. Nice complimentary toiletries and drinks. Faultless.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darlomaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed at Springdale House during week of 15th April 2013 for two nights. I arrived late and Jan was on hand to welcome me to my room. I stayed in the double room and could have slept in that bed my whole stay - so comfortable. The en suite bathroom was small but perfectly adequate bathroom. The guesthouse is immaculate, stylish with first class attention to detail. Added extras include super soft bathrobes and of course Sky TV as well as free wifi. I have the appetite of a sparrow so the full English breakfast was wasted on me. Did love love love Jans homemade granola and sweet prunes with natural yoghurt (left with a container full for the journey home!). Jan is a great host - incredibly socialble and funny too. we had a good ole natter putting the world to rights. For runners out there, Springdale is a stones throw a way from the beach so don't forget your trainers!!! Definitely would return if needed, even if its just for a break away from home and cuppa and a catch up with Jan. well worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ateamladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

This superb guesthouse is worth visiting simply for a break away from home. It is luxurious without being intimidating. Jan the landlady is very friendly - even coming to the end of the road to look out for me, which in the dark, after a long train journey was most welcoming! The guest house is a short walk from the station. The rooms are private, quiet and clean. The full English breakfast was sustaining without being overdone. The decor beautiful. I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: I had single occupancy of the double room en suite. Luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckets8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcar
4.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
5.7 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Claxton Hotel
Claxton Hotel
#3 of 11 in Redcar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Edwardian house Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#4 of 11 in Redcar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Alpine Guest House
#9 of 11 in Redcar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springdale House

Property: Springdale House
Address: 3 Nelson Terrace, Redcar TS10 1RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Springdale House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Springdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing