We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb B&B that ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Canard au Parapluie Rouge B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Celon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A superb B&B that ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just returned from four great days with Martin and Kathy and not forgetting their lovely Labrador Ruby. We stayed there with our son and daughter in law to explore that part of the beautiful Loire valley. Martin and Kathy are wonderful hosts. Their warmth and generosity of spirit permeates the whole house, creating a wonderful ambience. This is seen particularly at meal times, enjoying Kathy's lovely cooking and great conversation with people from many nationalities. We would concur with all the positive comments on this site, they are well deserved! A bonus for us was the daily itinerary that Martin planned to help us get the most out of our stay. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Caring and committed would sum up their approach. Many thanks from Jim & Jean

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jambar504022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
97
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Following a recommendation, my wife and I booked an overnight stop on our way to our place in Spain. We wished we had stayed longer. Kathy and Martin made us so welcome and were wonderful hosts throughout our short stay. Kathy cooked a great meal using home grown vegetables and delicious rhubarb picked fresh by Martin in their lovely garden. Our room was beautifully maintained and decorated. Breakfast was good quality and very filling - just what we needed to start the day on our travels through France. This peculiarly named B&B offers superb customer service, ideal for dog lovers, as Ruby (their adorable dog) greets guests and visiting canines with great enthusiasm! We will definitely return!!

Room Tip: The Manor Suite has a lovely four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David528764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We so wanted to stay here again that we altered our holiday dates to get a room. We always try to have two nights here at the beginning of our holiday as it is so relaxing and dog friendly with plenty to see and Martin is always happy to advise on new dog walks. Kathy continues to demur over her cooking ability but it is always excellent.
Friendly, ever helpful and a joy. So much so, that it is tempting to put in negative reviews so that we can get a booking for next year! But I just can't do it. Kathy and Martin deserve their popularity.

Room Tip: The West Indies room has just had the bathroom redone and has the advantage of dual aspect windows t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EWTG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We simply cannot recommend this beautiful b and b enough! From the moment we arrived, neither Kathy nor Martin could have done anymore to make us feel welcome. The grounds and the rooms are lovely and we enjoyed our stay so much that, although we hadn't planned to, we booked it for our return journey home. Kathy cooks lovely evening meals which are sociably shared around a table with other guests, creating a fun start to a holiday. These excellent reviews really are justified. I just hope we get the chance to visit again. Thank you so much Kathy and Martin

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous. You are spoiled for choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We decided to stop on the way to Bordeaux, as TripAdvisor has rated it so well, and we are so happy we did! It was the best B&B we have ever stayed in by a long way and has definitely earned it's rating of excellence. Kathy and Martin (and their adorable dog Ruby!) are so lovely and hospitable and really made the experience enjoyable. Beautiful house, delicious food, great atmosphere. To accurately describe how great it is, this post would be incredibly long, so just trust the reviews and you will thank yourself later. We can't wait to make an excuse to go back soon! Thank you Kathy and Martin!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

There aren't enough superlatives to describe the experience of staying with Kathy and Martin.
Just read all the other reviews.We had two wonderful nights there with two lively dogs,and the hosts showed such patience.Food,drink,hosting,rooms,total experience perfect.We will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The first time we stayed at Le Canard was for 1 night on the way south. We have now stayed there many times - each time for longer! Kathy and Martin are lovely people and wonderful hosts, and do everything to make their guests welcome and happy. The food is superb, the atmosphere could not be friendlier, and the rooms and beds are really comfortable. It's a gem!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GravesendFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celon
4.9 mi away
Le Cheval Noir
Le Cheval Noir
#1 of 2 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
153 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manor de Boisvillers
Manor de Boisvillers
#2 of 2 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
79 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Prieure
Le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Saint-Marcel
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
L'Escapade
L'Escapade
#1 of 1 in Le Pechereau
60 reviews
4.5 mi away
Auberge Hotel des Artistes
Auberge Hotel des Artistes
#1 of 2 in Gargilesse-Dampierre
52 reviews
3.7 mi away
Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes
Berrychone Chambres d'Hotes
#1 of 5 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Canard au Parapluie Rouge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Canard au Parapluie Rouge B&B

Property: Le Canard au Parapluie Rouge B&B
Address: 3 allee des Rollets, 36200 Celon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Celon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Celon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location off the auto-route A20 in the Center region near Argenton sur Creuse. Le Canard B&B where a warm welcome awaits you-charming & cozy, a great spot for overnight or stay & explore this fantastic region of France. Evening meals with ingredients from our kitchen garden, families and pets are most welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Canard au Parapluie Rouge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing