We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly hotel with a personal touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Whistledown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My family and I have just spent a relaxing few days at this hotel.We received a warm welcome from the receptionist who went out of her way to ensure the children were well looked after.Colouring books, crayons and directions of where to take the kids were readily provided.The food was excellent and again the children's menu had plenty of choice.It is refreshing to find a hotel with staff who actually care for their customers.
Apparently this hotel is only opened a short time but they obviously know how to treat their guests. We will be returning again very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suziemai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2009

This hotel is adequate, there is room for improvements. While there was a nice sea view, the room was very basic without much space. The bathroom was good. The room service was not great and it was very hard to track down staff. At the time of year we stayed there the whole area is a bit desolate. Not much to do in the immediate vicinity. The breakfast is nice but hotel bar a bit basic. All in all it was a nice break but nothing special.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lassieloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Stayed at this hotel recently.Situation ,scenery and location breathtaking our bedroom overlooking the sea and in the dining room for dinner and breakfast amazing.Bed was very comfortable and clean. Most of staff helpful and friendly but somehow lacked the personal touch we felt we were just a number there. The breakfast was very disappointing for an hotel , increasingly this seems to be the way in hotels now,poor selection of fruits-yogurts sitting out for hours at room temperature limited cereals ,no porridge,grapefruits ectra, only toast available no selection of breads scones/wheaten . More thought could be given to this area by management.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abocurragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I would just like to say that the food in the Whistledown is SUPER!! I haven't stayed in the hotel just eaten and everytime we eat in it there is never any complaints it is great and like the pervious review said the view you have off the mountains and lough are great and very relaxing.

Also beside the Whistledown is the Warrenpoint park which is great for keeping the kids happy as well.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murphstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights while attending "fiddler's Green Festival " in nearby Rostrevor. Beatifully located looking out over carlingford lough and foothills of mourne mountains.
Staff were more than helpful and anticipated our needs from arrival to departure. very comfortable nicely decorated bedroom with the aforementioned state of the art bath and showerheads which we eventually worked out with a little help from housekeeping.
Restaurant service, food and value excellent but portions huge for some main courses!
loved the hake.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menlodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed at the Whistledown for 1 night due to a wedding we were attending at Narrow Water Castle.

When checking in we were surprised to be asked for photo ID - company policy supposedly?! Not mentioned in booking confirmation though. That aside, Conor made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed a drink in the bar overlooking Carlingford Lough.

Our room was very large with a good size en suite - they have all been recently done up! Hopefully the pics will show this!

One thing that stood out throughout was the service - these guys know what they are doing! All the staff have an exceptional personal touch - which we won't forget - they make you feel so welcome and take an interest in why you are there and what you are doing - not too many hotels are like that! Parting words of 'it was lovely to have you stay with us' are not often heard in hotels anywhere in the world.

Breakfast was fabulous! A full fry with mushrooms and beans to boot! Excellent! Numerous coffee refills later we retired to our room for a snooze before check out.

All in all, a wonderful hotel with exceptional people...take a bow!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chucklers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Stayed at this newly refurbished super chic hotel. From entering the hotel until check out was a wonderful experience. We had a beautiful large double room which contained all the luxuries you would expect from a deluxe hotel - luxury bed, well equipped ensuite bathrooms, which had state of the art three headed shower, which I must say my partner and I had great fun using. The view was overlooking a side street and you could catch a glimps of the mountains and the lough. If you are ever in Warrenpoint it a must not to be missed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenpoint
6.5 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
711 reviews
4.5 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
6.2 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
8.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whistledown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whistledown Hotel

Address: 6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Warrenpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Price Range: £97 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whistledown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistledown Hotel has a fairytale setting on the shores of Carlingford Lough at the foot of the majestic mountains of Mourne.When you choose to stay at the Whistledown Hotel you can be assured that you are choosing the perfect location, one that combines romantic ambience, a chic contemporary interior, good food, competitive rates and an exceptional team of staff dedicated to making each guest feel extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Whistledown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whistledown Hotel Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing