We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, unpretentious family hotel”
Review of The Bacchus Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sutton-on-Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bacchus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sutton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly, unpretentious family hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stay here every year with children under 14. Excellent service, kind and helpful staff. Homely food, comfortable rooms. Very close to unspoilt beach and chalets, lido, playground. Everything you need for young families within easy reach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    90
    28
    23
    18
See reviews for
100
108
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Me, my partner and our 3 year old stayed here for the weekend with a big group of people for a family wedding at the hotel and i could not fault it one bit, the room was clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful and the wedding itself was put together wonderfully and was definitely memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We originally booked two rooms, a double and a family for two nights. On arrival circumstances allowed us to stay an extra night. The hotel stated they could accommodate us and offered us a discounted rate. Throughout the stay the staff were helpful and nothing was to much trouble. On the final morning both breakfast rooms were full but Anthony quickly put together a table for 6 for us. All rooms were clean and well maintained. The service provided also included moving our baggage as in order to stay the extra night we had to move rooms (not an issue). On settling the bill I informed the manager David that it would have been nice to have been told the family room rate when we initially booked. He immediately looked at the bill and stated that we had been overcharged and gave a refund. He was extremely apologetic. The only downside was for the second year running they did not have any of their own draught ales available but the guest ales they had were excellent substitutes. The staff ensured we had a lovely, relaxed stay especially due to the fact that we had two children aged 3yrs and 1yr with us.

Room Tip: Try and avoid a room at the front as it can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandgtravel186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A very disappointing experience especially after many glowing reviews about this hotel! No doubt I will get a poor excuse of feedback from the owner, as every poor review submitted has seen him blame the reviewer or said it was untrue! There were many witnesses when I complained about the food so please believe my experience is true and accurate.

A family of 3 OAP's, 1 adult and 2 children had booked in for the Sunday Carvery. We had been told that vegetarians should order on arrival and their dish would be sent to the heated trolley where they could then add a selection of vegetables.

This was done and we waited some time to allow arrival of the broccoli bake. When we requested the dish it wasn't there and were told by the owner that someone else must have it and these things happen. He checked in the kitchen and on his return said it would be ready in about 5 minutes. The vegetarian then started to eat the vegetables selected from the carvery. When the broccoli bake did arrive it consisted of sliced potato in a cheese sauce. There were no broccoli florets - just 3 small green 10p sized off cuts from a floret!

We asked the owner to come and look at the broccoli bake but he hesitated and appeared unwilling to move from the cavery (there were no customers waiting at this point as it was very near to end of service.) We made a second request to the owner to come and look at the dish which he grudingly did.

We complained that having to wait some time for this meal (and having to eat it alone after everyone else had finished) was not satisfactory and there was hardly any broccoli in it. The owner clearly didn't feel the same and said very abruptly, "what do you want me to do about it?"

We repeated ourselves again and said we didn't think it was fair to be charged for the broccoli bake. His response was there were plenty of vegetables available on the trolley. We tried to reason with him that these vegetables were also available to those folk who also had meat, so vegetarians should also be catered for, as they were paying the same price.

We were amazed by his attitude and response. The owner said he understood what we were saying but he didn't agree with us, as there were plenty of vegetables on the trolley. We told him we do not complain much, only when food or service was unreasonable, and that we have never ever been spoken to in this manner before. He smiled at us and just walked away.

We had no choice but to pay the bill, but in hindsight we should have refused to pay full price for the vegetarian meal and taken a photo of the supposed broccoli bake! Where is good customer relations here and let's see what we can do to sort things out? If the kitchen had run out of broccoli why not admit it. Surely these are basic fundamentals within the field of hospitality.

It is a shame this incident occurred as the food was good and the other staff were very friendly and helpful. The owner needs to copy his staff and learn how to deal with complaints, even if he doesn't always agree with them. We suggest the owner takes on board what people are saying directly to him at the time and also in written reviews and actually make an effort to do something about it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank CamperCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applebyscunthorpe, General Manager at The Bacchus Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We were extremely dissappointed to read your comments about your recent first visit to our Sunday carvery,and sorry that you found our system confusing,as it was explained we offer a range of ten fresh vegetables including extra broccili if required to supplement the vegetarian option,ie cheese+broccili bake or vegetarian lasagna these are not served as individual dishes but simply to accompany them and you do not get charged for them as a seperate item,so despite your request for a full refund as in this case, it would not have been appropriate to give a refund for something that you had not been billed for as at this time there was plenty of extra fresh boccoli availble too add to your dish.The problem arose when you chose to help yourself to the carvey before waiting for your supplementary dish to arrive,although this was explained on several occassions when you mentioned the broccili scenario,we could not understand your complaint. Having read your comments Im still not sure wether you understood the situation,However Im sure you are a very genuine person likewise so are all the staff at the Bacchus,and we always look at ways of improving things. Sorry about any confussion over the situation,but we did try our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

needed a pet friendly hotel,to visit some friends, got one. staff welcoming and helpful stayed b&b they moved a table from the dining room into the bar so we could have breakfast with our little dog,,. room was ensuite .nice and big spotless clean, on the front.a little noisey from traffic but didnt bother us ,food was very nice .value for money .quaint hotel in a lovely setting also a good hub for mablethorpe and skegness, beach was very clean ideal for walking to trusthorpe and mablethorpe,,would go back really enjoyed it

Room Tip: there is a stair lift to the first floor but they have room at the back on the ground floor nice big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picklesasylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

If you are looking for a boutique style hotel in a chic resort don't go to Sutton or stay at the Bacchus ! However the Bacchus matches Sutton perfectly and offers good value, good and friendly service in the perfect location. The building and bedrooms are quirky - creaky floorboards and our bathroom wasn't quite en suite as it was down stairs from the room. Many of the guests seem to return every year and some for more than one visit. The food is not very adventurous but again good value and suits the guests. One final mention for Anthony - every hotel should have an Anthony! We will be back for another dose of the unique offerings that both the Bacchus and Sutton have to offer

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - it can be noisy at the front with traffic noise early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyPMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgnorth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Another 2 day annual family re-union / 80th B'day party at the Bacchus Hotel.

Accommodation, food, service and staff all excellent. We were extremely well looked after.
Staff set up the small room just by the main entrance on the first night for us - and then on the saturday night - in the main lounge room for the 80th Birthday celebration - where two of us played live later on for the evening entertainment

The hotel to some may seem rather dated / old fashioned , -but that is what makes it so special for a small "holiday town" like Sutton on Sea!

And - as per last year - we provided the entertainment on the Saturday night (13th July)
So, thanks to Dave and Alan of the Bacchus for letting us play in the large lounge room again!
appearing as "Chris and Eric". We covered songs from the 60's 70's and beyond - starting with a quiz "guess the artist and the year" for the first 14 songs we played

Super venue - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livemusicBridgnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton-on-Sea
0.9 mi away
The Grange & Links
The Grange & Links
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Windmill Hotel
The Windmill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
5.6 mi away
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
23.3 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bacchus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bacchus Hotel

Property: The Bacchus Hotel
Address: 17 High Street, Sutton-on-Sea LN12 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Sutton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sutton-on-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bacchus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Bacchus Hotel Sutton-On-Sea, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing