We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Whistledown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Im very happy with the stay and staff. I was here for 3 nights with view towards the sea living on 3rd floor. Room was clean and nice and I didn´t experience any problems, the staff are friendly and helpfull If somethings wrong. I understod that rooms may vary In quality and a friend changed her room without any problems.

Suitable for kids there Is a park/playground behind the hotel. Good food for adults and they also have a children meny/portions. Good prices I think In general. Bar and pub also good.

The smal town is nice and clean and people friendly. Its good transportation with buss near hotel If you need to go somewhere.

Room Tip: High up with seaview and on a corner Is nicest I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We ate here last week, as a large group from work, 26 of us in total. I had preordered the food and as soon as everyone arrived the starters were ready to be served. Mains and desserts followed in a timely manner, neither too rushed nor were we waiting for any length of time. Portions were filling and there was an abundance of sides provided...everyones food was delicious and from 26 of us everyone raved about their food. The service was excellent, the staff couldn't do enough for us and some of us were able to sit on for a while after. Overall another fantastic experience at the Whistledown...would recommend anyone who hasn't been here to try it out!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red16989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

It gives us great pleasure to receive such a wonderful review. Staff work very hard to deliver excellence in service and cuisine. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We ate here today as a large group the food and service were both excellent give it a go. Sometimes with numbers both service and food can suffer but we were very happy. I would strongly recommend a visit here for any occasion business or pleasure.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Mactools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Many thanks for your excellent review and recommendation which is very much appreciated. We hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Have been here several times and have never been disappointed. They don't take bookings but you never have to wait very long before being seated and the service is unbelievably fast. Portions are filling and staff are helpful and friendly. Lovely Lovely, Lovely

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gideon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your excellent review we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Being parents of a 7 yr old Type 1 Diabetic and 6 yr old Coeliac we don't tend do eat out often. However we were meeting friends in Warrenpoint so needed to check out restuarants on what would be available for our Coeliac child to eat. We had contacted the hotel before travelling and they kindly sent us a copy of their Gluten Free menu. We genuinely thought they had sent the wrong menu due to the huge number of options available. But it really was a dedicated Gluten Free Menu and included different options for kids meals also. I don't believe we have ever had such a choice.
We ate in the bar where our orders were taken quickly and the children were served their meals with our starters. Excellent - no long waits. Our 6 year old coeliac totally enjoyed her GF pasta followed by her GF ice cream.
The staff were brilliant and really looked after our needs.
Well done Whistledown! If we could ye give ye 10 stars we would. We are sooooooooooo looking forward to coming back in the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank cnoicballure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

It is really important to us that every visitor has a most enjoyable dining experience at the Whistledown. Our dedicated Gluten Free Menu has become very popular as it offers a good choice of GF dishes. Thank you for such great comments, we will be delighted to welcome you again on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Was treated to this hotel restaurant on Warrentpoint seafront by colleagues whilst visiting nearby Newry.

The restaurant itself is very bling and quirky with a great atmosphere coupled by really good food at really good prices. Six of us ate lunch with drinks for less than £80.

Unfortunately I didn't take any photos but as I would have liked to have shown others what a cool bar and eatery, I suppose they will have just have to find out for themselves.

Recommend for great food and service

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank H2499MNmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you love the interior design and more importantly enjoyed your lunch. We do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed one night in the Whistledown in Feb.Warm welcome at reception and quick check in. Room was on the first floor and really was lovely. Only downside was we didnt get a view over the lough but when eating in the restaurant that evening we got a seat at the window overlooking the lough so we cant complain. The restaurant was very busy but staff were friendly and the food was nice especially the deserts. The three course meal was included in our stay so it really was good value. Had a cooked breakfast overlooking the lough the next morning which wasnt a bad start to our wedding anniversary! This is a cosy and modern hotel. There is a relaxed atmosphere about it which makes for a relaxing stay. Will look forward to another visit in the future.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel would have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary at the Whistledown Hotel. The view of Carlingford Lough is amazing and we are pleased that you had a window table for both your evening meal and for breakfast. We thank you for your lovely review and look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenpoint
6.5 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
721 reviews
4.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
9.2 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
8.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whistledown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whistledown Hotel

Address: 6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Warrenpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Price Range: £88 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whistledown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistledown Hotel has a fairytale setting on the shores of Carlingford Lough at the foot of the majestic mountains of Mourne.When you choose to stay at the Whistledown Hotel you can be assured that you are choosing the perfect location, one that combines romantic ambience, a chic contemporary interior, good food, competitive rates and an exceptional team of staff dedicated to making each guest feel extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Whistledown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whistledown Hotel Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing