We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Large secure garden with Fishpond
Fully equipped family kitchen
We are proud to be a Pet Friendly home to enable you to enjoy a holiday with your best friends
We achieved the Trip Advisor certificate of Excellence for 2017
Miles of Pet friendly beach just around the corner
Book a show at Skegness Embassy theatre - Just 20 mins away
Lots of great attractions to choose from nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sutton-on-Sea, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jody_9
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed at Sunshine Cottage for a week. On arrival we parked in the drive at the side of the cottage, retrieving the keys was easy, using the side door took us into the kitchen, the first thing I noticed was a load of bread crumbs on the side, then after lifting the glass chopping board found a load more, this hadn't been cleaned! I was quiet surprised! The cottage was very spacious and had everything we needed, beds were made but no towels!! As it does state bed linen and towels are provided I was looking for the towels, but couldn't find them. While I was looking in the bathroom I noticed it hadn't been cleaned very well. I think the house keeping lady must have been having a bad day that day. I had to clean the kitchen work tops and clean the bathroom before we could use them, not good when I'm suppose to be on holiday!! I phoned the housekeeping lady and asked for some towels, to be fair she phoned me back and came and gave us the towels and was very apologetic. Overall the cottage is a very good place to stay as it's 10 minutes walk from the beach, has a lovely garden and conservatory.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, We take reviews very seriously as it helps us understand where we get things right and perhaps sometimes not. Its also a big help to future guests who want to get a general picture of the area and the cottage before they decide to book. We look forward to having you as valued guests again in the future. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taxisteve...
1 review
“Lovely holiday cottage”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage is lovely clean had all the basic needs that you need really enjoyed our weeks stay would stay again loved the fact you can take your dog just one suggestion I would advise is to put small fencing round the fish pond so that dogs cant go in but overall really enjoyed our stay in the cottage would stay again thanks for everything

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, We take reviews very seriously as it helps us understand where we get things right and perhaps sometimes not. Its also a big help to future guests who want to get a general picture of the area and the cottage before they decide to book. We look forward to having you as valued guests again in the future. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda G
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I stayed at Sunshine Cottage for a week and had a great time. It was just what we needed for a relaxing break. The bungalow is lovely and comfortable and very clean. I loved the fish pond and feeding the fish! I also filled up the bird baths and fed the birds! The garden is lovely to sit in. Sutton on Sea is very quiet the beach is great and we loved walking along the paths. The garden at the Bachus Hotel is a real sun trap and the sandwiches were lovely with a pint of beer at lunch time where we sat and read. We would recommend the Sea Breeze restaurant for Sunday lunch and also a delicious evening meal. We couldn't fault anything and will be booking again very soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, We take reviews very seriously as it helps us understand where we get things right and perhaps sometimes not. Its also a big help to future guests who want to get a general picture of the area and the cottage before they decide to book. We look forward to having you as valued guests again in the future. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61karen67...
Sutton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice holiday cottage”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We found this a nice place to stay, secure garden for the dog and a nice space, well laid out plenty of room, easy access to beach and high street,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to beach, Garden and general feel
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sunshine Cottage, I'm pleased you had a lovely time and i look forward to having you as valued guests again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LYNN W
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in good location.”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This cottage is in a very good, quiet location with a decent sized secure garden for the dog to run about in. It is close to the beach and local shops, in fact we only moved the car when we came home as everything we needed was available locally. It is well equipped with almost everything you will need and had plenty of cupboard space in the kitchen for our food and dog food. We had a very pleasant stay which unfortunately we had to cut short due to personal reasons.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: access, location. welcome touches (fresh flowers, milk etc)
Liked least: cold floor tiles throughout but at least they are easy to clean
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, We take reviews very seriously as it helps us understand where we get things right and perhaps sometimes not. Its also a big help to future guests who want to get a general picture of the area and the cottage before they decide to book. We look forward to having you as valued guests again in the future. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Sunshine Cottage and look forward to being of service again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AUDREY A
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“SUPERB COTTAGE”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our second visit to this lovely cottage. Well equipped, very clean, superb dog friendly enclosed garden. Great beaches nearby. Nice little high street with a good traditional butchers shop and a lovely beer garden at the Bacchus Hotel. Have already booked to go back again next year and would highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely dog friendly garden and close proximity to beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do this review and i'm so pleased you enjoyed your second stay at Sunshine Cottage. The reviews are so important to us as it enables us to monitor peoples thoughts & wishes with some great ideas that we would'nt have thought of. You have been wonderful guests and we really look forward to having you as guests again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing