We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
John B
Manchester, England

Location, value for money & free parking

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Sept 2019
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment here for 4 nights in September 2019. Great location two streets up from the seafront where there is a long esplanade along the Mar Menor with various beaches, bars and restaurants. The apartment was well equipped and a good size with separate bedroom, living/dining room with balcony, bathroom and kitchen. OK the bathroom is a bit cosy but it works.
We hired their bikes for a day at a cost of 10 euros each per day and rode along the seafront which is a great way to see the resort. Strictly speaking there is no cycling on the esplanade but everyone does it – and on one occasion the police were moving the cyclists off, but not in an aggressive way.
They also have a secure and free parking plot about 5 minutes walk away which means you don’t have to try to find a space on the nearby streets. The key for the parking was in our apartment so it is possible to drive to the building, paying attention to the one way system (!), check in, drop the bags and then park the car up.
The ladies who run the building are lovely and contactable by phone when not there – some speak English, others only Spanish.
Nearby is a well stocked Carrefour Express and a cafeteria called Panarea – they do a very reasonable breakfast and the menu of the day is worth a go at 6.95 euros each including a drink.
If you have transport and fancy a great lunch, a trip to MardeSal Restaurant at Playa de la Llana, San Pedro del Pinatar is a must and you get to see the flamingos on the salt lake nature reserve on the way.
Date of stay: September 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.1 miles from Apartamentos Margoysa I
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.1 miles from Apartamentos Margoysa I
Free Wifi
Beachfront
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £69
  • Algotels
1.2 miles from Apartamentos Margoysa I
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Apartamentos Margoysa I
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
0.1 miles from Apartamentos Margoysa I
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £124
  • Booking.com
1.3 miles from Apartamentos Margoysa I
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
0.0 miles from Apartamentos Margoysa I
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.2 miles from Apartamentos Margoysa I
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Apartamentos Margoysa I
amplio dormitorio y extenso armario, abundantes perchas, cama supletoria en aparador
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.5 miles from Apartamentos Margoysa I
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Los Alcazares
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
9
11
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
11
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in a 2 bed appt here. Appt is basic but very clean and bedrooms are large with excellent large built in wardrobes in them. Balcony is small with basic table and chairs - more substantial table and chairs are indoors. Blue bucket on balcony needs frequent emptying if you run the aircon (only runs in lounge area). There is a tv with only Spanish channels but it has HDMI port on the back. Nearby is a supermarket and there is a decent size fridge freezer in appt. The beach is 100 paces away and is clean with loungers for hire €4 a day & there’s a nice little bar here selling snacks too. Bikes are available for hire thro reception.
The staff were super helpful here we had early flight out & late flight back and they helpfully stored our luggage and arranged a taxi for the airport (€15).
Recommend basic continental breakfast served just along beach at La Encarnacion €3.70 for 2. La Tropical round the corner is great for dinner.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 81splaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

My friend and I came for a long weekend and loved it.

The apartment is basic but has everything you needed for your stay. Plenty of wardrobe space and storage, two good sized bedrooms, one double, one twin.

The lounge leads on a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs overlook the other buildings.

There is a kitchen and a good size fridge freezer. The bathroom has a small square shower cubicle, this was not too much of an issue for us.

The free WiFi had excellent reception.

The TV does not have a DVD player but does have a HDMI port to link to your tablet.

The apartment is very clean and smelt fresh on arrival too. The air conditioning works really well and there is a bucket on the balcony that you need to empty for this.

Upstairs above the apartment they had a laundry room although we did not use this facility.

The staff here are very friendly, approachable and helpful, they really where fantastic. Nothing was too much. They had even sorted out the taxi to the airport before we had asked. They also allowed us to store our luggage after checkout, as our flight was not until the evening and checkout was by 12 noon.

Bike hire is available through reception. We asked and the bikes arrived within the hour! Such brilliant service.
Oh yes, I nearly forgot, Bike hire is €8/€10 per day.

The apartment is about 100 paces from the beach.
The beach is lovely and has a cafe and bar right on the beach. A jug of Sangria is €12 and I highly recommend it.
There are sunbeds for hire at €4 per day and limited parasols but we always got one when we went down between 10 and 11am.

The apartments are situated in the old town, which is more traditional and you are mixing with the locals and eating in traditional Spanish restaurants.
Further down towards Los Narejos at the other end of Los Alcazares, nicknamed by the locals as Brit Ally, which is great if you want English bars and food. This was a 15-20 minute walk along the beach, although google maps stated 30 mins.

Will happily be back here to stay in these apartments.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SLT38
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Arrived at the Margoysa after 9pm on the Sunday night and after getting dropped off by our taxi around the corner from the entrance we were pointed in the right direction by the friendly Spanish neighbours who lived opposite. As the front door was locked & reception closed we accessed the key in the key lock positioned by the front entrance. We had been provided with the code and our apartment number prior to our departure from the UK.

Apartment:
We were in apartment 14, a one bedroomed apartment on the first floor looking out over the side street where we were dropped off. Both the living room and bedroom were a very good size, however the kitchen and bathroom were the smallest we've ever come across. Saying that for a week’s stay for just the two of us they did the trick as long as we didn't want to be in either of them at the same time. The shower cubicle was extremely small - my wife a UK size 10 & myself 5' 10'' & 11 stone max just managed with the size but anybody bigger would struggle. The apartment was extremely clean - bedroom & living room nice and bright with basic furniture. Kitchen and bathroom dated but functional. Air con is in the living room and we hoped it would cool the bedroom too however it wasn't quite powerful enough to manage that effectively. The area was having a heatwave while we were there so maybe this was partly to blame. The small balcony off the living room overlooked the side street and was just big enough to sit and have an early morning cup of tea or an evening drink. The chairs were not the most comfortable of balcony furniture. Because the aircon unit was positioned here you were blasted with hot air, so the aircon needed to be switched off if you were going to try and sit out. Also the bucket that catches the condensate needs to be emptied regularly. We hadn't realised that there would be no cleaners coming into the apartment while we were there so we had to manage with the same towels and sheets for the week. No big hardship but I think the towels could stand up on their own by the time we left!! We emptied the bin ourselves by using the large bins just outside the Marina club on the beach.

Staff:
When staff/reception were around they were very helpful - we had a problem with the aircon unit being very noisy during the night and that was sorted within a couple of days (after a couple of phone call reminders!). Bikes were hired from reception for a day, unfortunately mine had a problem with loose handlebars 1/2 hour into our ride. After a couple of phone calls a new bike was brought to me by the guy off reception - brilliant service.

Location:
Apartments are in the old part of LA no more than 50 metres from the beach - we were even provided with two free sunloungers by the cleaner on our first day. Position wise the apartments couldn't be better - close to a couple of small supermarkets Carrefour & Spar and a variety of bars and restaurants to suit all tastes. Can recommend Momentoes, San Antonio & Terra Mare (all on the beachfront). If you want something more “holiday” orientated then head up to the area behind Hotel 525. Lots more bars & restaurants in this area but a lot more commercialised which you should expect with this area being in the middle of a number of hotels and holiday lets. Can recommend Rosalind’s Roof Garden and Herbs & Spices. We used the little land train that sets off from the square close by the apartment and does a circuit of LA a few times of an evening. We did this once and walked the other time. Would definitely recommend hiring bikes (10 euros/day). We cycled right along the front reaching parts we would have struggled to get to on foot, eventually reaching marshland that had wooden boardwalks running through. Once we cycled through this we reached a neglected beach backing onto a campsite with caravans and that was as far as we could go. Cycled back but diverted now and again to look at the different areas of new build at this end of LA.

Would we return to the Margoysa – definitely yes but only for a short break. Missed not having more outside space to chill first thing in the morning & before heading out of an evening

Room tip: Ask to be away from the stairs. Apts 14, 15, 24 & 25 will be the quietest
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We booked two apartments in this block and both were beautifully clean and well equipped.They are a 15 euro taxi ride from Murcia airport and if you're after a beach holiday then you don't need a car.

They are apartments for people who just want somewhere to sleep and maybe cook and eat a basic meal. There is no swimming pool, no daily maid and no manned reception.Be sure to take a phone with you because when you get there you''ll probably need to ring to get someone to come along and book you in and give you your keys.

Having said that, you are about 30 seconds from a lovely, well-cared for beach, with a number of reasonably-priced beach cafes to provide breakfast and lunch. The sea (Mar Menor) is shallow and gently shelving and very safe for swimming.

This is the quieter, undeveloped part of Los Alcazares but there are plenty of good restaurants and shops and the place is popular with the Spanish and not awash with British food.

We had a great time and will probably go back again soon.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank frez128
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Went here with family. The apartment was very clean. It had a little balcony which was good for smoking or sitting outside and enjoying a drink.
The apartment was spacious and had modern furniture. It is only 50 m from beach and there are lots of dinning options close at hand.
The only drawbacks with the apartment was
a- bathroom very small
b- it was a bit stuffy but with window open sound resonates in the narrow streets below so can be a bit noisey.

Apart from this all good and represents good value for money.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rodr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews