We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed! :-(”
Review of Beach shop crew

Beach shop crew
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Sutton-on-Sea
Restaurant details
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very disappointed! :-(”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We ate here a couple of times whilst on holiday last year & it was good, however our first & final visit for our holiday this year was most disappointing! Food & staff both lacked lustre! We spent £20 on drinks then an additional £30 on food for our group of 5 & once the food arrived we asked for ketchup for the 2 children's meals & tartar sauce to go with the scampi - only to be informed that we had to purchase these at the bar!!!! Apparently after people stealing the sachets this is their way of combatting the problem but after the amount we had spent on food & drink I certainly think they should have been more accommodating to customers! Especially if they want them to return! Or have bottles of condiments on the table which are collected with the empty plates! Obviously we didn't return & found a much better eatery just over the road who when their chef was on his day off, offered us sachets of sauces to take over to the beach bar if we wanted to eat there but after this experience we declined! Won't be going back again! Very poor customer service!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Everything for the beach.”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A fantastic selection of beach toys, sun hats, novelties,souvenirs and all things beach. A must for a seaside location. The ice cream is the best and the coffee is good too. The lady behind the counter is always most pleasant. Always worth a call.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLOra4887845342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fab again”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We went again to this great shop and had one of the nicest ice creams ever

The staff were really good and all the items for sale were better quality and cheaper than in the town

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardANDdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

What nice people and great service. Top quality ice cream clean and lots of choice

Big range of buckets and spades

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RichardANDdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

The best ice cream for miles with bags of choice

Soft scoope and whippy and all the big brands like magnum

It's the only shop on the sea front and boasts the biggest selection of buckets and spades I have ever seen

No trip to this beach is complete without it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Columbo_vs_Jack_Regan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beach shop crew also viewed

Sutton-on-Sea, Lincolnshire
Sutton-on-Sea, Lincolnshire
 
Sutton-on-Sea, Lincolnshire
Sutton-on-Sea, Lincolnshire
 
Sutton-on-Sea, Lincolnshire
Mablethorpe, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Beach shop crew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing