We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Whistledown Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Loughview(Warrenpoint)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Gap Farm(Bessbrook)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
213
78
30
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
213
78
30
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuesaturday nightstayed one nightblues festivalbirthday partycouldn't do enoughfirst classsea viewwedding receptionfrom start to finishbed and breakfastsecond to nonetop classyogurtcarlingfordpizzeriameal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
332 - 336 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2008

Just stopped in for food here recently. The place was jammers. But we were happily dealt with by the staff. Were given a pager and asked to wait at the bar - which was chocers with jugs of miwadi and water and the likes - could do with tidying up this area a bit really if this is where they want people to wait.

Got our table after about 10 mins. It wasnt cleaned for us, we did that ourselves but the staff were ran off their feet and we were prepared to over look this.

Sunday lunch offer is £16 for 3 course plus tea/coffee - this is excellent value, you'd have a hard job trying to find this value in the South. Great choice on the menu too. Had all 3 courses and all were good. Didnt have to wait long for service even though the staff are so hard worked during the lunch time rush - they have to be commended!

Only thing that put us off a little is there were a lot of families there with small children who, naturally, were pretty noisy as small children are - no insult to the kids, its just preferable to have a nice peaceful meal.

Would definitely recommend stopping in for a feed if you are passing through Warrenpoint.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naraigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

The Whistledown Hotel has had a colourful make over and improved the choice in the sleepy seaside town of Warrenpoint. I attended a family gathering at the Hotel and the service was impressive. Only criticism was upon arrival there was no clear directions to the reception as you walk in to a busy front Bar. The service was above average and the menu good. There was free parking on the seafront and side streets...

The single room I was given was a pleasant surprise as it was a double at a great rate. The bathroom was well thought out and modern. The bed was very comfortable and the furnishings practical, though the crushed velvet look was not my cup of tea. The only criticism I have of the bathroom was the shower (sorry three of them), you would need a diploma to figure out how to use the shower plumbing in full. Sadly I only managed two shower heads and gave up trying to get the main shower head to work.

The two Bars are impressive and friendly; the main one is called Finn’s Bar with a late License. When leaving I noticed a ground floor formal room for weddings, etc., which could seat 100+
The hot breakfast and buffet was delicious and prompt, yet I fail to see why this and other hotels skimp on the breakfast sausage – please someone tell these people to use a local quality meat!

There was a great kid’s park to the left of the Hotel if you have the misfortune to have ‘em.

The sea view at breakfast was beautiful, there is a nice promenade and walk if you want to escape.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ronanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2007

The hotel is currently being renovated and this worried us when we arrived but in fact our experience was extremely positive. The view from the hotel was beautiful and our room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was a hearty affair and we were made welcome. We attended a wedding at Narrow Water Castle and this was close by (Taxi only 3 GBP). There is a bar serving food all day downstairs.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ricardodesantaalbana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews