We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“half term getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mablethorpe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“half term getaway”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just returned from our first stay in Golden Sands (second Haven break) and weve had a fab time! We were very pleasantly surprised to find we had booked a deluxe and had been allocated a deluxe plus model which was clean, spacious enough for 2 adults and 2 young kids and well layed out. Outside verandah area was definite bonus and perfect for girls to play whilst still being in sight.
Facilities at Golden Sands site are good for young children and as weather was not always great, we did make use of indoor play area and some of the daytime club activities. Pools were clean and changing areas recently modernised.

Only negative feedback points are that in one of the family changing cubicles, our 5yrs old was sat and the seating came away from the wall! Fortunatly, no injury caused and reported to one of the staff.
Aso, club entertainment in eves was fab. Childeren loved it but the carpet in the area is pretty disgusting and smelly.

Mablethorpe itself is tired and drab but did have a lovely RNLI shop and staff and some good chippys plus arcades.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toastedmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenS382, team at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade. It’s great to hear you had so much fun in your caravan and on the park as well. We really do have loads of activities for the kids and there’s always something to do. I am sorry there were a couple of issues but thank you for reporting them. Please call us direct on 01507 477871 and we will be more than happy to discuss any problems. Kind Regards, Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    471
    267
    119
    143
See reviews for
1,136
134
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a Saturday to Saturday stay with my family. This was our 3rd visit in 3 years travelling from Blackpool. Yet again had a brilliant holiday and can't wait to book for next year. Like most comments on here the park is very clean with a lot to do. The evening entertainment is very good and the kids loved it. The funstars work very hard day and night to make the children enjoy themselves. A great place to take the children and have peace of mind they will be safe.

Staff do all they can to make your stay as good as it can be from the moment you arrive to the time you leave. We did not make use of the pool or any of the activities on offer but did use the quayside restaurant a number of times. The food is good quality and very enjoyable but a little expensive.

We are hoping to visit again May/June 2015. Love this place!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenS382, team at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review. At Golden Sands we aim to make everyone feel really welcome and it’s so nice to hear that you had such a great time. The Funstars really are great at entertaining the kids and the restaurant is a fantastic place to spend the evening. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back next year. Kind regards, Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The check in was easy and quick. We were very surprised with our caravan it was very clean and spacious everything we wanted and needed. We stayed in a prestige caravan on maple drive. We were close to the main building and could hear the night entertainment but it didn't bother us and you couldn't hear it in the bedrooms it certainly didn't disturb our 15 month old.
We went to the main restaurant twice and were impressed with the food a little expensive but nice. The service was excellent and our waiter even put our toddlers cutlery from home in there dishwasher! All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We did eat at the pub down the road The Beck which was also very very nice and a little cheaper than the main restaurant. You can also park there all day for £1.50 and it's about 1 min from the beach.

The swimming pool was great a little busy in the small pool but we always had fun. We loved the soft play also.

The nightly shows were good although a little loud for my toddler.

Overall we had a great time and as our first family holiday it was ideal.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotteuk2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenS382, team at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing comments. I am really happy you enjoyed your caravan; they really are great for a family holiday. It’s fantastic that you liked being close to the entertainment but if you want we can give you a caravan further away where possible. If you have any requests just ring us on 01507 477871 and we will do anything we can to help. It’s great to hear you liked our restaurant and enjoyed Mablethorpe as well. We can’t wait to see you in the future and thanks again for your review. Kind regards, Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

So this was a trip with 4 adults, 2 nearly 4 year olds, 2 dogs and 1 baby in one caravan! We got a great deal and go home tomorrow...and this is how we found Golden Sands.

Firstly, upon arrival a very efficient system of parking and collection of keys. Met by security and given all information and maps for our caravan in Teak Bank.

The site was amazingly clean, I don't think I saw a spot of rubbish, haven should be proud. The caravan was equally as spotless and I was very impressed with the size and cleanliness. It had everything we needed and we settled in well.

One issue we did have was a dripping tap in the kitchen, a quick text to maintenance services and they were with us in 10mins and had it fixed.

Our second experience of the text service was very poor. We requested a Hoover as having two dogs and a baby crawling around things got rather hairy. The response was not helpful. Hovers arnt allowed out for health and safety reasons. Crazy! So they were going to book a 'service' visit....nothing turned up. Next morning my wife called and left a message to request a Hoover again. No response. So we called 45mins later to which eventually a cleaner came and whipped it round. Come on Haven, surely people can be trusted with a Hoover.

We went swimming twice and pool was clean, great facilities and modern looking. Baby pool is small and gets busy but plenty of other space. Outside pool was really warm. Slides fab.

Funfair was good and free childrens park. Amusements are ok.

We didn't eat at papa johns or the chippy but did eat at the pub/cafe on site....our experience was not good at all. Food was very expensive and came out cold with us missing cutlery which we asked for several times but didn't appear. Not a great experience. Luckily the manager asked us how our visit and food was and we were able to give our views. He was brilliant. Apologised and listened and wasn't happy with how his kitchen had served us. He gave us free drinks and desserts to make up for it which were far tastier. Good save Haven and well done to the manager for taking the time to listen.

We went to the kids entertainment twice and the first night they suffered a technical fault for about an hour so we left after that. Second night was better and when the kids were interacted with and did sings ours loved it. They weren't so keen on the miming characters which didn't seem to do much bar just mime and walk around. May go tonight again and check it out.

We did the seal sanctuary, fantastic and we ate at Saltys in Mablethorpe - nice chippy an I highly recommend Daves Restaurent - steak pie award winning to die for!

Mablethorpe was ok - it's pretty much stuck in the 1950's but it's nice to see these things not all modernised.

So in summary our first visit to a Haven holiday park was a positive one and I think we would definitely visit one again with the kids. This Park is good and I would give it a 8/10 rating :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkyfin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenS382, team at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and I’m sorry about the delay with the Hoover, we will work on this. We do try and solve any problems on park but we would love to discuss any issues with you so please ring us direct on 01507 477871. It’s really nice to hear that you enjoyed your holiday overall and we would love to see you again. Kind regards, Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We went to this park on a newspaper deal. We upgraded to a Delux Plus model and the total 3 night trip came to around £100 with passes, linen, upgrade and utilities.

When we arrived at the park we were met by a very friendly car park attendant, it was busy at check in but the park had laid on some dancing characters to keep the kids entertained. The check in was problem free and seemed to be or everyone else too.

We found our van easily, were happy with it, it did everything it said on the tin! It was clean, well presented and well equipped.

The park is absolutely spotless, no litter, common areas really well presented and maintained. The fair was a little pricey but no one forces you to use it! The pool was amazing, really well presented, changing facilities were well appointed and the outdoor pool was a massive hit with my kids.

We didn't use the entertainment area in the evening, its not our kind of thing, but the brochure showed a good variety of things on every night of the week.

Every member of staff we came across was friendly, happy and helpful. The pool had an abundance of lifeguards which i found reassuring having 2 small children, and they all seemed very happy to be there.

The beach is across the road from the park. Its a very long stretch of beach with a fab sand train which is well worth the £1 each. the sand by the park is the finest along the stretch, the sand over by the arcade marathon which is mablethorpe is like building sand!

We would recommend this park for a long weekend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catmar192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenS382, team at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review, it’s so great to hear about your fantastic holiday. I am so happy you liked your caravan and the park; we are a family park and are always working to keep the park clean, tidy and safe. There’s something for the whole family to do at Golden Sands and it’s great to hear you enjoyed the pool. Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards, Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for just over a week in May 2014. Also visited last August for three nights.

The haven park is really clean with friendly helpful staff. They always have a smile - no matter how busy they are especially the ones who work on the leisure complex. From the security men on the gates - to stop non holiday makers using the facilities - to the team running the rides in the fun park - many of them took the time to get to know guests personally.

The pool is clean and pretty warm to be fair. The outside pool is even warmer than the inside pool. There are plenty of life guards who are observant and doing a good job. The kids pool is also warm with various pieces of equipment to entertain the children. The changing rooms can be a bit untidy but that's down to irresponsible guests leaving rubbish behind and not because haven have left them to become this way. The showers are clean and warm.

The rides are reasonably prices especially if you buy a batch or are an owner.

There is the famous giant deck chair with the caravan sales section behind it. Don't worry - no pushy sales here but it's worth a look round just to see how caravans have progressed over the years especially if like me it's over thirty years since you've stayed in one!!

There is entertainment in this area - pony rides - free only a donation was requested - and a bouncy castle.

You can buy additional activity passes but we didn't this time. We didn't use the kids entertainment either but saw some of it which looked ok and kept the kids happy.

The spar is handy but be warned it's expensive - you're a captive audience !! I saw a loaf of bread for £1.71 which I think is extortionate and I'm not a penny pincher. If you look online one of the major supermarkets delivers here.... Consider this option as there are only a co-op or lidl in town.

The owners lounge is well equipped with free wifi - but you do have to be an owner with a pass to get in. In this lounge there are various drinks and a small play area for the kids.

There are sand pits and play areas dotted about the complex. It's a safe place to walk round with plenty to see.

The beach across the road is lovely and clean. Papa johns pizza is really good but I don't rate the onsite chippy.

Mablethorpe itself it pretty non descript. It's ok if you want arcades, burgers, more rides or ice cream. There are no nice shops to look round and no major chain stores for browsing.

All in all we had a great time here and will be back - eleven weeks to be precise.

I would like to say a special thank you to one member of the funfair team - he was the one working the bungee-trampoline for most of the week. This lovely young man spent lots of time bouncing my son on this ride to make sure he had a great time. My son is four and just wanted to bounce 'higher'. He had such a good time that he just kept making a beeline for this ride every night! This young man is a credit to haven!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burtYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenS382, Team at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I am so happy you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed all the activities. The pool is a family favourite and there is always something for everyone to do. We love welcoming people onto park and it’s so nice to hear that you made some new friends. It’s great to hear that you’re coming back; if you have any issues while you’re on park please ring us 01507 477871 and we will do everything possible to help. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your fantastic comments. Kind regards Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Golden Sands and the kids loved it. Unfortunately the weather was not so kind to us but thats one thing you can't plan.
All staff were lovely and checking in was quick and easy. We were a little dissappointed that our caravan was still being cleaned after 4pm when we were supposed to be able to get in to our accommodation at 4pm.
Activities on the site were ok and the fair was a great addition to the park.
Mablethorpe is'nt the best of places as it is just full of amusement arcades and cheap shops so we ended up spending the majority of our time on the site. There is a lovey little cinema down the road from the site though and the seal sanctuary and the beach directly opposite the site.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenS382, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
I do appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to leave it. Sorry to hear about the weather. I am sorry about the caravan and if you would like to discuss this further please contact me direct on 01507 477871 where I will be happy to help in any way I can.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the funfair and site. The cinema is worth a visit and the seal sanctuary too. We are lucky to have a lovely coast over the road from the park and that’s why we are called Golden Sands. I really would love to welcome you back to park in the near future. Thank you once again, Kind regards, Rachael H, Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mablethorpe
6.9 mi away
The Windmill Hotel
The Windmill Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alford
52 reviews
14.6 mi away
North Parade Hotel
North Parade Hotel
#14 of 26 in Skegness
130 reviews
13.6 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Grange & Links
The Grange & Links
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
364 reviews
14.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#25 of 26 in Skegness
133 reviews
11.6 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Quebec Road, Mablethorpe LN12 1QJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Mablethorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Mablethorpe
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Park Hotel Mablethorpe
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven Mablethorpe, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing