We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Lough & Quay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lough & Quay
Ranked #2 of 5 Warrenpoint B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of a Groupon Deal and we were really looking forward to our stay here. it is situated perfectly looking over the beautiful Carlingford Lough. The staff are very friendly and chatty, we were made to feel very welcome but a lovely receptionist who also served us in the bar. We found our room and looked out the window only to see a corrugated roof and ventilation system which was disappointing given the beautiful location of the Hotel. Our remote control for the television was broken so we left it at reception for a replacement on the way to the bar to watch the Ireland game. We ordered our drinks and some crisps which had to be returned as they were out of date. After watching the game we went back to our room to get ready for dinner to find the tv remote still hadn't been fixed. There were no buttons on the TV to allow us to change channels so we were stuck with one Channel. The Groupon deal meant we got a cocktail with our meal however there wasn't a choice of what to have as advertised however it was nice to enjoy a cocktail before dinner. The food from the groupon deal was restricted but it was a lovely meal and the restaurant is popular with locals and had a great atmosphere, My husband was just out of hospital a few days before our stay so after our meal he had got tired so we retired for the evening to our room. We had to ask again for the TV remote - we were finally given one from another guests room at 10.30pm. Then the music from the band in the bar started up and it was that loud it meant that we didn't get to sleep until after 1am. I'm so disappointed with our stay that unfortunately we won't be returning and it's such a pity having read the rest of the reviews.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kazz_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

We spent one night in the Lough & Quay as part of a Groupon deal that included an evening meal. There was plenty of parking right in front of the hotel, which was convenient, and it overlooks the beautiful Carlingford Lough. The room itself was comfortable and more spacious than expected, but there were no lough view rooms available so we had a nice view of the ventilation system. We were aware of this when booking, so at least it wasn't a surprise. The evening meal was excellent too, with very generous portions of good quality Italian fare, and some great wine. All the staff were helpful, though we did not receive the cocktail on arrival as per the deal, and the breakfast times were different from the website and we were not informed. As a result, we ended up missing breakfast. Otherwise, it was a nice stay in a comfortable, modern hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room looking out over the lough. Otherwise you'll be looking at the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed in The Lough and Quay for one night, using a Groupon voucher and were very pleased with the whole experience. The location is good, the staff are very friendly, the room was fine. The whole hotel was warm and comfortable - it has a 'cosy' feel. Nice touch to have a welcome cocktail by the real fire in the bar. The food in the restaurant was very good - tasty and beautifully presented. The breakfast was BIG! All in all we had a most enjoyable mini-break :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rallp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

It's only when you return to an area you haven't visited for years that its natural beauty and charm is brought back to mind.
Such was the case when my wife and I travelled to Warrenpoint from the South of Ireland on the second leg of our mini weekend break.
Warrenpoint is a lovely town with good shops, lots of parking space and an area which has become a mecca for tourists.
Complementing all that is the Lough and Quay, a mini hotel with the renowned Vecchia Roma, a well-established and highly reputable restaurant as part of the complex. Definitely a winning combination.
The hotel had an instant appeal with a roaring fire in the lounge bar and a friendly and courteous receptionist making sure we were booked in and allocated a large, comfortable and clean room with a marvellous view of the harbour. It couldn't have been better and only a whisper away from the lift!
All of this goes a long way in opinion forming but the best was yet to come. Part of the deal was a two-course meal in the restaurant with a cocktail each.
We had a shared platter of Italian food as a starter and by the time we had finished there was barely room for the main course, a pity since the steak we ordered was exceptionally tasty.
The place was buzzing, a clear indication of its standing in the community.
Breakfast was served in a spacious area of the premises and the only criticism was the fact that there wasn't a great deal to choose from on the cold buffet table and it's a pity that the tea and coffee were served from those large vacuum-flask dispensers instead of the traditional pots.
Still, the cooked breakfast was tasty and perfectly adequate.
It became clear during our stay that the management rely a great deal on the way their patrons are treated and there was ample evidence of return visits as a result.
For a pleasant, relaxing and comfortable break we would heartily recommend the Lough and Quay.

Room Tip: Chose a harbour view - it's worth ringing up early to see if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed for 1 night with a groupon deal and had a really lovely time. The location was beautiful and we stayed in a corner room with beautiful views from both windows. The staff and locals were so friendly and there was a great young lad singing and playing the guitar in the bar that evening. The Restaurant was buzzing and again the staff could not have been more pleasant. The breakfast the next morning was first class with the best sausages I have tasted in a long time. Such a lovely town and enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Corner Room was excellent. Large bright and beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weekenders2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was a lovely place to stay, and the excellent service made it better than some hotels that we have stayed in.
A sincere thank you to Shannon who greeted us warmly as we arrived, showed us to our room, tended the bar and assisted with just about everything.
The room was cosy and welcoming with plenty of room and a great comfy bed. Toiletries in the bathroom; liquid soap, shower gel and conditioning shampoo were Gilchrist & Soames: not the usual basic type.
We had room 202 with magnificent views across Carlingford Lough. Rooms 201-206 are all at the front on the second floor.
Only two slight quibbles - we would have needed another chair in the room, and the bath towels were a bit on the small size.
However, we still give 5 stars out of 5 as we really loved our stay and would hope to be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 201-206 are all at the front on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We went with 2 friends, had never heard of the hotel before seeing it on Groupon. Our expectations were limited, but what a pleasant surprise! Our initial booking contact was Sean, when we told him it was a special occasion he promised us a free upgrade and a good table for our meal. He was as good as his word. Our rooms were great, we had a corner one overlooking both the Lough and the Quay from which the hotel name is derived. Our room was spacious with three large windows and a great view. The four of us chose a different main course, we had steak, risotto, lamb shank, and salmon - all beautiful. Our waitress was Hungarian, soooo friendly, and with a wonderful hybrid accent incorporating South Down! Our main contact while staying was Patrick, really helpful, chatty but NOT "in your face". We'll be back, hopefully soon!

Room Tip: 104-106 have the best view, we had 106 which was brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenpoint
0.2 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
331 reviews
4.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Balmoral
The Balmoral
#1 of 5 in Warrenpoint
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Rostrevor Inn
The Rostrevor Inn
#2 of 8 in Rostrevor
88 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Lough & Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lough & Quay

Address: 3 Marine Parade, Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Warrenpoint
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warrenpoint
Price Range: £78 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lough & Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lough & Quay Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing