We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of The Grange & Links

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grange & Links
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sutton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Value for money”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I don't know what some reviewers want. We have just returned after a 3 day break and found it a very pleasant experience.My husband and I took our small dog and were most impressed..
The welcome was very nice and the room was very spacious and comfortable.We had our meals
in the bar (because of the dog)and the service was excellent as was the food.Will go again and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    121
    37
    22
    16
See reviews for
113
139
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here many times and in that time there can't have seen anyrhing spent on it.
The rooms are ok but dated. Bathrooms are dated with desperately weak showers. A sign has warned you for the last few years that the hot water is very hot. I can only assume that the hotel is run on shoestring not to want to sort these fundamentals out.
Downstairs in the bar and restaurant is 50's chic in a symphony of browns but all the messages from various posters, signs, photographs and styles are all so confusing. I'm just not sure anybody is clear what is being offered or who to.
The food in the restaurant was generally good but bizarrely decided to charge £17 to have a steak even though people had paid for full board already.
While the steak tasted good it left a bad taste similar to a shot in the foot.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeysuckle33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

cold and damp day when we arrived, but a warm and efficient welcome at the hotel.
The room was enormous,had a double and 2 singles, with all amenities.
Close to seafront.
the hotel needs the "Hotel Inspector" to update the décor, very 70s floral and dated bathroom suite, however the food was excellent, we ate in the bar and the menu was wonderful, including the menu we could have had in the silver service restaurant.
Breakfast was waiter service but you could have what you want.We recommend the ham and poached eggs, the ham was delicious.
Overall a very nice break

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eas632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We got a really good deal through KGB and stayed for a couple of nights. Our room was large and comfortable with a really big bed. Décor a little dated but that did not detract from our experience. Deal included dinner on the first night and this was really good, especially the chicken dish of the day. Good location for exploring Sutton by Sea, Alford, Mablethorpe, etc. but there is not much to explore around the hotel, other than the links golf course, which regrettably it was too wet for us to try. Friendly welcome and great breakfast. Do try the ham and poached eggs, really good. We also tried the Fat Seagull Bistro, which is only open on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Excellent food, thoroughly recommend this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallymarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we have just returned from the grange. our stay was really good, the hotel was so cosy and welcoming,all the staff were so helpful and friendly.the bedroom was so spacious and the heating was full on as the weekend was cold. the food was fantastic, i can honestly say it is one of the best breakfast i have had! in fact we have booked in again before we left.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanette abc n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had hoped to eat at the Fat Seagull, but they were closed for food so we went to the Graange and Links. We walked in and received no welcome, it looked like a care home. We
Had to approach the waitress and ask for a table..my husband ordered a beer after choosing one, he was told the barrel had run out so another was brought and it was obvious she had no idea how to pull a pint. We choose fish and chips and steak and kidney pie, which was just ok, except my husband had ordered mushy peas and got garden and the batter on the fish was hard. Pudding a blackboard displayed the choice, but when we came to ordering there was only a choice of two left, considering it was only 1.15pm and only a few people in, this was poor.
The Staff needed training, including the Chef. Needless to say we won't return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have just come back from a 2 day break at The Grange & Links Hotel using a KGB Deal. We had the largest room we have had in a hotel, and our friends had the bridal suite which was very nice (they have been married over 40 years!) The meals were excellent and would recommend the Faux Fillet and also the lamb which was delicious and really well presented. The men had an enjoyable game of golf and the games room was a bonus, resulting in two games of snooker. Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 9 were excellent, but I am sure all rooms are of an equally high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCoggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton-on-Sea
5.3 mi away
The Windmill Hotel
The Windmill Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alford
53 reviews
10.3 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
10.0 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
67 reviews
5.3 mi away
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
11.9 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange & Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange & Links

Property: The Grange & Links
Address: Sea Lane | Sandilands, Sutton-on-Sea LN12 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Sutton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sutton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grange & Links 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange & Links is an iconic seaside hotel on the Lincolnshire coast, a short walk from the beach in Sandilands, near Sutton-on-Sea. We have a busy bar and restaurant, both serving quality food. Perfect for family and short breaks, the hotel is dog friendly, with several rooms available for guests with pets. Affiliated with Sandilands Golf Club, guests are welcome to play this challenging links course, which being free-draining plays well all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Grange & Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange And Links Hotel
The Grange & Links Sutton-On-Sea, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing