We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely overnight stay in Mablethorpe”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mablethorpe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colours Guest House
Ranked #3 of 11 Mablethorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely overnight stay in Mablethorpe”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

'Colours' Guest House is conveniently situated between the park - near the children's paddling pool and rides - and the short sloping path to the beach. It has a small gate for ease of access to the park (although the wall is low and doesn't interrupt the view of the lake). Our rooms were beautifully quiet as the house is at the end of a small lane with no through traffic. It's particularly well-placed if you have a beach hut or want to walk or cycle along the sea front to Mablethorpe centre or Sutton-on-Sea, or simply to go to the beach. There is also a large car park so there's no need to move the car. The flat garden has plenty of room and seats for guests. Sue made us tea and coffee on arrival, which was very thoughtful after our journey. The atmosphere Sue and Paul create is relaxed and friendly but also professional - everything is tidy, comfortable and clean and the hospitality tray and bathroom pack more than equal those provided in hotels. There is also a welcome folder so you can find out what's happening in the area. The TV is small but modern and well placed so it is easy to see. There are plenty of channels to choose from and the reception was good, as it was for the free WIFI. The ground floor bedroom, including level access wet room, is ideal for those who prefer not to be upstairs and it is only a few steps to the dining room. We ate out in the evening but breakfast was tasty and plentiful. We would have liked to stay longer and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMAFusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
117
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent another fantastic week at the Colours Guest House which is without doubt the most comfortable place to stay in Mablethorpe with an excellent bed, guaranteeing the best night's sleep in a long while, breakfasts that are of the highest quality and choice, and Paul and Sue could not make you feel more welcome. You are made to feel like friends, not guests, which is testament to their warm and excellent hospitality. This is my second visit, but it won't be my last!

Room Tip: I was in the Red room, which overlooks the boating lake, but all of the rooms have been recently re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our group of 6 adults, 1 child and a baby stayed at Colours recently.

Two of our group were cycling to raise money for a local charity 'Ben's Den'
Sue and Paul could not do enough for us, fabulous, generous, genuinely lovely people, very friendly with the children.

Service, rooms and food all excellent...5 Stars!

On top of that they made a very generous donation to the charity.

We will be back.....Many Thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked as a party of four for three nights (Friday-Sunday) on a bed and breakfast basis. We had a lovely time, the rooms were very well decorated and lovely and clean. We had a full English breakfast with tea and toast each morning and it was delicious and served with a smile.

Sue and Paul are helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Colours is wonderfully situated right next to the beach and within walking distance of the town centre, just right for a visit to Mablethorpe.

We are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: We were in the brown room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Booked a last minute 2 night stay at the Colours highly recommended by our friends, the welcome was very warm and friendly. We had a really lovely comfy room very tastefully decorated & spotlessly clean.
Sue & Paul were fantastic hosts & nothing was too much trouble, it was truly like home from home. The atmosphere was calm and totally what we both needed for the short time we were there. We had a meal there on our second night & it was absolutely gorgeous meal, well cooked, tasty & we both really enjoyed it very much, in fact all the food we had was well cooked very tasty & beautifully presented.
We look forward to going back as soon as we can but for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: I think any room would be lovely, they have different views from each room but if you have a favouri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Booked for 4 of us, ranging from mid 80s down to 13 years of age. Rooms clean and well equipped, had evening meal one night which was fantastic and generally Sue and Paul made sure they did everything possible to ensure our stay was perfect.
For anyone wanting to spend some time in Mablethorpe the location is about as good as it gets, being 10 yards from the beautiful Queens Park (gardens, boating, paddling, playpark, cafe, ride on model train) and about 30 yards up a slope to the prom and then the lovely sandy beach. We found the place quiet but suitably located for walking everywhere if you are able. As Colours has a ground floor bedroom with ensuite wetroom, even the less able can stay, and both Queens Park and the Prom do not have steps to access.Thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hexpansion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Loved staying at Colours, they could not do enough for me, fabulous generous lovely people, oasis of a place. Stayed with them whilst working in Mablethorpe doctors surgery a long way from home for me, and it was also brilliant to end up back in the super comfy bed, gorgeously warm spotlessly clean room, with lovely pillows and duvet. And i was tempted evry night by the range of biscuits left in the room. A real find, after having experienced the other end of the spectrum in Mablethorpe. Beach is stunning between Colours and Sutton, cinema is so tiny and oldie worldy and my only down side is I didnt get to say goodbye to the lovely owners of this B and B. Really recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatsyRamshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mablethorpe
2.7 mi away
The Grange & Links
The Grange & Links
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
353 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Windmill Hotel
The Windmill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alford
48 reviews
6.5 mi away
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
63 reviews
12.6 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.5 mi away
Grange Leisure Park
Grange Leisure Park
#6 of 8 in Mablethorpe
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colours Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Guest House

Property: Colours Guest House
Address: Queens Park Close, Mablethorpe LN12 2AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Mablethorpe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mablethorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Colours Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Colours Guest House Mablethorpe, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing