We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didnt want to leave”
Review of Anakao Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anakao Ocean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Anakao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Anakao Ocean Lodge has real attention to detail. The speed boat transfer is a stylish way to arrive. The bungalows are beautifully designed and comfortable with massive bathrooms. The staff are unbelievably friendly and attentive, trying to make your stay a pleasure. The wind does limit your activities a little so you learn to relax and unwind. Food is delightful!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent two nights at Anakao ocean lodge and loved it. The service was great and the location is spectacular. If you go don’t miss Nosy Ve and the whales (if it’s the right time of year). We had the most incredible whale watching experience. Make sure you visit the town too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had an enormous suite with 2 bedrooms and the other villa had a more modest double room. Both overlooking the beach and well equipped and comfortable.

One of the main weather features was a really strong wind that came on at about 11 am every morning and grew in strength and noise until it abated at about 5 pm each afternoon.
Really exhausting and you didn't really want to go out in it. The generator was switched off between 10 and 5.30 so you couldn't even make a cup of tea! It was also off between 11 at night and 5. 30 in the morning.

A delicious lunch of fish in tomato sauce followed by creme caramel.

Dinner was carpaccio of fish followed by some perfectly cooked fish with puréed potatoes followed by papaya sponge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Last Aug. I spent 3 days at Anakao Ocean Lodge and the experience was really unforgetable. The huge sandy bay makes the place like a paradise. Every guest has so much space that it is difficult to see people next to you during all days long.
Everything surrounding the resort is so natural and original that the guests feel themselves in a pure natural world.
The bungalow, extremely clean, are with simple furnitures and big bathroom.
The restaurant is the pearl of the resort. Food is unique. So good and fresh that, honestly, I have never had such a good food in one resort in my life!!
Everything is under the professional and hosting person of Walter, the manager, supporting by the never tired Bako, precious in everything.
Spending 4/5 days here could help everybodies in regenerating soul and mind.

Room Tip: Room 11 and 12 are very nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobosand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

ocean lodge is an amazing escape to the deeply fascinating nature around Tulear, Madagascar. freshly fished fish is regularly served at the restaurant, amazing massages are available at the local fitness center. peace and tranqullity surround you in your bungalow...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Umberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We came to Anakao Ocean Lodge near the end of our trip in Madagascar. We came by road, which was a 12-hour drive from Isalo National Park! But it was worth it! The hotel is top of the line! It's like a paradise in a lost world. The bungalows are in excellent conditions, very well kept and clean. We loved the big bathroom. The service was great. The housekeeping was very good about sweeping the sand from the beach out of the bungalow. Guess the only thing we didn't like were the mosquitoes in the evening. Luckily, there was a mosquito net around the bed. The food here was excellent! Fresh fish and seafood everyday! Finally, don't miss out on visiting the very unique Tsimanampesotse National Park near the hotel, where there are blind fish that swims upsidedown, giant baobab trees, and flamingos in one of the rare "soda lake" in the world!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becky0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We spent ten wonderful days at the lodge. It is located on a magnificent sandy bay, with few locals and no tourists in sight. We had bungalow 24 which was virtually on the beach. The food is a highlight. Fish is brought in by local fishers twice a days and the chef finds an imaginative way to serve what he's got. he didn't serve the same meal twice. A couple of times we wanted a break from fish, and the kitchen quickly sourced chicken and meat. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed an excursion to an island nearby, transported in local sailing fishing boat, with good swimming and grilled fish. The village of Anakao has little to offer, the speedboat from town takes over an hour, there is no wifi or mobile connection, and telephone/internet is unreliable, so this place is remote. You juts have to take it easy. No choice. There is good message. The wine list could have been better and I always like a hammock, but it would be churlish not to give Anakao Ocean Lodge a full five. It is almost paradise.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-front bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakao
1.3 mi away
Hotel Safari Vezo Anakao
0 mi away
Hotel Victory Toliara
Hotel Victory Toliara
#2 of 3 in Toliara
81 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atlantis Madagascar
Atlantis Madagascar
#1 of 2 in Anakao
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.4 mi away
Ankasy Lodge
Ankasy Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ambatomilo
94 reviews
17.4 mi away
Bakuba
Bakuba
#1 of 16 in Toliara
106 reviews
17.2 mi away
Famata Lodge
Famata Lodge
#3 of 9 in Toliara
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anakao Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anakao Ocean Lodge

Address: Andovoke Bay Anakao 602, Anakao, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Anakao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Anakao
Price Range: £105 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anakao Ocean Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anakao Ocean Lodge & Spa is a magical place that by strange and fortunate circumstances has remained an uncontaminated corner away from the more chaotic mass tourism routes.It is a new and exclusive destination especially suitable for those who have a spirit for travelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anakao Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing