We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't have the steak....”
Review of Fresco Bistro

Fresco Bistro
Ranked #42 of 129 Restaurants in Los Alcazares
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't have the steak....”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The pizzas looked great and that is wahat enticed us into this place. We ate from the set menu, all I can say is, don't go for the steak. Tough as old boots. We should have gone for the pizza.

One other thing, their air-con is on the same feed as the Hotel 525, so if it's hot in the restaurant (which it was) and the hotel doesn't have the air-con on (which it didn't) you will roast.

Overall, not a very pleasant experience, but maybe we were jusy unlucky.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alcazares, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Have been to this place in previous times and all good.
So we took some friends to also experience the food. Big Mistake.
As this last visit was so very very bad.
My husband had Menu of the Night. It was all good.
I had from the main A La Carte Menu.
Starter: a prawn cocktail. A Glass full of chopped lettece, blob of rose marie sauce and 3 peeled prawns.
Main, 9 Euros: an Orthentic Moussaka. A small tapa type dish. It consisted of cooked CHIPS on the bottom then bechamel sauce with afew courgettes, more cooked CHIPS with melted cheese on top. It was the worst dish I have ever had. It was truly, definitely NOT a Moussaka !!!
I did inform the waitress.
Dessert 4.50 Euros: fresh fruit salad. A small dish which had 3 sliced pieces from an orange and 2 slices of kiwi fruit.

We actually felt that there was not a 'Chef' in the kitchen.

At the least, because the meal was so so poor that we would have expected a reduction on the bill.

I have had much better menu del dias, for a lot less Euros !!!!


I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JLBRITT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Great Service”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Fresco is a brilliant restaurant on a street that has many terrible ones! We have had pizza that is as good as any authentic ones in Italy, fabulous steak, gorgeous fish and it is well presented with yummy side dishes if you want them. The service is attentive and friendly and the staff speak a range of languages. We dined here twice this year and it is now our favourite restaurant by far!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikegirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

What I found about Los Alcazares is that a lot of the restaurants use the set menus to bring customers in and they dont actually exist. What is refreshing about this restaurant is that the set menu isnt just good value but also of high quality.

I had the steak, which although small was cooked well and tasted great. The rest of the family enjoyed their food too.

The only downside was that two locals came and sat on the table right next to us and were smoking none stop. We have a new born baby and a 3 year old so you would hope the staff would help. They didnt speak English (the smokers) so I couldnt get far with them. It was early as well so there were plenty of other tables they could have taken.

I would certainly recommend this restaurant to friends in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spongebange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Super family restaurant, great pizza and pasta”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Great restaurant on the main pedestrian throughfare in Los Alcazares. Open 7 days a week, we had lovely pasta and pizza dishes, good value for money and friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fresco Bistro also viewed

Los Alcazares, Region of Murcia
Los Alcazares, Region of Murcia
 
Los Alcazares, Region of Murcia
Los Alcazares, Region of Murcia
 
Los Alcazares, Region of Murcia
Los Alcazares, Region of Murcia
 

Been to Fresco Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing