We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anakao Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anakao Ocean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Anakao
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

If you're looking for empty beach, perfect service, delicious food and amazing ocean view from you room - this is the right place for you. This place is a real paradise where you can just relax and forget about everything.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bran0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    24
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
33
91
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
International
Level Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Anakao was one of the best destinations I've ever been to. Almost had the place entirely to ourselves; but then again it is a trek to get there so hardly surprising. My friend and I like windsurfing and as there is a constant wind daily it was sensational (but dont get caught out like I did one day when I went too far out and drifted and could not get back in. Got back paddling hard as the sun was going down!). Food, though simple, was tremendous as all the seafood is so fresh. The place is a showcase in itself. I'll be taking the better half at the next Mada opportunity! A jewel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Anakao Ocean Lodge has real attention to detail. The speed boat transfer is a stylish way to arrive. The bungalows are beautifully designed and comfortable with massive bathrooms. The staff are unbelievably friendly and attentive, trying to make your stay a pleasure. The wind does limit your activities a little so you learn to relax and unwind. Food is delightful!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent two nights at Anakao ocean lodge and loved it. The service was great and the location is spectacular. If you go don’t miss Nosy Ve and the whales (if it’s the right time of year). We had the most incredible whale watching experience. Make sure you visit the town too!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood Middlesex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had an enormous suite with 2 bedrooms and the other villa had a more modest double room. Both overlooking the beach and well equipped and comfortable.

One of the main weather features was a really strong wind that came on at about 11 am every morning and grew in strength and noise until it abated at about 5 pm each afternoon.
Really exhausting and you didn't really want to go out in it. The generator was switched off between 10 and 5.30 so you couldn't even make a cup of tea! It was also off between 11 at night and 5. 30 in the morning.

A delicious lunch of fish in tomato sauce followed by creme caramel.

Dinner was carpaccio of fish followed by some perfectly cooked fish with puréed potatoes followed by papaya sponge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Last Aug. I spent 3 days at Anakao Ocean Lodge and the experience was really unforgetable. The huge sandy bay makes the place like a paradise. Every guest has so much space that it is difficult to see people next to you during all days long.
Everything surrounding the resort is so natural and original that the guests feel themselves in a pure natural world.
The bungalow, extremely clean, are with simple furnitures and big bathroom.
The restaurant is the pearl of the resort. Food is unique. So good and fresh that, honestly, I have never had such a good food in one resort in my life!!
Everything is under the professional and hosting person of Walter, the manager, supporting by the never tired Bako, precious in everything.
Spending 4/5 days here could help everybodies in regenerating soul and mind.

Room Tip: Room 11 and 12 are very nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobosand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

ocean lodge is an amazing escape to the deeply fascinating nature around Tulear, Madagascar. freshly fished fish is regularly served at the restaurant, amazing massages are available at the local fitness center. peace and tranqullity surround you in your bungalow...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakao
803.4 mi away
Constance Tsarabanjina
Constance Tsarabanjina
#1 of 1 in Nosy Mitsio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
611.3 mi away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#7 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cotsoyannis
Hotel Cotsoyannis
#4 of 4 in Fianarantsoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
413.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 60 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atlantis Madagascar
Atlantis Madagascar
#1 of 2 in Anakao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
17.4 mi away
Bakuba
Bakuba
#1 of 17 in Toliara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anakao Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anakao Ocean Lodge

Property: Anakao Ocean Lodge
Address: Andovoke Bay Anakao 602, Anakao, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Anakao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Anakao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anakao Ocean Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anakao Ocean Lodge & Spa is a magical place that by strange and fortunate circumstances has remained an uncontaminated corner away from the more chaotic mass tourism routes.It is a new and exclusive destination especially suitable for those who have a spirit for travelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anakao Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing